We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic steak menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak frites

Steak frites
23 Love Lane, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 459 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Pulau Penang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“basic steak menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

very basic menu concentrating on steaks only in 2 weights. small salad and French fries are completing the dinner. beers and good wines available.
our steak came as ordered, medium rare.
so far the best steak we had in George town.
with RM 60 not the cheapest but ok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Exactly as it says on the tin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Steak and fries - actually, they had just started doing Salmon so I had that but all very good, with good wine menu.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simple but successful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Only 2 things on the menu, small or large steak but they were amazing! The garlic topping was divine and the small winelist a treat too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What you want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It's what you come for : Steak and fries, there is nothing else on the menu (this is how it is!!). Like l'Entrecote in Paris, the waiter only asks you what you want to drink and how you want your meat cooked.
I had 150 gr., would go for 200 next time ;-)
Great meat and good Fries (not homemade).
But for Penang, it's great!!
My glass of white wine was nice (house wine) and the red was average (house wine as well).
Would go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Based on the feedback here, thought finally we had a good steak place in Penang.
Disappointed. Wasn't bad but wasn't good either. It was just... decent.
Few key notes:
- Never go for 200g. It's not a proper cut. Don't even know what it is but it was really bad.
- The 300g steak was better but definitely not worth the price.

At the end of it all, it was a little underwhelming. Have i been back there after my first visit? Nope and probably will not anytime soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak frites also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Steak frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak frites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.