We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Museum Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 72 Jalan A.S. Mansor | off Transfer Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at Museum Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at Museum Hotel was a highlight of our trip to Penang. The hotel is located in a recently renovated beautiful historical building in George Town. Museum Hotel is in a perfect location providing easy access, (on most cases an interesting walk), to the sights and popular food spots in George Town. Our room was lovely, breakfast perfect and the staff were outstanding in their service and friendliness. We would highly recommend Museum Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    61
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
58
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I walked in and luckily get a single room! At first I was rather hesitate to stay in old building converted hotel again but to my surprise, it was really really good!

The room is new with very clean & comfy beds, big TV. the breakfast place is really nice with great relaxing ambient!
he staffs are very friendly, helpful, hands-on, and professional! I have no complaints about the location as it's just a short walk from main tourist area.

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Tell the taxi you are going to the "Hutton lane" (more recognizable) , whereas the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My fam and I stayed at this hotel in family room. We found the hotel is located at good location with easy access to Georgetown area.

The helpful staffs and welcome drink impressed my parents. Plus, the 2-storey room amazed us: the downstair is living rooom while the upstair is bedroom, which we found it was practical and functional for group travellers.

We wouldn't feel hesitated to recommend this hotel to anyone at all and we will definitely return!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I generally chose to stay at well known hotel chains when I travel. This time, as I was travelling alone and wishing to explore more boutique options, I tried the Museum Hotel. The hotel had only been operating a few months, or so the receptionist told me. A row of traditional Straits shop houses (see photo attached) had been given a new lease of life as a hotel after rather extensive renovations.

The Museum Hotel's look is traditional Straits Chinese and in keeping with that tradition there are western influenced furnishings and western antiques mixed in to the general decor. It is a pleasant change from the stock standard hotel look. Those who like old world charm and decor will love the look of this place!

My single occupancy room was 19 square meters, smallish but adequate for one person. It had a double bed and a separate shower and toilet. It is a smallish boutique hotel and even when relatively full, it still maintains a sense of exclusivity.

The hotel has a dining room which only serves breakfast. You are given 3 choices for breakfast which consisted of poached eggs, eggs and ham (see attached photo) and oats with nuts and sultanas. I like the way the hotel tries to incorporate local flavours. Served with your choice of breakfast is a daily selection of local Nyonya confections (see attached photo) and a selection of seasonal fruits. Generally, not having a venue that serves lunches and dinners will not be an issue in Penang as food can be found everywhere. However, the Museum Hotel is rather isolated and one will have to walk some distance in the tropical weather to find variety. The only food outlet nearby that I can see are basic outlets serving spicy Indian Muslim cooking.

The hotel has an air conditioned little gym with some free weights, a cycling machine and an arm exercise machine. There is no pool. There is an in-house museum which is opened to hotel guests between 4 to 5pm by appointment. I was out during those times during my 6 nights stay so never had the chance to check it out.

I found the staff very friendly, helpful and obliging, every single one of them. They are the hotel's best asset. They do go out of their way to provide a good service. They smile and greet you each time they encounter you. They look like they genuinely enjoy their work and want to be at work.

Not been a fan of eggs for breakfast every day and after a few days of having oats, I asked whether I could have no mains but a larger serve of fruits instead. The staff obliged me and I had a very nice selection of fruits. The next day, I again declined the main breakfast and asked whether instead of a piece of the local Nyonya confection, I could have a few more. I was served a very nice selection of Nyonya cakes.

One day, I was dropped off at the hotel when it was raining. A member of staff came outside with an umbrella. These little thoughtful acts and the genuine warmth exhibited by members of staff made my stay memorable. It was also a nice touch to have the women reception staff wear the graceful, traditional "kebaya" during weekends. It fitted right in with the Straits culture theme of the hotel.

The downside is that the Museum Hotel is a little out of the way when it comes to proximity to Georgetown's attractions or to food outlets. In the tropics where it is hot and humid, one cannot walk very far in the middle of the day without bathing in sweat. The Museum Hotel is a good place for peace and quiet provided you are prepared to take taxis to your destinations.

