We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Bayview Hotel in early January this year. The staff members were very welcoming, helpful and hospitable. The accommodation was very comfortable and luxurious and revolving restaurant was a "once in a lifetime" experience. The food was wonderful and sumptious, too. We loved staying at Bayview Georgetown. A lovely place to stay at.

Thanks a million, staff members - keep up your great work!

Bernadine & Lou

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for posting an excellent review on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, Revolving Restaurant, our staff and services are most appreciated. We are indeed delighted to hear that you and your partner loved staying at Bayview Hotel Georgetown and we certainly look forward to welcoming both of you back on your next visit to Penang.

Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    474
    257
    76
    29
See reviews for
206
311
75
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Olias del Rey, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the center of Georgetown, at the beginning of the Penang street choose to the Chinatown area and little India, just close to the colonial area... the hotel is big with many rooms, the rooms look a bit old but they are quite big and very clean...breakfast is very good, food is excellent and the restaurant in the top of the hotel is awesome (very nice views and food)...stuff is helpful and friendly,I liked my stay there...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. We certainly look forward to your return visit and to be of service to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Brilliant location in Georgetown, close to all the main sights. Hotel is a bit dated but the rooms were well appointed and everything worked well. Our rooms were not sea facing but we had bay windows with a view of Georgetown. Didn't try the food at the hotel so cannot comment on that. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing, though I think those will cost more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our family of four recently returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. The family room was excellent and easily accommodated the four of us with 2 separate rooms. The Georgetown location of this hotel suited us because it was close to everywhere we wanted to go. The Bayview was very clean and had a beautiful eating area. The staff are efficient, effective and friendly. We loved this hotel so much and we have booked to go back there again! There is a great revolving restaurant at the top of the hotel, perfect for a special dinner. Overall a fantastic stay at the Bayview and we definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: For a family, the family room is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a fantastic stay here and that our services lived up to your expectations. Thank you for your compliments on our staff and our restaurant. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and family back again to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel is older but has been refurbished. Room was clean, carpet could have done with a shampoo though. Mini bar fridge was there but not stocked and the standard amenties were available.

The general breakfast buffet had a good selection but was a bit of a zoo in an area that was poorly lit and not big enough for the number of guests making it hard to move around and very noisy.

In contrast the executive lounge was well worth the extra money, they offered a small american breakfast, evening snacks and all day drinks. The food was good, although it would have been nice to have a different selection each day. The staff were fantastic especially in the lounge where they couldn't do enough to help you.

The hotel had a nice very deep pool, and a large jacuzzi, we saw posters for a spa but didnt recieve any information in our room.

Would stay again if needed to be in the city.

Room Tip: Exective floors are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, the Premier Lounge, our staff and services are most appreciated. We will look into the constructive points that you had raised and necessary actions will be taken to address them.We certainly look forward to your return visit and to be of service to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

]We arrived from the Langkawi ferry in the evening very tired. Our only criticism was with the girl who checked us in who was not very helpful. We got to our room, very tired and noticed the next day that it was not a sea view as on our details. We were only there for a couple of days so did not complain.

The hotel itself is great, the swimming pool and juccuzi are very good, the breakfast good also. The best thing for is the location, as we like to travel by public transport and there is a short walk to the bus station and you can catch a bus to anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, its facilities and location are most appreciated. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the service inefficiencies you experienced during check in and for not being able to accommodate your request of a sea view room. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my hubby & daughter. We arrived by coach at Penang very early in the morning. After the 12hrs of bus ride, we were very lucky to be able to check in early into the hotel and able to further upgrade our rooms without any additional cost! Staffs are very helpful and friendly! Hotel location is very good too! Very accesible to everywhere, esp with the CAT and Rapid Penang bus.

Kiddy pool is at 0.7m, considered quite deep for my toddler but nevertheless she enjoyed it just playing by the steps of the pool.

Breakfast is alright, gd variety. Croissant deserves 2 thumbs up! Yummy!
On the last night, we dine in at the Revolving Restaurant (before we're continuing the journey to Langkawi). We were so glad that we did, despite the splurge! The view was spectacular!!! Ambience was so perfect & romantic! Food is good. Staffs are friendly and mostly smiling. The live music trio wraps it all up to be the most unforgettable experience!!

Overall, great and wonderful stay! Keep it up!!! Will definately come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We would like to extend our sincere thanks for the positive comments on your recent stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. We are delighted to hear that you had a great and wonderful stay here and that our hotel facilities met your satisfactions as well as the service from our staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#25 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#23 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#20 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#19 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.