We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills but Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mingood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mingood to your Saves list
Hotel Mingood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Road, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in George Town
St Mary's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Frills but Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago, for a 2 night stay. Friendly staff. Big rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment and renovation. Ok for the money. Would pay a little bit more and have a newer nicer room. Also dark on the way back to hotel better to get rickshaw or taxi just to be safe.
Breakfast limited continental.. umm ok but could do much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    106
    76
    31
    14
See reviews for
29
86
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

after reading the most recent reviews about this hotel , i more or less knew what to expect when i decided to book it. yes, it is a bit old and doesn't look like much from the outside but since i tend to always travel on a budget , i am used to this kind of establishment but as long as it's clean , safe , well located and good value , that ' s all the matters to me ....if anything , it's the hallways that could use a fresh coat of paint and new carpeting but my room was just fine : spacious ( had a balcony too ) , the A.C . kept the room pleasantly cool and wasn't loud , loved having a safe and a fridge , plenty of hot water and fresh towels every day , what else could i ask for ?!
i agree that breakfast is nothing to write home about but the coffee was decent and it was nice to be able to sit on the roof terrace before it got too hot. the ladies who fixed breakfast were always so sweet to me , always smiling and eager to chat if they were not too busy . ( there's also a water fountain downstairs by the reception so i never spent money on water either )
i must add that i was able to book the hotel online for $ 23 / night which makes it a real bargain , sure you can find cheaper but i don't mind paying a bit more for the extra amenities .
the hotel is very well located , close to all the main sights and the bus would drop you off round the corner . i walked several time late at night by myself from jalan penang and never had any problems.
all in all , i had a really nice time in penang and staying at hotel mingood was part of the enjoyment , would definitely go back !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is just another average kindaa hotel!
but the good thing is that : its absolutely value for money..
located near the world heritage sites of penang.. this place has to offer some superb walks in the vicinity... busy streets.. yum food.. and with all locals around.. its so much fun!
Rooms are well maintained.. brkfast is good.. may b you would want to have an early brkfast in case u are planning to take a morning ferry to langkawi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A bit old place,but nicely maintained. The room was a liitle cramped but comfy. TV and AC were functional. Bathroom had a bathtub,but that was leaking.Ruined.the experience. The position on Jalan Argyll made a walking tour of GeorgeTown possible for us. Even the JAYA restaurant was nearby!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Choose this place after staying in a shoe box room in KL as we found it had all the facilities we were after including in room safe, queen bed, bathroom, window, air con and even a flat screen tv and excellent wifi'which is a must! Yes it is very dated but if that bothers you look elsewhere. it is only a 5 minute stroll to the Main Street where all the bars and hawkers centres as suggested by lonely planet guide are which is great.
It also has a beautiful roof top terrace where breakfast (toast, cereal, tea coffee and juice) is included every morning. Overall would definitely recommend for someone looking for space and location there is plenty of room to really unpack, spread out and make yourself really at home :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

No denying this hotel has seen better days. For the money though, it was by far the largest room I've stayed in in Malaysia. We had floor space, a fridge, coffee table and chairs, bath with shower over and even a little balcony! The sheets and towels were threadbare and patched and the room was clean but desperately in need of decoration. Stay here if you value space and room to breathe over modern finishing and decor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

There is no denying that the Mingood has seen better days, but the cost, location and friendly staff is what really stands out. The hotel is old but clean, rooms are equipped with fridge, tv and good quality air-con, furthermore the staff were great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Address: Argyll Road, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mingood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.