In summary, this is a beautiful little hotel where the staff will make you feel welcomed and will oblige your reasonable requests. I will definitely return and recommend it to fellow travellers wanting to experience some local colour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I travel a lot for work and pleasure and I usually only write reviews if I had a really outstanding experience or a really terrible one - the Museum Hotel definitely falls into former category! I just came back from a two night stay there with my mother and was really impressed by the whole experience. I made my reservation through booking.com and shortly after making my booking I received an email from the hotel confirming my booking, giving me helpful information about getting to the hotel and asking if I had any special requests. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a traditional style with lots of old pieces of furniture and antiques throughout. My room (a standard single) was tasteful and traditional in style by modern in terms of its comfort and amenities. The bed was very comfy and the marble walk-in shower was hot and powerful. There was a flat-screen TV with several English channels. When I returned to my room in the evening on the first day, I was surprised to see that it had been turned down and a small treat with a thoughtful and personalized note from the reception staff was on my bed. This kind of attention to detail is something that I would only really expect from a 5 Star hotel (and unfortunately these days rarely find even in those). the breakfast, which you order the night before, was beautifully served in a light and airy breakfast room. The real highlight though was the staff - they were genuinely friendly, helpful and keen to help in any way they could. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone always greeted us with a smile on their faces. It far exceeded the standard of service that I have received in most 5 star hotels in which I have stayed in the region (and I have lived in SE Asia for 7 years so have stayed in a lot of different hotels here!) There are definitely some Managers of large international 5 Star hotels in KL that could learn a thing or two from this hotel! The only constructive feedback I can give is that i would have been good to have had a safe in the room and I think it would also be good to have at last one local breakfast option on the menu - I live here so didn't mind the absence of this and loved my eggs benedict and egg and ham cups, but for my mum who is just visiting Malaysia it would have been good if there had been some more local options for her to try. Otherwise, it was faultless. The staff are incredible and the management is to be commended as they obviously have a rare talent for recruiting passionate, friendly, helpful and assertive staff for the property. i would definitely go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others - it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great design in straits colonial style. Real antique pieces everywhere in the hotel. Cozy and comfortable. Great staffs and service. You will feel like home. Tucked in a quiet corner of a busy main road with local residences around. It gives you feel really warmth and delightful everyday when you step into the hotel. The door man (Indian man), who working here as a part-timer, also run his roti bakar and kopi stall just at the near by roadside by the mosque. He is the very best door man even though he didn't look like one. Always greet us whenever he sees us, even at his kopi stall (which I didn't expect to see him there running the stall).
Breakfast was simple and good. Serving in the lounge area with very nice ambiance in the morning. Quiet, with soft breezy morning sun.
Must really praise all the staffs working in the hotel. They really did their best to serve everyone who stays here. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's a new hotel and not yet popular so most taxi driver doesn't know its location. But its location is a plus for me because its in a quiet cul-de-sac, no traffic and just a walking distance all the places I want to go in Georgetown.

The rustic heritage feeling of its interior and the beautifully restored exterior is just what I need. I loved the little 'museum' inside. My Room was clean and the the turn-down service was given a nice touch with a surprise aromatherapy flower in one night and a couple of packets of cookies for the other night.

Staff are friendly, the complimentary breakfast choice was limited but enough to start the day and if you're still hungry there is a quaint little bakery just at the corner.

I will definitely come back again.

Warning: There is no Swimming pool and no Restaurant yet (may be soon)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: No 72 Jalan A.S. Mansor | off Transfer Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
#8 Family Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Museum Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and savour the opulence of a bygone era at the Museum Hotel. Located in a restored historic building in the heart of George Town, this gem of a boutique hotel offers a unique glimpse into the golden past of this world heritage listed city. Each spacious, luxuriously appointed themed suite is one-of-a-kind, and a guests-only museum within the hotel features a remarkable private antique collection. Immerse yourself in the rich history and culture of Penang while you indulge your senses in luxury at the Museum Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.