We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto! Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added G Hotel Gurney to your Saves list
G Hotel Gurney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Perfecto! Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Everything was perfect :

- Great breakfast
- Great, spacious rooms
- Great location (shopping mall behind)
- Great swimming pool

Loved our stay. Really modern hotel and the staff at really friendly too

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    458
    118
    35
    40
See reviews for
249
328
73
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Good Service from the bellboy.
Immediate Taxi Service at the door step.
Get the room with the sea view.
G Hotel Location is near to Food Court which have lots of local delicacy.

Room Tip: Get the room with sea view. If you have money to spare, go for their duplex at level 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stay at the G every time we visit Penang, our last in early 2010. Great location being located next to a big shopping mall, and walking distance to the Gurney hawker center.

The hotel itself, we normally stay on the executive floor with the private lounge area with food and drinks available throughout the day... Staffs are generally nice, and I guess being guests on the executive floor, they take the effort to remember our names and preferences from previous stays.

Rooms are very big especially the ones with the island bed placed in the middle of the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here for almost a week in June 2011 and had a deluxe room facing the pool. Check in was a little slow as we were sent off for an hour to look around the mall next door whilst our room was ready. Once we came back we were given our room keys and made our way to our room. The room was very pleasant with a large central fourposter kingsize bed of superb quality. The room was very well equiped and spacious as others have posted and the air conditioning is some of the best we've experienced. Everything about this room was great as was the bathroom. The shower was fabulous! It was always very welcome to have a plentiful supply of free water and the free drinks and chocolate bar restocked in the fridge each day (Lychee juice was my favourite!). Each evening there was a turn down service and we were left yet more water by our bedside.

There were lots of power sockets in the room which was also very well lit. I particularly liked the power sockets in the each of the bed (really handy for using your laptop in bed to check emails each evening!). We also had no problem at all with gaining access to the wifi each day.

As there was the fabulous Gurney Plaza mall next door there was easy access to lots of restaurants and shops right on the doorstep. We found it to be cheaper to eat and drink in here than in the hotel (although the prices weren't bad for this level of hotel). There are numerous other restuarants on the doorstep and one of the best hawker food markets I have ever experienced! So although this hotel is a little way from central Penang there is plenty on the doorstep and the rest is only a short taxi or bus ride away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Earlier this year I stayed one night at the G-Hotel and had a wonderful experience. During a trip in August I stayed and recommended it to multiple people traveling together for an event.

There were many issues during the stay and the follow-ups from the staff and management was disappointing. Before listing them I’ll highlight the areas that are still quite good:
- Fitness Center is the best I’ve seen in Georgetown.
- Pool area is nicer than most hotels in Georgetown.

Here’s the issues during the trip:

- Somebody else’s luggage was delivered to my room.
- Air conditioning went out for a few hours at night.
- Carpet is grimy and showing its age very quickly.
- Loud parties with intermittent singing, banging from 10PM to 1AM. When I called down the the front desk and said it sounded like a band was playing in the hallway and people are bumping into the walls they said, oh yes they are having a birthday party in the room next to yours with a very pleasant happy voice. My reply was well, that makes it quite hard to sleep and that got them to understand what I meant. Unfortunately this did not help much and it continued on and off for two hours. Occasionally I did hear one of the people saying ‘shh’ realizing how loud they were. No offer to change my room to another location and I don’t know why they put me in a room right next to where they knew there was going to be a loud party.

- Free Minibar was a joke with not even one beer. Every other hotel in Penang I’ve stayed at has beer and a wider variety of drinks. This has one water and maybe 3 different bottles of soda.

- One of the people who I recommended stay had their door malfunction and stay unlocked through at least one day. When they came to the room at night the green light on the door didn’t light up when they swiped their room key. They then found that the room defaulted to unlocked and maintenance said the battery inside the lock ran out and this is what happens every now and then. It sounded like they don’t change the batteries on a regular basis and just wait until people complain that their rooms is left with an unlocked door.

- The internet dropped out repeatedly. When looking at the Terms & Conditions it looks like they just copied them from Starwood. It directly says: “if there is a reason to believe that Starwood hotels & resorts worldwide …”. Sounds like potentially copyright infringement. G Hotel is not part of Starwood.

After the remaining people I was traveling with left I canceled the weekend reservation I had and moved to another hotel. I’m not sure I will be back given management is not responsive when you stay at the hotel and in my opinion do not do a good job at managing the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback sharing on internet.

Your feedback is highly appreciated because your satisfaction and comfort are our first priority. I regret that we did not meet your expectations and there were some short comings during your stay compared to previous stays.

Referring to your comment on carpet is grimy, please be inform that all the carpets had been replaced since two years ago.

In regards to your comment on air con went out for a few hours at night, unfortunately none of our records showed that the air con system facing interruption during that period.

With regrets to hear that you had encountered noise pollution due to loud music from next door. Our Guest Service Manager had spoken to the guest, to be quiet after received your complaint.

Complimentary minibar is value added for guest; therefore we provide free non-alcoholic beverages.

With our room preventive system, our maintenance teams are on-going checking the battery capability. Unfortunately, we regrets that the battery for lock not enough power for your friend’s room.

Our internet supplies are provided through third party; however we have highlighted the comments to the concern company.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments which we highly appreciated.

Trust we are looking forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future to show that we can do better.


Your sincerely,

Peter Nast
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Had a 2 night stay and enjoyed it. Location is super, lobby very nice furnished and decorated, rooms a bit dated but very spacious and with all the amenities you expect. Nice welcome with home-made ice cream and check in was efficient. Booked only a room and had breakfast at 38RM++ which was very reasonable for the variety they offer. Minibar (only soft drinks) and mineral water is complimentary. On day of departure (had mentioned check out 11.30am at front office) a cleaner came to my room at 10am and insisted to clean my room and it took me some time to get rid of him. Also first morning at breakfast it was a bit of challenge to get some tea at the table as staff seemed to have more important things to do, but 2nd morning this was not a problem at all. Recommended for the location and would come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Book the hotel room through Agoda.com as the price is much lower than through the hotel own online booking. But comparatively the price are still on the high side compare to other 5-stars hotel available nearby.
Located adjacent to Gurney Plaza, one of the most happening area in Georgetown beside Batu Ferringhi, stone throw distance to gurney drive hawker center. Room is spacious but getting a bit tired. Overall, the hotel location is fantastic but overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Gurney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.