We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Ping Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hong Ping Hotel
Save
You added Hong Ping Hotel to your Saves list
273B Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value for a budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

It was "established in 1967 and known by travellers the world over for its intimate atmosphere and excellent value". A Chinese hotel which would have been absolutely leading edge in 1967. Keys for the lights, hot showers and a lift! It is old now and so are the nice people at the desk who I suspect are the owners. They seem a bit grumpy at first but that's probably because they've been doing the same job since 1967. Their English was good and they were very helpful. We (old couple, tight budget) found it perfect.

Room Tip: Check the room and be prepared for a tiled changing room ambience but clean & air conditioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    16
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
12
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A little worn down, but reasonably good choice for this price. Location is exellent. Rooms cleaner than in many hotels in this price range. The Chinese lady at the reception (owner?) is polite and helpful. Unfortunately the same can not be said about the young guy working there. A fridge in the room would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location of the hotel is ok along Chulia Street but the premise is old and run down. I wouldn't have chosen this place if not for the sake of having all 40 of us under the same roof in the deluxe/family rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khok Kloi, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I had a enjoyable stay. The late night receptionist wasn't friendly. He didn't want to be bothered. He wanted to sleep on the couch and not help with any questions. The water was hot and the room was clean as for budget hotels go. It is in a great location as well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Me and my friend checked in here for three day and two night.the receptionist was very rude in addressing people.i paid the fee in the afternoon my friend went out separately.when he come back to the hotel suddenly the receptionist call him 'hoi' where are u going and mentioning that the room we checked in haven't paid yet in front of people without checking
the record while my friend holding the room key.Then it took time for him to check the record while my friend try to get me on phone suddenly he said the room had paid.and then just simply said sorry after dropping my friend dignity in front of people.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

suitable for budget traveler. location is good .near to Nasi kandar beratur., next to chulia hawker food street .parking is limited .Room is basic and clean.there is a lift in the hotel.room 416 is good
and clean

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the Hong Ping in 2001 the first time and again in January 2014. Located centrally on Jalan Chulia in the heart of the historic district, you gain in location what you might lose in ambience or comfort. This is by no means a competitor of the fancier boutique hotels nearby, but. for those who are only looking for a basic room with two-star ambience (and priced accordingly), this is a good choice. There is an elevator in the building; the reception staff is predictably stoic; great food close by. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hong Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ping Hotel

Address: 273B Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hong Ping Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Ping Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.