We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and affordable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mingood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mingood to your Saves list
Hotel Mingood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Road, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in George Town
kota kinabalu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location and affordable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you plan to visit Penang, stay at Mingood hote,Good breakfast, friendly service. Explore the surrounding historical places of interest, good food and shopping area. Free bus service within town area.Ferry services available to mainland.

Room Tip: Get a room with veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    111
    88
    32
    19
See reviews for
33
93
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed there for two nights.
The rooms were ok so far, good breakfast.
But on the sheets of our beds we had dark and red points and in the evening
We also saw some bugs.
The next morning we had red points all over our bodies that were iching for days!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Mingood in a double private. The hotel is too far from the ferry to walk especially with the lack of footpaths in George Town. A taxi cost us 12MYR or you can take the free CAT bus service to bus stop 7 or 8 and walk approximately 5 minutes. The hotel itself was dated and looked like nothing had been updated since it was built, however it was clean, everything worked well and most importantly it was reflected in the price. Our room had air-con, a TV, safe, fridge, private shower and bath and came with free breakfast and cost the same as shared bathroom facilities in a local hostel. The hotel could do with a refresh but it was more than adequate for our needs.

Find out more about our big adventure and where we are going next at chipofftheoldblog.com

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Older style Hotel, very friendly, just out of the busiest part of town ... very short walk to Free shuttle bus ... reasonable stroll to Gurney Drive ... heaps of busses within 5 min walk...
Very clean, excellent beds & a/c good continental breaky, Tons of HOT WATER in shower and a BATH TUB to relax in ... TV with Star movies, free wifi in rooms, fridge and safe in room would definitely recommend ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed for one night as part of a round trip. From the outside I was first shocked, but the lobby ad the rooms are OK.
Do not expect a 4* or o, I will rate it as a better backpacker hotel with a large rooms and a clean washroom.
The breakfast is simple (cornflakes, toast, juice and coffee) but eggs and so can be ordered as an extra.

The location is ok, you can walk around to find food or shopping.

Te only disappointment for me was the AC. One bed is in direct direction of the AC and what ever setting I have chosen, I got the cold air direct over the bed. I nearly got a cold.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Staff at the front desk and the breakfast counter are friendly. Can check in 24 hours. The room is very basic due to the cheap price and it can be a bit old and not clean feeling since the floor carpet is a bit bluish old type. The Twin bed I stay was okay, not so comfy. I stayed at another one called Chulia heritage hotel, similar price with much better quality. So I rate this poor. Otherwise it can be acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#40 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#24 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#30 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Inn
Garden Inn
#54 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#48 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Address: Argyll Road, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mingood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.