We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place in a decent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mingood

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mingood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Mingood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
south Wales
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good place in a decent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

10 minute walk to just about anywhere in George town.
Good hotel very spacious rooms and well furnished.
wifi was a bit unstable but engineers out within the hour to solve the problem. Thought that was very prompt.
Breakfast basic but fresh bread and plenty of juice.
Staff were pleasant.
Restaurant directly opposite good value but far from authentic.

Penang / George town itself pretty underwhelming. Not pedestrian friendly at all extremely heavy traffic and difficult and dangerous to cross any roads.

Automobile rules are if you can get your bike or car on it. Its a road. Beware of motorcycleists travelling up the pavement on one way streets. Be prepared to spend most of your time walking along the main roads as cars park on the pavement that is divided by a network of open drainage.

I love street food, but hereChoose your dining based on the locals. We found some great places to eat but also witnessed Raw chicken being prepped directly on the pavement next to a stagnant drain. And I mean on the pavement. Just be wary of what facilities where you eat have to offer.

Butterfly sanctuary was very good and worth a visit.

Room Tip: room 112 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    94
    74
    26
    14
See reviews for
28
78
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As you can see, that the hotel is pretty old and a bit spooky for me. But the room was quite spacious and clean from bottom to top.
It's really worth the money for me, i choose this hotel because it has eleator even if the elevator is as old as the hotel. well, atleast it work :))
Do i want to stay there again? yep. i love the idea of breakfast on the rooftop.

Room Tip: i think every room is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here just for one night - and it was fine just for one night - but probably wouldn't choose it again and wouldn't particularly recommend it. It does have quite a good location - walking distance from all the main attractions in Georgetown. However, the hotel itself is very basic and the rooms are very worn and outdated. The bedrooms are a good size but just felt really old and the bathroom could do with updating too. The breakfast wasn't great - just cereal and toast I think.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently updated (if there are any).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel doesn't need renovation, it need demolition. Price (around 50 euro's per night) was too high for this standard. Room was reasonably clean and very spacious though. Staff was friendly, breakfast was ok though there was very little choice. Bathroom was very old and not looking fresh at all. Toilet wouldn't flush properly, stains, very worn tap, etc. There was a couch on the entrance of the floor we were on that looked like it had to be thrown away 12 years ago. I would only stay here if the price is 20 euro's a night and you're on a tight budget, because the location is good. 5 minutes of walking will take you to Penang road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Budget Hotel which has seen better times. Relatively clean, large rooms and generous sized fridge, but no kettle provided.
Shop around to get best rates, rates on different sites ranged from RM100 to RM170 a night for the same room when I booked. (try hostelbookers )
Most of the staff were friendly and easygoing, except for one woman at reception who was more like a ticket inspector in attitude: when we checked out after a week's stay, her parting words were "ok, thats it, you can go" - and thanks for your hospitality too!!
Breakfast was basic, just muesli, toast and jam tea and coffee and cordial. You have to pay extra for eggs, etc... don't bother, just go across the road for Malaysian breakfast which is ten times better, and cheaper too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

PROS: Helpful and friendly staff.
Good location to Red Garden food court and shopping centre.
Clean spacious rooms with balcony.
They have a safe and large cupboard.

CONS: we paid €50/ 195MYR a NIGHT in low season.
Breakfast(toast&juice) is included, but eggs or ham are not?! So not worth getting up for at all.
The rooms are old and and a bit bleak (but clean). I would describe them as 'ghetto'.
Bathroom is only just acceptable.
The hotel is run down and needs to be repainted and updated.
And the noise from the side street restaurant opposite goes on till about 4am.
If the room was less than half of what we paid a night then it would have been an acceptable place to stay unfortunately it was the most expensive room I've stayed in travelling Asia for 4 months and not in my top 20 of 26 rooms I've stayed in, so for this I had to give 1 star. Found amazing luxury Hotel in kuala lumpur for a 3rd of the price: sentral hotel puda.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

First impressions were good, the hotel is within easy walking distance of a great food hall, other eateries, Komtar and the shopping malls and the Heritage area. However, although the room was spacious it was past its best, the towels were clean but thin and worn out, the bedding was patched and the decor was in need of an update.
Having said that the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fine for one that was included in the price - which was a bit over the top for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/Georgetown
Address: Argyll Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mingood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.