We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located, and the staff helpful and friendly. Our room was big and comfortable, unfortunately, although the linen and towels were clean, they smelled stale. On our arrival when we went into the Ladies toilet in the lobby, we found three women, one of whom had obviously taken a shower in the cubicle. She was wrapped in a bath towel, the cubicle was flooded with water, the seats were wet through, and their clothes were hanging on the doors. We immediately made a complaint to the concierge. This was our first impression of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear ivytay88

Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. We have taken note of your comment over the stale smell of the linen and towels in the room and our Housekeeper has been informed to look into the matter.

I was shock to hear that you found one of the ladies taking shower in the lobby toilet on your arrival day. I would like to thank you for highlighting it to us. We will further investigate and ensure it will not happen again.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    449
    245
    71
    28
See reviews for
188
303
72
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I drove to Penang this time around and due to last minute arrangement I had to put in the nearest hotel to my work. So Bayview sounded very good and book it.

Customer service sucks. Well I'm there for work and expected good WiFi but ended but with a below the average speed which ended up doing my work at the nearest Wifi spot.

Room wasn't bad, very clean and no odor.

But remember this is the best location to find for good food, massage, Pubs. The nearest pub was Soho and full of expats and pros but the draft beers was their best! Happy hour all night long.

Room Tip: go for non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear wormyx

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location is very much appreciated.

I regret that the wifi service was not up to your expectation.

We do appreciate your feedback about our shortfalls and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to on your next visit to Penang.
Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel has a ok standard. The rooms are big, clean and the service is also OK, but nothing more.
A standard 3-4 stars hotel. But the location of the hotel is the biggest plus. Near the china town, national museum, the famous chain tees mansion, red garden ( a great food court ) and many other places in georgetown. The skybar on the roof is also quiet good.

We didn't try the spa at the hotel, but the spa rooms and staff looked little bit shabby, so we didn't go for it.

So choose this hotel for the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Atifba

Thank you for your endorsement of our big, clean room and the hotel location. Your positive ratings of the Sky Bar, our staff and services are most appreciated.

We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next trip to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good location and within walking distance of all the good food places. Sites of interests are all within reach via the free city shuttle or some of the local buses.

The hotel itself is old - sorely needs updating. The rooms are good sized and well appointed. The airconditioning is centrally-controlled and it can't really be changed via the controls in the room (I tried but it didn't make a difference). The rooms can get very warm during the day as a consequence.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The gym is passable and the pool very usable.

The bathroom facilities are problematic - it has a very old-fashioned tub and a shower head - the water temperature is inconsistent and it can surge without warning. The towels are thin and shredded and really need to be changed.

The beds are hard (I liked them like that) and comfortable. The pillows are too soft and they do not have other options.

This is a solid hotel - I would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear R L

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang and for recommending us to TripAdvisor’s readers. We appreciate your positive ratings of our hotel especially its location, room size and our staff.

We have taken note of your comment over the problem in the room and we would appreciate if you could kindly advise us the room number in order for us to check the air-conditioning as well as the water temperature.

We thank you for your constructive feedback as this assists us in our endeavours towards achieving consistent, caring and excellent service standards. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel has friendly staff. It's conveniently located and offers the best price. I highly recommend first timers to Penang to book this hotel! Within walking distance to the various sites within George Town and near a Food Court at the Red Garden.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel in its website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear TohYS

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation to first timers to Penang. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are very much appreciated.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed in this 4-star hotel in May for a week-long course. We initially had a Deluxe room for the first night,facing the beautiful sea and E&O Hotel. Unfortunately, there was a toilet pump issue as well as bathroom drainage problem which forced us to request another room. The hotel is a 'weathered' but the freshened up interior renovation had provided a breath of modernity. I actually loved our classic Grand Deluxe room furnitures. Staff are courteous and well trained particularly those in the restaurants who started recognising me by the second day. Their attentiveness (i.e offering to help me with soup/ coffee/ dessert) when they noticed I had to attend to my baby and was rushing through lunch during the course is commendable and deserves a 5-star! Breakfast and lunch buffet was a nice spread of chinese,local and western choices, but I loved the choice of tea-break menu chosen for our course. There's a nice little park right outside the hotel where my baby enjoyed a nice evening stroll. A few minutes walk away from the hotel is a lovely alfresco dining spot with rows of cool bistros and massage parlours. E&O Hotel right across the street from Bayview was magnificent. We had some drinks before leaving Penang to get a glimpse of it. Wished we had more time to have dinner there! I also managed to squeeze time on the last night to check out the Three Sixty rooftop bar which just opened on the same month. It was noticeable that the front counter was not organised/frazzled as people had to line up, choose a drink from the menu and pay on the spot before entering. There wasn't a welcoming, smiling service. ( I was told that the roof bar is not managed by the hotel so that explains). Drinks were quite expensive but then you're also paying for the ambiance so we had no qualms. The rooftop experience was nice nevertheless, we had a lovely sweeping view of Georgetown and it was jam-packed with young, trendy Penangites. It would make a wonderful venue for a private party I would imagine. All in all, it's a nice hotel in a lovely location. I would return to Penang again definitely but with the variety of new, hip and heritage hotels all over Penang now, I would choose another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview facing E&O. Avoid top floors if you want a good nights' sleep as the skybar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear LisaAmbrose

We appreciate your positive endorsement of our Deluxe Room furniture, the staff and services during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that the meals served were to your liking.

We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered in the first room and for the inconvenience caused during the room change.

We have also taken note of your comment over the services at Three Sixty Rooftop Bar. Remedial steps have been taken since the opening day and I believe that the service has now been improved.

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the near future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Big anonymous hotel but fine. Good location. 360 degree rooftop bar & restaurant has great views but don't be fooled by the 'revolving' bit. It revolves for one hour only and that is after dark! (8:30-9:30pm)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear WorldInANutshell

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor. Your positive comments of the hotel and the 360 degree rooftop bar & restaurant are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.