We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern clean and quiet, located within walking distance of main attractions/sites.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Lodge

Save Saved
You added Heritage Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Lodge
39 Lorong Ceylon, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“modern clean and quiet, located within walking distance of main attractions/sites.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for 3 nights in a double room with A/C. very comfortable and clean but as the window (which was internal and looked out over the kitchen area) wouldn't seal it could be noisy at times.. plenty of bathrooms which had nice hot showers. wifi wasn't great but worked in spurts now and again.. breakfast consisted of bread/toast and tea/coffee plus the added bonus of home made cakes in the afternoon! the owner (sherry) was very friendly and helpful.. would quite happily stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Located just on the outskirts of the old town this newly renovated guesthouse which is under new ownership is definitely worth staying in when visiting Georgetown.

The owner Sherry is very friendly and helpful. She gave us a lot of good advice not only on what to see and do in Georgetown but also on how to organize our onward travels. She booked a taxi for us to the bus station as well and told us exactly how much to pay so we wouldn't get conned,

We stayed in a double room with a/c which was very clean and spacious and had the most comfortable bed ever. The window was looking out inside of the building, down on the kitchen area providing enough daylight during the day. Even though our room was located beside the dorm, it was very quiet.

Wifi was ok, it dropped occasionally.

Breakfast, coffee and tea were available during the day. Sherry even baked some cakes and cookies for the guests that were staying at the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We are a mature couple doing a 'grey gap year' and staying at Heritage Lodge for two nights. We were met by, Sherry who has an infectious warm smile and, the smell of cakes baking in the oven, which taste delicious. The lodge is clean, comfortable and welcoming being just a few streets from the main attractions but far enough to be quiet. Affordable to keep within budget and certainly better value than other places we have stayed in Malaysia. With additional comforts like free tea/coffee/cold drinking water on offer it is clear that Sherry wants her guests to enjoy their stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at Heritage House. We loved the location ( near great restaurants but a few blocks away from the noise and bustle) and the owner. Sherry is super helpful with offering suggestions on where to eat and shop. The place is historical and well renovated. The bathrooms are shared but really clean and new. I would highly recommend a Heritage House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We originally planned to stay 2 nights at heritage lodge and ended up staying for 4. The owner, Sherry is really friendly and helpful and speaks fantastic english. She pointed us to all the best local food spots and told us about all the different areas in Georgetown/Penang. The lodge itself is very homely and modern, big rooms with good aircon, set back on a quiet local sidestreet but easy walking distance from the main part of georgetown. For the affordable rates, this was by far the cleanest and most comfortable accomodation we had on our trip. We will definetly be returning to this hostel if we come back to Georgetown and can highly recommend it!
Jaz, Erin, and Nathan (the kiwis)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Lodge

Address: 39 Lorong Ceylon, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Specialty lodging in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Lodge Bed and Breakfast If you want a home away from home, come and stay at Heritage Lodge.Comfortable, budget friendly accommodations for tourists, individuals, groups and families.Heritage Lodge is a converted landmark colonial building built before World War I and retains the feeling of a family run bed and breakfast catering to people who want an affordable home-away-from-home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Heritage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Lodge Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.