We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil temple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dharmikarama Burmese Temple

Dharmikarama Burmese Temple
24 Lorong Burmah, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 41 Attractions in George Town
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Port Lincoln, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tranquil temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

After visiting several temples they start to blend into one but this one has a calm and tranquil atmosphere both inside the temple and out in the grounds, tempting one to linger longer and recharge the batteries. Good place to visit on your own and not with a tour.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    127
    38
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malang
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Statue of Standing Buddha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This temple located on Jalan Lorong Burmah, in front of Thai temple (reclining Buddha). From Komtar bus station I use bus no. 103 and get down at Police office building on the right side on Jalan Burmah, then take a walk for 100 meters towards Lorong Burmah. This temple is beautiful with its gold ornaments. Many kind of beautiful statue and the biggest is golden standing Buddha. Must go here when visit Penang.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Magnificent golden splendour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Serenity and feeling of calmness within this splendid buddhist temple. Majestic statues with intricate carvings. I visited on 14th Apr just a day after the water festival and there were many burmese celebrating this festival and receiving blessings from the monks. Much worth the visit although I felt that the stalls outside of temple slightly disturbed the serenity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

From my house i took bus 101 to the temple that took me 30 mins. the temple is famous for its symbol of sleeping buddha. it is like the sleeping beauty :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dharmikarma Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

It is one of the most magnificient temple I have visited. Gold statues of buddha are symbol of wealth. Opposite this temple is a big staute of buddha in sleeping state.

Its a must visit spot in Penang for sure.take bus Nos 101 and 102

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dharmikarama Burmese Temple also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Dharmikarama Burmese Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dharmikarama Burmese Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.