We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mingood

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mingood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mingood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was a pleasure to get a rom that we could walk around comfortably; furnished with a small desk, table and sofa and usual appliances. Though looking rather old and a bit worn in places it is still a clean, good value room. We much prefer this to a modern shoebox. It is within walking distance of the CBD, the backpacker centre and plenty of cheap food outlets. Staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast is a standard European one, cereals, toast & jams, fruit, juices and hot drinks. Eggs cooked in the standard ways are available for an small extra cost. Would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    100
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
29
78
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel could do with a bit of a refurbishment but its still great value for money. Walking distance to most of the tourist attractions, shops and nightlife. Hotel is clean and you'll get a good nights sleep here. Would recommend if your on a budget

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have rated it very good but only for value for money. It's a budget Hotel that doesn't pretend to be anything else. The rooms are big and clean, has shower that works, faster wi-fi in the room than the last 4 star hotel I stayed in here, quiet a/c, its own balcony, mini bar & TV and a lift. On top of that it has a roof garden with the breakfast restaurant in it though limited choice for breakfast.
It's certainly not the Ritz but you are not paying Ritz prices. Have booked in for another because the room is suits my life style and the staff are friendly. Another plus: they have a landing library of English books (take 1, leave 1)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The reception area is clean and welcoming but the rooms are not!! I'm not one to complain about dirt but there was thick hair all over the carpet and the bed sheets were stained with blood, the toilet didn't flush and nobody came to fix it! The corridors were dirty and I found all the warning signs about burglars quite off putting! Loved Georgetown but don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago, for a 2 night stay. Friendly staff. Big rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment and renovation. Ok for the money. Would pay a little bit more and have a newer nicer room. Also dark on the way back to hotel better to get rickshaw or taxi just to be safe.
Breakfast limited continental.. umm ok but could do much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

after reading the most recent reviews about this hotel , i more or less knew what to expect when i decided to book it. yes, it is a bit old and doesn't look like much from the outside but since i tend to always travel on a budget , i am used to this kind of establishment but as long as it's clean , safe , well located and good value , that ' s all the matters to me ....if anything , it's the hallways that could use a fresh coat of paint and new carpeting but my room was just fine : spacious ( had a balcony too ) , the A.C . kept the room pleasantly cool and wasn't loud , loved having a safe and a fridge , plenty of hot water and fresh towels every day , what else could i ask for ?!
i agree that breakfast is nothing to write home about but the coffee was decent and it was nice to be able to sit on the roof terrace before it got too hot. the ladies who fixed breakfast were always so sweet to me , always smiling and eager to chat if they were not too busy . ( there's also a water fountain downstairs by the reception so i never spent money on water either )
i must add that i was able to book the hotel online for $ 23 / night which makes it a real bargain , sure you can find cheaper but i don't mind paying a bit more for the extra amenities .
the hotel is very well located , close to all the main sights and the bus would drop you off round the corner . i walked several time late at night by myself from jalan penang and never had any problems.
all in all , i had a really nice time in penang and staying at hotel mingood was part of the enjoyment , would definitely go back !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is just another average kindaa hotel!
but the good thing is that : its absolutely value for money..
located near the world heritage sites of penang.. this place has to offer some superb walks in the vicinity... busy streets.. yum food.. and with all locals around.. its so much fun!
Rooms are well maintained.. brkfast is good.. may b you would want to have an early brkfast in case u are planning to take a morning ferry to langkawi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Address: Argyll Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mingood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.