We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added G Hotel Gurney to your Saves list
G Hotel Gurney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Just completing my stay in an Executive room at the G Hotel and it's all good!
The executive lounge is worth the extra and snacks and drinks are very good.
Ideally placed with the massive Gurney Plaza shopping centre next door and local shops and hawker foodcourts on the doorstep you'll not find a greater contrast in many places,From thousands of RM for a watch to 5RM for a bowl of food it's all here. Please stay and enjoy!
Richard

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    458
    118
    35
    40
See reviews for
249
328
73
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was at G Hotel for 6 days in August 2012 for a 'foodie' holiday. It is in a great location, being on Gurney Drive, almost next to the Gurney Drive Hawker Centre (where the famous Swee Hoe Rojak stall is located). Right next door (2 min walk going through the rear) is the Gurney Plaza Shopping Centre. Good for shopping and nicely airconditioned. If I go back to Penang, I would stay there again. Now, about the hotel itself, the staff are very nice and friendly. The hotel had a complimentary ice cream on arrival. The pool is wonderful. Not crowded, but maybe it is because it is not a traditional holiday period. Anyway, it is a great pool and jacuzzi. The room is modern with all the usual amenities. We got upgraded to a King Size bed room which has a great large bathroom (with shower and a bathtub), and we got a sea-view! Or rather, we got "Silt-view". The beach in front of the esplanade is now getting silted up due to some tidal issues, not that it is any fault of the hotel. I do have a complaint - I wanted to have a plate and a knife and a couple of forks for some fruit I bought, but the hotel wanted to charge me a 'nominal' fee of Ringgit 9.90. I am not impressed with this, should be a free service. Next time, I will bring my own. Nevertheless, the G Hotel is convenient, and I like it. You can grab a cab out front easily. There is usually a row of cabs waiting. Ringgit 10.00 or 12.00 can get you into the foodie area of Pulau Tikus. Remember to bargain with the cabbie before starting the journey. All in all, a very good place to stay - for location, amenities and the pool.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room. It makes the stay much more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I had stayed in this hotel for 2 times this year. first time i had stayed in standard room and the second time i stayed in executive floor room. executive room did give us an access to executive lounge for free plus check in at executive floor receptionist. executive lounge itself is very small compare to other hotel that had exectuive lounge but they did provide a good food and huge selection of beers and liquers. this hotel located just next to gurney plaza and penang hawkers central. it's also opposite penang beach. it very easy to find this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

For those who are cosmopolitan oriented, a shopping ctr with all yr needs are just next to the hotel. Super convenient

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Positive:relatively good location,huge bed and a nice swimming pool, complementary ice-cream at check-in.
Negative:staff does not even try to be professional,rigid design and very high rates compared to the service .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We take pride of our services and attention to detail towards our valuable guests and I was surprised that we were not up to your standards during your stay. We take all feedbacks seriously and we would like to know and would appreciate if you could send us an email to g4u@ghotel.com.my for more information. During your stay, we can find no records of feedback.

Once again, thank you for spending the time to bring up your feedback to us which is appreciated.



With warm regards,

Peter Nast
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in a Executive Superior Room with two adults and one 8 year old child for four nights. The room was huge - a bedroom area with king sized bed, then a living room area (separated by a should-height partition) where they set up a rollaway bed. One downside was that the TV was in the sitting room area, and could not be seen from the bed. It didn't really matter for us, but it would not have been possible to if you did want to lie in bed and watch the TV. The decor in the room was surprisingly bland, given the style of the lobby.

Icecream on check-in was a nice touch.

The Executive Club was lovely. We had breakfast there most mornings, as although it didn't have the range of the breakfast downstairs, it had the items we wanted and was a lot quieter. Plus for me a bonus was that they didn't have the chocolate fountain that was on the buffet downstairs - which my daughter found hard to resist! Evening drinks in the executive club were a lovely way to relax, read the newspapers and have a drink watching the evening activity on the streets below. Service in the Executive Club was excellent.

While we were there, the pool was very quiet. At times we were the only people there.

Gurney Plaza next door was very convenient for shopping and/or food options. We enjoyed the sushi train.

Room Tip: The Executive Floor rooms were worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time for sharing your opinion. Your feedback is highly appreciated because your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

I am very pleased to learn how much you and your family enjoyed the stay with us and sharing your review on TripAdvisor to let us know how impressed you were with the services you received.

Once again thank you for kind review which is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


With warm regards,

Peter Nast
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The worst hotel we stayed in Bathroom mouldy Service is non exsistant Breakfast is a joke no service tables not set and dirty Egg station is filfy cook dirty and rude a can of dog food would be better and cleaner Dont be fooled by the location which is great its over priced over rated under serviced and the staff are not interested in the job they do which they have had very little training and the management dont seem to care one wonders How they got the rating in a wheatie box I gues be lucky to be 3 star

Room Tip: Go elsewherw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Gurney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.