We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added G Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with a friend during the recent Thaipusam festivities..... G-hotel is practically like a designer hotel, the lobby, the toilets and shops are all well designed and looks chic and savvy..... Check in was a breeze and the staff at the front desk were courteous and friendly..... The room well for the price we paid, i think it was rather steep, the beds were the below average as it was like rock solid and the king size bed was actually 2 super single bed tucked in together which makes the bed looks huge and good enough for 3 people to sleep on it..... the shower was good.... the pool was good and the breakfast there i can say is one of the better ones compared to the other hotels as it serves well for foreigners and locals..... Overall i would say this is avery good hotel but room refurbishment will need to be done soon as it seems to be getting a bit worn out..... Another plus point is the Gurney plaza next door which is super convenient and the the open air food court a few metres away... Food is definitely not a problem around this hotel..... Overall i would rate this hotel as good except for the hard beds!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    379
    96
    31
    33
See reviews for
205
296
69
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

If you plan to drive to this hotel and have your car parked at their car park, please think twice. Recent experience was after payment was made to the paying machine, the balance was not returned. After trying to locate the security officer around the car park and through the intercom system to get back,the balance, I found that there was no security officer present. This has been the 2nd time this has happened. The hotel never bother to upgrade their paying machine nor have a security officer around for this matter or,even to ensure safety of the car park users. Please also,do not have any new Malaysian notes on hand to pay because the machine never takes them. Overall a very bad experience on parking and also lack of security especially at the car park area.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a business trip and even though I don't pay for it is on the expensive side. Taking into consideration the proximity to a shopping mall convenience and local street food court within walking distance, I would say that is the price to pay for the convenience. The room, facilities are all excellent and expected. The breakfast & lunch buffet however is a suprise, much better than most hotels of equal standards.
I liked the welcome ice cream. Perfect.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. It is tucked along Gurney Drive and just beside Gurney Shopping Mall (set up by Singapore's Capitaland). Nearby is the famous Gurney food street with all the delectable Penang eats you can find. The hotel welcomes guests with ice cream (not sure if they still do) and the rooms and lobby are all new and modern. There is a McDonald's beside it - in case u need an early breakfast or late supper. Look out of the window to see the sea and at night, walk along Gurney Drive to find restaurants and makeshift stalls hawking different wares and food. It is also easily accessible from the heritage sites and beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don't usually post reviews of the many business hotels I stay in for work, on the basis that as I don't pay for it I'm not entitled to pass judgment. But the rock-hard beds at the G really need to be mentioned. Awful, awful sleep. And the so-called 'King' was actually two singles pushed together, leaving a big (and hard) ridge down the middle.

I was only there for <10 hours but in that time I also encountered the usual patchy Malaysian service - e.g. it took SIX phone calls to get one shirt pressed, each requiring me to get increasingly annoyed. And then the shirt was not back the next morning when I'd requested, nearly delaying my very tight timeline. Not great.

As others have said, the lobby is awesome but the rooms look fairly "un-funky" (though the bathrooms have some nice design touches). Pool is big, good for laps. Did not get a chance to use gym but it looks good too. Location is OK for tourists but a long way from the Free Trade Zone and airport for business travelers.

If I were going back as a tourist I’d definitely stay at one of the smaller boutique hotels that are springing up in the old town. Not much of shopaholic so proximity to the mall is of no value to me. And the beach, while pleasant to look at, cannot be swum in.

Had the bed not so rock-hard, and it not taken far too much of my limited time to get something really basic – a shirt pressing done – I’d probably be better-disposed towards this place. But as of now, I’d not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

As many reviews say- its a good hotel with all the facilities you need.
Located well with the mall next door and lots of opportunities to eat any type of cuisine. Markets are a few minutes walk for food and were always packed.
Breakfast was great- best we had on our trip around the region. Though if I want to b picky they could have had more continental cold meats.
We had a standard room which looked over the bay for a lovely view. I wouldn't bother upgrading as these rooms were large and had all that we needed. Im picky about beds and these were firm- no sagging !! Good choice of pillows as well. Toiletries nice and plentiful.

Room Tip: standard rooms are good if you get a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here over Christmas for 3 nights. It is a little way out of central Georgetown but taxis are plentiful and cheap
I paid for a club level room. Not sure if it was really worth the money. It was very busy and I struggled to get a seat and there was only one of me! Then all the evening snacks had gone within 15 minutes and they were replaced by substandard food
However, my room was huge. Separate lounge and bedroom area. iPod docks were a nice touch. Their was a mini bar in the room and they quite happily filled it with Diet Coke for me! They soft drinks in the minibar were free - another nice touch
Bathroom was also excellent, large bath and separate large shower. I used the spa excellent treatments and good value
Pool area and bar also very good. It was decked and had an infinity pool. Good place to cool off at the end of the day
I had a great view out of my window out to sea.
The staff were very helpful and helped to make my stay.
There is a shopping mall next door and a selection of food restaurants, more chain restaurants but handy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to G Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Penang

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#6 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Penang 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your G Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
G Hotel Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.