We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice hotel but in need of updating for rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added G Hotel Gurney to your Saves list
G Hotel Gurney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overall a nice hotel but in need of updating for rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Pros :
1. Superb location in a great area with Gurney Plaza next door offering plenty of options.
2. Lobby area is tastefully designed in a modern contemporary design, we are impressed.
3. Wireless works well throughout the hotel, including rooms.
4. Front desk staff a lady by the name of Roshinee (not sure of the actual spelling) offered really good and friendly service - kudos to her! We checked in on 8-Nov, checked out 10-Nov.
5. Pool area was nice and clean.
6. Buffet breakfast was really good with a wide range of choices.

Cons :
1. Welcome ice-cream upon check-in is a nice gesture but it seems like they have been scooped into the cups for some time and was kind of dried up as a result.
2. Rooms are spacious but is dated and feels old and carpet is really stained and dirty.
3. All in all, for the price charged, it does feel that it is not really value for money given the run-down condition of the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    486
    126
    38
    41
See reviews for
271
337
75
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent Service, Smiling Friendly hotel staffs. Convenient location, big shopping mall within walking distance, Gurney's Hawkers night stalls within walking distance. Free Parking.
Full amenities provided, staying at executive level floor, drinks free flow, free Minibar. Access to executive lounge floor, free tea breaks.
Swimming pool big, ease of towels request use.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

You get a welcome ice cream on arrival. Located on northern part of Penang island on Gurney Drive (4 km from city center), seaview rooms offer a good view of the strait. Pleasant staff, but a bit of a wait if there are many guests. The room is great, bed good. The minibar is free! Gurney Drive (road), is a favorite place for locals to come to with their families and friends at night to enjoy the breeze and local restaurants. Gurney Plaza next door offers a variety of restaurants and shops. There is a hawker center and many local restaurants along Gurney Drive.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms, especially on higher floors, offer a good view of the Northern Strait of Penang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lobby area is lovely as is the staff and the ice cream given to you when you check in. The gym was modern and excellent. The free juice in the mini bar was a nice touch.
The rooms are huge, but they are getting dated and need a really good scrub. My room felt tired and really dirty. Stains on the carpet and in the shower, and water marks on the walls.
I am guessing that when this hotel opened, and everything was new, the rooms were fantastic.
In all fairness, before my stay here I came from a spotless hotel in Singapore, so maybe things seemed worse than they really were, but I don't think so.
I stayed at the E&O a few years ago and would definitely prefer to stay there over the G next time I am in Georgetown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel 3 nights and enjoyed all aspects of it. The rooms are quite nice, particularly the Club level rooms, as is the Club Lounge. Breakfast is very good with lots of options. The lobby area is very comfortable and being next to a large mall with lots of food outlets and theaters is a plus. Very friendly staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

G Hotel is near to the famous Gurney Drive food centre and a shopping mall. If it rains, you can walk to the mall and eat in the food court. Room is spacious and clean. So is the bathroom. Only gripe is the wireless internet connection. Even though it is free, the connection keeps dropping and after much try, we gave up. G Hotel should improve on this.

As the others have mentioned, the minibar drinks and chocolates are free and you can ask for top-up anytime. Quite generous, I must say. Check-in service is very pleasant, staff are courteous and we were offered ice cream while we wait.

Overall experience is good, even though we were out most of the time and only came back to room late at night. It's comfortable enough for us to want to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Overall it was a very good experience. The hotel gave us a free upgrade to L suite because our request for double beds rooms weren't available. Impressed! The toilet is spacious and room is very clean! The L suite is so huge!!! And what's best is that the bar item in the room is totally free! Free chocolate plus drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#14 of 71 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 71 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Penaga
Hotel Penaga
#16 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#23 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Gurney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.