We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good only for location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good only for location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were slightly old.bath tub got choked after one use.but good thing that the maintenance team was prompt in repairing it.
Breakfast choices is not at all exciting. .only eat there if its complimentary.
The only plus is the location is central, directly opposite E&O hotel.so of u compare the 3-4times price difference with E&O, this becomes a steal

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Gnoskcoy

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedbacks on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location and the promptness of service is very much appreciated. We value your comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    415
    226
    68
    26
See reviews for
169
278
67
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have booked for 1 Premium Deluxe room, 1 Family Room and 1 Deluxe Room at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in Oct 2012. For me, My husband and my son was stayed in premium deluxe room which breakfast provided for 2 days in Premium Lounge.

When the first step in to Premium Lounge for breakfast, the place was looks good...but when we order for the 2 types of breakfast set which is sausage, egg, and bacon for set A and Porridge for Set B. Total we had ordered breakfast for 5 adult and 1 kid.

We been waited more than half n hour, ahead of us only one table occupied with 2 paxs. They served other table with 2 paxs who came later than us. Finally we complained because the barekfast was not served at all. After our complain, the breakfast was served within 3-5 mins which the breakfast was cold!!!

The waiter in Premium Lounge keep explaning they wanted to serve all dish at one time, that's why delay the breakfast. and mentioned that the breakfast is only for premium floor guest (which we are) but for my friends were not from premium floor. The waiter gave so many reasons of the delay instead of an apology.

All guest should be treated in same manner, not ONLY for premium floor guest as my friend had paid fot the breakfast too.

Before check-out, we actually feedback to the receptionist but was given a feedback form to fill in, we emailed to bayview hotel on this matter since 16 Oct 12 to Mar 2013, but was no update from them... What is the feedback form for? I really not understand!!! no action was taken till now!!!

I was so dissapointed on the services that provided by Premium Lounge and the hotel!!!
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Stellatan86

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We would like to sincerely apologize for the poor services you and your family encountered at our Premier Lounge. The team at Premier Lounge has been briefed on the matter raised and necessary action will been taken to improve the services. I also apologize on you not getting a reply on the e-mail you sent which I have checked with my team and regretfully, we did not get the e-mail that you sent.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We obtained a connecting room to another room. It was spacious with the newly renovated deluxe room. And, we have a good view of penang bridge afar, as well as the Komtar.
Our favourite Mamak Store selling the mutton soup was at walking distance. During the evening, we can enjoy the sea breeze by accessing the seaside via E & O hotel. The location is strategic for tourists since it is located in Georgetown. Those scenic trial with wall painting was within driving distance.

The pool was too small for more than 2 family.

Room Tip: higher floors with sea view facing Penang bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear ccpling

Thank you for your positive comments on TripAdvisor and for your compliment on our location. We are delighted to hear that you had and enjoyable stay here and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Kind regads
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the hotel. Reception was gracious enough to upgrade our room to a sea facing one.The room was large and had a great view of the sea. The amenities were par for a hotel of its class. The great benefit though is the location in Georgetown. Just a walk away from many of Georgetown' s attractions...

Room Tip: Try the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear prash71k

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location are very much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hougang New Town, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just in minutes walking to entire area of old buildings in world heritage city Georgetown, Penang. With 4 stars hotel provided by cafe, kopi tiam, restaurant and other amenities such as swimming pool, fitness, wifi and others.

Room Tip: Choose to bay view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Hendraoe

Thank you for posting your positive comments of the hotel on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed 5 nights enjoyed the overall quality of hotel good breakfast cleaning staff spent more time chatting to each other than working maybe that is why they have 3 cleaners to one room and still had to come back twice as they had no clean towels with them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear carbrookman

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here and that our breakfast is to your liking. We appreciate you highlighting to us on the cleaning staff that spent more time chatting than working. Our Executive Housekeeper has been informed on this matter and necessary action will be taken to ensure that consistent and caring services are always provided by the staff. Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived at the hotel, the spaces, attractive reception is very welcoming. Staff were friendly and we arrived at the room promptly. The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom was well presented with complimentary toiletries. Overall this hotel offers a good location, helpful and friendly staff and a nice dining area for breakfast and a good WiFi connection. I did not eat there but they do have a 360 degree rotating restaurant. May be next time!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Kenny F

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.