We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great food & shopping.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added G Hotel Gurney to your Saves list
G Hotel Gurney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, western Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great food & shopping.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have just stayed at the G Hotel & loved the location & service. Whether you want upmarket food or Hawker food it is all within a few minutes walk & the location of the hotel gives a lovely feeling of space & tranquility. Being on the water means it is cooler than other locations & very calming.
The massive Gurney Plaza next door is wonderful for food, book shops & shopping, but don't forget the smaller Midlands park centre nearby for cheaper shopping & a terrific range of DVDs!
The rooms at The G hotel are very spacious & well presented. The bathroom shower recess is very large & the shower pressure is sensational!
A lovely touch is the evening service to see if there is anything you need & the very generous bottled water supply.
Rooms are very quiet & conducive to good sleep.
Free mini bar, no alcohol, meant there was always a cold drink or a Kit Kat. Lovely touches.
Would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be quiet, our room overlooked a tree lined walkway & the pool which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    458
    118
    35
    39
See reviews for
249
328
73
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I went on holiday to stay at the G hotel. We had heard the Eastern and Oriental may be a bit dated so we thought we woudl try this one. This is not in the central part of Georgetown but only about 15MYR (3 pounds) taxi to Georgetown so not bad. The plus i that it is next to the main Hawker Street food stalls (where loads of people eat in Georgetown so it was a plus!). Also, its on the outskirt of the town which makes it easy (to avoid traffic) to go to any of the sights - batu ferrenghi, Kek Lok Si temple (amazing!). If you like your known chains as well, its essentially attached to to a mall. We didnt get the breakfast package because food in Penang is supposed to be amazing and handy to have a starbucks right next door for morning coffee :) The room we got - i think executive premier room was massive and although very modern, was VERY nice. A four poster bed and all. The service is the only reason we rate this down. Front desk and concierge staff were not all that friendly and not great at recommendations etc. The pool area is quite nice and clean and nice for an afternoon break. We did go to the E&O hotel for a poolside hotel and were well impressed...its beautiful and more of a leisure hotel than the business hotel that G was like. (but dont know what the rooms are like). Overall we had a good stay and since we knew it was a more modern business hotel when we booked, it met our expectations.

Room Tip: Premier executive with four poster was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with a friend during the recent Thaipusam festivities..... G-hotel is practically like a designer hotel, the lobby, the toilets and shops are all well designed and looks chic and savvy..... Check in was a breeze and the staff at the front desk were courteous and friendly..... The room well for the price we paid, i think it was rather steep, the beds were the below average as it was like rock solid and the king size bed was actually 2 super single bed tucked in together which makes the bed looks huge and good enough for 3 people to sleep on it..... the shower was good.... the pool was good and the breakfast there i can say is one of the better ones compared to the other hotels as it serves well for foreigners and locals..... Overall i would say this is avery good hotel but room refurbishment will need to be done soon as it seems to be getting a bit worn out..... Another plus point is the Gurney plaza next door which is super convenient and the the open air food court a few metres away... Food is definitely not a problem around this hotel..... Overall i would rate this hotel as good except for the hard beds!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you plan to drive to this hotel and have your car parked at their car park, please think twice. Recent experience was after payment was made to the paying machine, the balance was not returned. After trying to locate the security officer around the car park and through the intercom system to get back,the balance, I found that there was no security officer present. This has been the 2nd time this has happened. The hotel never bother to upgrade their paying machine nor have a security officer around for this matter or,even to ensure safety of the car park users. Please also,do not have any new Malaysian notes on hand to pay because the machine never takes them. Overall a very bad experience on parking and also lack of security especially at the car park area.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a business trip and even though I don't pay for it is on the expensive side. Taking into consideration the proximity to a shopping mall convenience and local street food court within walking distance, I would say that is the price to pay for the convenience. The room, facilities are all excellent and expected. The breakfast & lunch buffet however is a suprise, much better than most hotels of equal standards.
I liked the welcome ice cream. Perfect.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. It is tucked along Gurney Drive and just beside Gurney Shopping Mall (set up by Singapore's Capitaland). Nearby is the famous Gurney food street with all the delectable Penang eats you can find. The hotel welcomes guests with ice cream (not sure if they still do) and the rooms and lobby are all new and modern. There is a McDonald's beside it - in case u need an early breakfast or late supper. Look out of the window to see the sea and at night, walk along Gurney Drive to find restaurants and makeshift stalls hawking different wares and food. It is also easily accessible from the heritage sites and beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don't usually post reviews of the many business hotels I stay in for work, on the basis that as I don't pay for it I'm not entitled to pass judgment. But the rock-hard beds at the G really need to be mentioned. Awful, awful sleep. And the so-called 'King' was actually two singles pushed together, leaving a big (and hard) ridge down the middle.

I was only there for <10 hours but in that time I also encountered the usual patchy Malaysian service - e.g. it took SIX phone calls to get one shirt pressed, each requiring me to get increasingly annoyed. And then the shirt was not back the next morning when I'd requested, nearly delaying my very tight timeline. Not great.

As others have said, the lobby is awesome but the rooms look fairly "un-funky" (though the bathrooms have some nice design touches). Pool is big, good for laps. Did not get a chance to use gym but it looks good too. Location is OK for tourists but a long way from the Free Trade Zone and airport for business travelers.

If I were going back as a tourist I’d definitely stay at one of the smaller boutique hotels that are springing up in the old town. Not much of shopaholic so proximity to the mall is of no value to me. And the beach, while pleasant to look at, cannot be swum in.

Had the bed not so rock-hard, and it not taken far too much of my limited time to get something really basic – a shirt pressing done – I’d probably be better-disposed towards this place. But as of now, I’d not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Gurney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.