We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mingood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mingood to your Saves list
Hotel Mingood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Prague
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have rated it very good but only for value for money. It's a budget Hotel that doesn't pretend to be anything else. The rooms are big and clean, has shower that works, faster wi-fi in the room than the last 4 star hotel I stayed in here, quiet a/c, its own balcony, mini bar & TV and a lift. On top of that it has a roof garden with the breakfast restaurant in it though limited choice for breakfast.
It's certainly not the Ritz but you are not paying Ritz prices. Have booked in for another because the room is suits my life style and the staff are friendly. Another plus: they have a landing library of English books (take 1, leave 1)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    102
    75
    28
    14
See reviews for
29
81
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The reception area is clean and welcoming but the rooms are not!! I'm not one to complain about dirt but there was thick hair all over the carpet and the bed sheets were stained with blood, the toilet didn't flush and nobody came to fix it! The corridors were dirty and I found all the warning signs about burglars quite off putting! Loved Georgetown but don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago, for a 2 night stay. Friendly staff. Big rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment and renovation. Ok for the money. Would pay a little bit more and have a newer nicer room. Also dark on the way back to hotel better to get rickshaw or taxi just to be safe.
Breakfast limited continental.. umm ok but could do much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

after reading the most recent reviews about this hotel , i more or less knew what to expect when i decided to book it. yes, it is a bit old and doesn't look like much from the outside but since i tend to always travel on a budget , i am used to this kind of establishment but as long as it's clean , safe , well located and good value , that ' s all the matters to me ....if anything , it's the hallways that could use a fresh coat of paint and new carpeting but my room was just fine : spacious ( had a balcony too ) , the A.C . kept the room pleasantly cool and wasn't loud , loved having a safe and a fridge , plenty of hot water and fresh towels every day , what else could i ask for ?!
i agree that breakfast is nothing to write home about but the coffee was decent and it was nice to be able to sit on the roof terrace before it got too hot. the ladies who fixed breakfast were always so sweet to me , always smiling and eager to chat if they were not too busy . ( there's also a water fountain downstairs by the reception so i never spent money on water either )
i must add that i was able to book the hotel online for $ 23 / night which makes it a real bargain , sure you can find cheaper but i don't mind paying a bit more for the extra amenities .
the hotel is very well located , close to all the main sights and the bus would drop you off round the corner . i walked several time late at night by myself from jalan penang and never had any problems.
all in all , i had a really nice time in penang and staying at hotel mingood was part of the enjoyment , would definitely go back !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is just another average kindaa hotel!
but the good thing is that : its absolutely value for money..
located near the world heritage sites of penang.. this place has to offer some superb walks in the vicinity... busy streets.. yum food.. and with all locals around.. its so much fun!
Rooms are well maintained.. brkfast is good.. may b you would want to have an early brkfast in case u are planning to take a morning ferry to langkawi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A bit old place,but nicely maintained. The room was a liitle cramped but comfy. TV and AC were functional. Bathroom had a bathtub,but that was leaking.Ruined.the experience. The position on Jalan Argyll made a walking tour of GeorgeTown possible for us. Even the JAYA restaurant was nearby!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Choose this place after staying in a shoe box room in KL as we found it had all the facilities we were after including in room safe, queen bed, bathroom, window, air con and even a flat screen tv and excellent wifi'which is a must! Yes it is very dated but if that bothers you look elsewhere. it is only a 5 minute stroll to the Main Street where all the bars and hawkers centres as suggested by lonely planet guide are which is great.
It also has a beautiful roof top terrace where breakfast (toast, cereal, tea coffee and juice) is included every morning. Overall would definitely recommend for someone looking for space and location there is plenty of room to really unpack, spread out and make yourself really at home :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Address: Argyll Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mingood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.