We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel but need to improve its service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ok hotel but need to improve its service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you satisfied with a hotel as a place to stay, this will fit you well. It has the "hardware" of a 4-star hotel- gym, pool, restaurant and space. But as with most typical hotel in Malaysia ( pity i should generalise but this is an honest observation) they tend to lack the personal touch and soft ware.

The Plus Points. It is conveniently located in the core of Georgetown. If you're interested in Penang's colonial heritage and past but unwilling to indulge in luxury and content with decent comfort and convience, this is the place. It is located near Fort Cornwall, the old City Hall and Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Cheong Tze Fatt Mansion. It is also very close to Jalan Penang where there is easy access to local fare, cafes and other F&B joints. This is the most important plus point.

The hotel. I paid for a Grand Deluxe. it is spacious and the view of the city is decent. Most rooms will have view of the sea but one side directly faces the coast. The room was clean and well maintained with all the room infrastructure functioning (something i do not take for granted in many malaysian hotels i have stayed). Step into the lobby and you are given a sense the hotel is not a cheap lousy one. That said the hotel appears old and tired but this is not a major complain.

Internet wifi is complimentary. This is a plus but also a minus. The access and efficiency is time dependent. It is not reliable and you sometimes get locked out and cant access the net for hours. I should also add that the room is not well insulated so you can actually hear people talking outside.

The swimming pool is very small and there is no one manning the counter to issue towers. The breakfast spread is limited and the same everyday. I recommend you skip paying for the breakfast and just head out to the nearby (cheap) coffee shops for breakfast along Jalan Penang.

I also think little of the revolving restaurant. It is overpriced with a less than satisfactory spread. It is just sufficient for a one-time experience. It is strange that a buffet does not serve drinks (i.e. soft drinks) and you have to pay for each other. Many of the staff were standing around and one had the audacity to grab the fruits with his bare hands, pop it into his mouth and walk away.

This is the last crucial bit that makes Bayview less than 4-star. It lacks the human touch. The receptionists are not impolite but they are not affable or pro-actively helpful. They seem reluctant to go beyond answering your query and lack a smile. They have a doorman but he never stands at the door to open the door for anyone.

It is not the cheapesrt option but is still a reasonable choice if you want convenience with small comfort without significant financial cost.

Room Tip: All superior rooms sit on smoking floors. Avoid if you prefer otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Ecsoviet1984

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your constructive comments as well as positive ratings of the hotel especially its location and the room are most appreciated. I sincerely regret on the service inefficiency you received from the receptionist and waiter at Revolving Restaurant and the unmanned towel counter which I will certainly look into. I also regret that you did not fully enjoy your meal at the Revolving Restaurant for which we have received many excellent compliments on the buffet spread.

As for the internet Wi-Fi connection, I will get my IT Exec to look into your feedback as we just upgraded adding in another 24Mbps line to our current system to stabilize the heavy usage from all our guests.

I apologize for the confusion but we don’t have a door man service here at Bayview Georgetown. The person that you may have seen around the entrance would be our security personnel monitoring the flow of cars coming into the hotel and assisting guest to unload luggage from the car.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we hope to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    415
    228
    68
    26
See reviews for
170
278
67
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Room was big and reception was not firendly at all. We found ants in the bathroom and were sprayed twice with no improvement. Amenities were dated. It has nice view of Georgetown. Hotel taxi (blue taxi) attempted to charge double for a short trip to Komtar (10 minutes walking distance from hotel to this goverment building via Kln Pinang). It is close to the older part of Georgetown which was not that hygenic just round the corner of the hotel. You can find plenty of food stalls, restaurants, bars and eateries in Jln Pinang and surronds. The Hotel was reasonably priced and our room has good panaromic view of Georgetown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear GL6152

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We have taken note of your comments over the unfriendliness of the receptionist and ants in the room and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We would appreciate if you could kindly advise us on the room number in order for us to look into the problems. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the bayview for 3 nights. All in all I would stay again, it was well priced and centrally located. The hotel is a little dated but nothing major. The gym is pretty basic and although I didn't use it as it was raining the pool seemed pretty good. it's about 30 min from the airport and pretty central for Georgetown. Red Garden hawker center is about a 3 min walk from the hotel which is good. There is also a small nightlife area about 5 min from the hotel. Though I found it a bit average but I wouldn't say Penang as a whole is a bit average in nightlife. I stayed in the stock standard superior room which was clean enough and had the expected facilities. For those who don't like hard bed's beware! I never ate in the hotel as you have so much great food outside so can't comment on the food. All in all I would stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed with friends and all our rooms seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Kevin M

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Your positive rating of the hotel is very much appreciated. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great, big room with a fantastic view over Georgetown. Everything was clean and functional. The hotel is a bit impersonal, but is within walking distance from most sights in Georgetown. The Red Garden Food Paradise was only 4 minutes away. There is also a pool, eventhough it is very small its still great to cool down after a day of walking around in Georgetown's humid weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear CrisPini40

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the impersonal service that you had experience and I will look into ways to further improve on this. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

All good except lots of mosquito at the lobby lounge. Our group of 3 was badly bitten by the mosquitos. Room is very big with living room and addtional toilet in the living room area. Great location. Walking distance to E&O Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Yvonnemsia

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Your positive review of the hotel is very much appreciated. We have taken note of your comment over the mosquito problem at Lobby Lounge and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Our Executive Housekeeper has been informed on this matter and necessary action will be taken to address the problem. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

LOCATION
-----
Located conveniently in one of the best locations possible in Georgetown. Walking distance for most of the attractions and even if you want to grab a late night bite or a beer everything is few minutes away from the hotel and there are few nightclubs and pubs which will become more vibrant during weekends.

SERVICE
-----
Staff was friendly and very accommodating. We happened to arrive earlier than we planned and they gave us an early check in as early as 8:00AM and gave us late checkout up to 2:00PM.


ROOMS & CLEANLINESS
-----
Rooms are more or less what you expect from a hotel in the price range and from a country in the region. Bedlinen seemed to be clean, yet carpets didn't look (or smell) like regularly cleaned. Overall it's not bad unless you have allergies to muold or anything.


Overall: I guess one of the best locations around Georgetown for the price vs facilities/location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Buddhi_desilva

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. Your positive comments of the hotel especially on our best location, our staff and services are most appreciated. We have taken note over the comment on the carpet and may we assure you that the carpets are regularly vacuumed when the maid are servicing the rooms and we also have a scheduled periodic carpet shampoo of our carpet in the hotel.

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Caves, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at new wing, the rooms was very clean and comfortable. The location is good, which you can walk to eateries and shopping mall in walking distance. However it has no specialties, and it is more suitable for business travelers than individuals. For individual travelers they might prefer a beach hotel instead.

Wi-fi was provided based on complimentary basis. The bathroom is clean and tidy.

Did not get a chance to try out their breakfast though.

Moderate hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear NoelXY

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel and our room are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.