We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mingood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mingood to your Saves list
Hotel Mingood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Road, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in George Town
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

ill start with the positives - good location, nice restqurqnt on top floor with terrace, staff very helpfull and freindly, free wifi, fridge in room

but our bathroom was very old and not very clean at all there was toothpaste and green soap stains on the sink the white shower curtain was brown there was also ants everywhere on the desk. the carpet also felt very dirty and worn. just all felt bit yukky really.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    106
    77
    31
    14
See reviews for
29
86
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Semporna, Sabah, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I took an unplanned trip to Penang last November and did not have time to browse through the many hotel offers on this site and others; however this hotel's name keep popping up among the backpackers and budget travellers on this site and I reckon that should be a good sign.

I was not disappointed, and here are some of the few things I'd like to share with future/prospective bookers:

Room may be basic but is very clean; comes with an in-room safe.

Gotta love the bath tub - not many hotels have that nowadays, not even 4 stars one. Bonus point for that.

Very friendly staffs; most of them are senior citizens and they are not only professional but polite too. I am very impressed with their English proficiency, and the young ones obviously can learn from them.

Close proximity to everything that I came for: good food, easy access to public transportation, the sights and the attractions. Forget the taxi, pick up a Rapid Passport unlimited-bus-trips-for-7-days' bus pass for just RM30 and you can virtually go anywhere. A few Rapid Penang buses pass by the main road (Jalan Transfer) till 10 or 11pm everyday so you can definitely go anywhere on the island and make it back at night. And within 50 meters of this hotel I found two eateries that truly exceed my expectation of Penang being the heaven of hawkers' food - you can get some really nice fried noodle at this little shop right opposite the hotel, or turn further left to this corner coffee shop to get a really delicious plate of nasi kandar (that is if you fancy spicy, hot curry).

The staffs went the extra mile to try to accommodate to guests' needs - in my case they helped me to call for an-early-morning taxi and gave me not one but two morning calls when I did not even requested for the morning call. I was also lucky to be able to get a twin room when I originally booked a single room, and there wasn't any fuss or delay in helping me meet the request. That's what a top notch customer service is.

They have lots of travel guides you can borrow, and I'm sure the staffs themselves are a good source of information on where to go and what to do in Penang. Don't hesitate to ask.

I noticed that they have outdoor and indoor parking facility as well, though I am not sure if the guests need to pay for the facility.

All in all, the price that I paid for the rooms are no way indicative of the star rating given to the hotel; it may be a 2 star establishment charging prices in the region of 90 - 120 MYR per night, the services rendered and the convenient location of this hotel is however truly one the best I've ever encountered/been to and rival almost the 3, 4 stars establishments around that area.

Keep up the good job!

Room Tip: Get one of the front facing rooms, and you will not be disappointed with the sight that greets you i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the second time i have stayed here ,i find it to be a good cheap safe place to stay.
Although the hotel and rooms need a birthday ,the rooms are huge with good aircon,free wifi and some have a flatscreen TV.You cant expect too much for this price range in Malaysia .
The location is great,five minute walk to good bars ,restaurants and all the local food.
The breakfast is basic ,toast,cereal,nice coffee and fruit ,but the staff are great and they will cook you some eggs or sausages for a couple of Ringett.Great view from up in the restaurant too.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a look at the rooms,some are uglier than others,some have flat screen TV and fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

10 minute walk to just about anywhere in George town.
Good hotel very spacious rooms and well furnished.
wifi was a bit unstable but engineers out within the hour to solve the problem. Thought that was very prompt.
Breakfast basic but fresh bread and plenty of juice.
Staff were pleasant.
Restaurant directly opposite good value but far from authentic.

Penang / George town itself pretty underwhelming. Not pedestrian friendly at all extremely heavy traffic and difficult and dangerous to cross any roads.

Automobile rules are if you can get your bike or car on it. Its a road. Beware of motorcycleists travelling up the pavement on one way streets. Be prepared to spend most of your time walking along the main roads as cars park on the pavement that is divided by a network of open drainage.

I love street food, but hereChoose your dining based on the locals. We found some great places to eat but also witnessed Raw chicken being prepped directly on the pavement next to a stagnant drain. And I mean on the pavement. Just be wary of what facilities where you eat have to offer.

Butterfly sanctuary was very good and worth a visit.

Room Tip: room 112 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As you can see, that the hotel is pretty old and a bit spooky for me. But the room was quite spacious and clean from bottom to top.
It's really worth the money for me, i choose this hotel because it has eleator even if the elevator is as old as the hotel. well, atleast it work :))
Do i want to stay there again? yep. i love the idea of breakfast on the rooftop.

Room Tip: i think every room is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here just for one night - and it was fine just for one night - but probably wouldn't choose it again and wouldn't particularly recommend it. It does have quite a good location - walking distance from all the main attractions in Georgetown. However, the hotel itself is very basic and the rooms are very worn and outdated. The bedrooms are a good size but just felt really old and the bathroom could do with updating too. The breakfast wasn't great - just cereal and toast I think.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently updated (if there are any).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel doesn't need renovation, it need demolition. Price (around 50 euro's per night) was too high for this standard. Room was reasonably clean and very spacious though. Staff was friendly, breakfast was ok though there was very little choice. Bathroom was very old and not looking fresh at all. Toilet wouldn't flush properly, stains, very worn tap, etc. There was a couch on the entrance of the floor we were on that looked like it had to be thrown away 12 years ago. I would only stay here if the price is 20 euro's a night and you're on a tight budget, because the location is good. 5 minutes of walking will take you to Penang road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Address: Argyll Road, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mingood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.