We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mingood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mingood to your Saves list
Hotel Mingood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Road, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in George Town
world
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

While the furnishings are old the rooms are large and clean. I was happy to have this room in this location for the price. The staff were really responsive when my aircon didn't work and immediately found me another room. They had a great helpful attitude. The hotel 1.5 blocks from Jalan Penang so all the buzz of that street is available but it's pretty quiet back at room.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    106
    77
    31
    14
See reviews for
29
86
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

This hotel is cheap, but it shows. The rooms look like they're from the 1960's Soviet Union and the cleanliness isn't the best. The toilet in our room didn't flush. For this there was a bucket in the bathroom from which you could pour water in the toilet sink for it to flush a little better. The breakfast wasn't much but what can you expect to get with this price? Internet access in the lobby was nice and cheap, although very slow.

Location was good, near to the center of George Town. Airconditioning worked well, although it was a bit loud.

For a cheap hotel, an ok hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Would only go back to Penang for the staff efficiency & guidance for our budget holiday stay,
made our stay memorable, made us feel welcome with the small budget spent. Will return just for the experience of staff friendliness...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I found Mingood hotel very conveniently located and gave me value for money. I stayed in the family room which was pretty spacious. The breakfast was basic but sufficient for us. We found the hotel staff to be very pleasant and helpful. There are plenty of shopping areas and food joints near to the hotel. I would suggest this hotel to anyone who is not interested in fancy hotels.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

With the low price and the not always positive reviews in mind, we got to this hotel with low expectations : probably not too good. The opposite was true. Granted, the facilities are basic, but functioning and sufficient. The location is not right in the middle of the UNESCO Heritage site, but not too far away. Staff was mostly truly helpful and kind, maybe with the exception of the breakfast room ; esp. the reception people were good. A great deal for the money, I will certainly go back to Mingood in case I find myself going to Penang again. As a bonus : right opposite Mingood there is the LOUIS Cafe which seems to have a loose cooperative tie with the hotel. Great western food with fantastic service, at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Spent 5 nights at Mingood last week.

I just cant believe the previous 2 reviews being so negative. Our room was clean, spacious, no bed bugs and had a little balcony with a nice view over the old town and the hills. Ok, its nothing fancy, but it costs 80RM per night!!!! Really what more can you expect for this money.
The staff were also helpful and friendly, no overly but we certainly felt that we received good service overall.
Breakfast is included which is basic (toast, coffee, fruit, juices) but its unlimited and again for the price of the room no complaints.
In terms of the location, the person who said dont go outside as you will get 'robbed' - we certainly did not feel unsafe - and whilst its not the best location in town it is still close to several attractions (and also for getting the bus to Kek Lok Si and Penang Hill is very handy)
So overall, for a budget hotel its a good place and would definately recommend - but if you are looking for something slightly upmarket then you should splash the cash and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Choosing this hotel has got to be the biggest mistake in my life......nothing more than a cheap motel! I can get better hotels along Chulia Street. Service was horrible, room was filthy and rundown. Location was not impressive..........Never again I will step into this place. Give it a miss if you are happen to be in Penang.!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Address: Argyll Road, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mingood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.