We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guesthouse in Malaysia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 80's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 80's Guesthouse
Save
You added The 80's Guesthouse to your Saves list
46, Love Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“The best guesthouse in Malaysia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spend there 2 nights after travel around KL and Melacca..this is far far away the best guesthouse we ve ever been. Tiny,clean (really) new, cute, great location and modern. The girl at the reception is so helpfull and kind. I recommend this place if you are in Penang. It is not the cheapest one but it is the best one

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
21
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Sparkling clean and new, bright and airy. Showers are incredible and free shower gel!! Friendly, common area to meet people, DVDs, games, watermelon and toast for breakfast and free tea and coffee anytime. Really well thought out facilities for doing your own washing and plenty of hanging space. Farah who works there is super friendly and very helpful. They even have extras like an iron and hair dyer you can use! Beds are very comfortable! In conclusion it's epic and well worth the money!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。nice boss,nice lane ,chinese is OK。

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed two nights here with no complaints. It was clean, quiet, and convenient. We stayed in the dorm with 2 double bunk beds. The bed was comfy, the AC was nice and the lockers in the room were a great feature. Also the continent breakfast was minimal but great.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

First of all please please please ignore the 1 and only bad review of this hostel. They were clearly just unlucky as the hostel was so new when they stayed. This is the nicest hostel we have stayed in so far in Malaysia. The staff are so helpful (especially Phoebe). We stayed in a dorm which had double beds instead of singles which was great as we were a couple. To some that might be a bit odd but for us it made sense, sleeping in bunkbeds when you're a couple feels odd! The bathrooms and toilets were so clean-it says alot about a hostel when you look forward to showering and feel okay showering without flip-flops on!
During our stay it was quite quiet so definitely not a party hostel but there is a large common area where I am sure lots of people meet when it's busy. They now have lots of signs up asking you to be quiet between 11pm and 8am for the sleeping guests and they also clearly state tea and coffee is available until 5pm. Breakfast is simple, tea, coffee, toast, jam and fruit. It's also served until 12pm which if like me you like a lie in is fantastic. The location is fantastic. As soon as we arrived Phoebe circled all the maps that in her opinion were the best things to see.
We loved Georgetown and extended our stay because of this but also because we wanted to make the most of such a great, clean, friendly hostel.
My tip for Georgetown:hire a motobike and get lost!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeosu, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was a great place to stay. The beds in the dorms are large and comfortable and give a good level of privacy. The staff are very friendly and really went the extra mile. I was given recommendations for the best street food from a local's perspective and it really made the trip. The common areas and facilities are clean and bright. Great place to crash on the island. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in the 80's Guesthouse and I have to say this guesthouse is one of the nicest guesthouses in Southeast Asia I have ever seen. Modern, clean, quiet, friendly staff - the only thing I can critisize is the door System at Night. The gate closes around midnight and has to be opened by the staff. Unfortunately the staff sometimes doesn't hear the bell, so you have to wait for a while outside.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 80's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 80's Guesthouse

Address: 46, Love Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80's Guesthouse is the latest vintage guesthouse by Old Penang Guesthouse. It is located at 100 year old shop houses in Georgetown, Penang. The concept of renovation rests on a clear contrast of what is old and new. All effort has been made to preserve as much of the character of the existing building as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 80's Guesthouse Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 80's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.