We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in George Town
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Bayview and were very happy with our choice. We had a large, comfortable room with TV, air conditioning and tea/coffee making facilities with a good-sized attached bathroom. The interior of the hotel is quite smart and is clean and well looked after. The included breakfast was reasonable, with a decent choice and good coffee, and was a welcome start to the day.
The hotel scores particularly highly with its location, providing easy access to shops, food and drink, with the Red Garden food court just a couple of minutes away. Transport is easy with a taxi rank across the road and a stop for the free tourist bus just a couple of minutes walk away, although it is worth grabbing a tourist map from the lobby and going for a walk as there are many places to visit within the locality. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly without exception and made us feel very welcome.
If I return to Georgetown I would definitely stay at the Bayview again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Busbar

Thank you very much for posting an excellent review about your recent stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location is very much appreciated. Thank you also for your endorsement of our large & comfortable room, the interior of the hotel, our staff and services.

We are delighted to hear that we are able to provide you with an enjoyable stay here and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    446
    242
    71
    28
See reviews for
186
301
72
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located in the Middle of Georgetown..... It will be the ideal place for a gastronomic experience, all the pub & lounge in walking distance. Very easy to find taxi's. Room rate was fair. Room was OK, the bed was abit hard. Few TV channel, but who watched TV anyway... LOL. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Other than that, it was all good.

Room Tip: Higher floor to get best view. Get the room which is far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Don_Carlitto

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are very much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great location, sandwiched between E&O Hotel and the Blue Mansion & within walking distance of the Clan Jetties and Penang Road eating places.
Friendly staff who obliged with a spacious room with a very nice view of the old historic part of town though next time I must remember to ask for a view of the sea ( for a change).
Knowledgeable concierge with useful tips about best ways to get around town on foot.
Great pecan and walnut tarts served in the coffee house.
In my haste to check out, I had left behind some belongings. Called reception the day after I had checked out and was relieved to learn that housekeeping staff have put aside the things I had overlooked with the Lost and Found Department. Thanks and I look forward to collecting them in my next visit to Penang!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Selene71

Thank you for posting your great review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to note that you had an enjoyable stay here and that our pecan & walnut tart was to your liking. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services especially from the Housekeeping Department in keeping your personal items are very much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three days. Overall it was a pleasant experience. front staff were friendly and helpful. cleaning service was spotless. all electric devices function properly. maybe in future the management can put lobby seats. and the food at the secret alley cafe was superb!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear aznara z

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and that our services lived up to your expectations. We appreciate your superb rating of the food at secret alley. We wish to inform you that we do provide seating area at lobby lounge for our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bayview Hotel for 2 nights in February. This centrally located hotel is close to most of the main sites. When we checked in, they upgraded our room to an upper floor. It was spacious and quiet. This hotel is close to many good restaurants.The breakfast was ok. Some of the food sitting under the heaters was cold. Staff was helpful. They suggested taking the free tourist bus, which you can get at the museum. It goes around the city and stops at the main tourist attractions. You can get off any time and jump back on. Ring the bell on the bus to let the driver know you want off. You can walk to the hawker stalls on Gurney Drive which you can't miss. It is good 20 minute walk along the waterfront. Take the taxi to and from the airport to the hotel.Convenient and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Retired_teacher_56

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor and for your endorsement of our hotel location, spacious room and our services. We have taken note of your comment over some cold food served during breakfast. Our Executive Chef has been informed on this matter and will look into improving it.

We appreciate your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Centrally located in the heart of the town. Helpful staff.Especially front office staff were very friendsly and hlepful. Nice food. Clean rooms. cleaning service is below average. otherwise ok. Lobby seats missing

Room Tip: ask for higher floor rooms so that noise level will be less
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Chettiyappan

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We're very pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay and that our services lived up to your expectations. I have taken to task my Executive Housekeeper to improve the level of cleaning services. As for your comment on the missing lobby seats, we wish to inform you that we do provide seats at the Lobby Lounge for our guests.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a superior room. Had a high floor room with sea view facing the E&O Hotel. Room is of great size, even with an extra bed, we still have much room to move around. Standard tea and coffee available. The fridge wasn't working, so we place our food on the desk. Within 30 mins or so, ants started coming out. Thus, i think the housekeeping did not do a thorough job of cleaning the room. Separate dry and wet in the bathroom. Loved the lotion given, smelled so nice.
Breakfast is decent enough, not much variety but still alright. Curry is excellent! Most attractions are just nearby, 10 mins walk away. Overall, quite a good hotel stay.

Room Tip: Choose room with Sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear EastHeartlands

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for your positive review on our hotel, the great room size and its location. We have taken note of your comments over the non-working fridge and ants in the room. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. Appreciate if you could kindly advise us the room number you have stayed in via TripAdvisor message service in order for us to look into the matters.

Thank you for your comment on our excellent curry. On your feedback on not much variety, we actually have more than 30 items in our buffet breakfast that is changed daily. However, we will look into ways of further improving the breakfast offered.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.