We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with authentic atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 72 Jalan A.S. Mansor | off Transfer Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel with authentic atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recommended option if you spend a couple of nights in town. Nice hotel, good location and efficient staff.

We stayed in the family suite and everything was ok.

However, breakfast was small and with not variety. they could improve it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    63
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
59
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gorinchem
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here in May during our honeymoon. We had the best stay! Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has just been renovated and the ambiance is very nice: colonial architecture and lovely vintage/ colonial/ Chinese furniture in all hotel areas. The breakfast (poached eggs and 3 more options to choose) was delicious. The location is also nice: just a short walk from many sites to see and food stables, but still in a quiet street. Don’t look further, just go here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in converted terrace houses just a street from the listed heritage area of GeorgeTown. Great ambience, friendly helpful staff, great value. Would agree with the other comments that the bathroom design is odd, but would highly recommend as a base in GeorgeTown.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is very friendly. The building is lovely. The hotel is apparently in a "soft opening" stage but you couldn't really tell, the staff were very nice. Breakfast is either eggs or nasi lemak with juice, tea and coffee (pretty good). The room was comfortable, no complaints. It's a walk away from China town and Penang Street. It's not in the old town but you can either walk there (about 15 mins) or get a taxi. Overall I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I cannot fault the Museum Hotel. It has everything I love in a place to stay. Small enough to offer personal service with plenty of character to make it a memorable stay. Other reviewers have commented on the heritage vibe of the hotel, I want to focus on the quality of the service. I have never received better service than I did here. The team went out of their way to ensure my stay was comfortable. For example, I came back late in the afternoon after walking around Georgetown, fairly hot and sweaty. After collecting my key and heading up to my room, I heard a knock on the door and it was the front desk staff with a fresh cold fruit juice for me. Fantastic. It's a lot of little things that make up its 5* service. They have a nightly turn-down service and each night you will find a different treat on your bed with a note explaining the choice.

I was able to book my stay here at a very good price, possibly due to it's recent opening. So don't delay, get in quick and enjoy the character and hospitality the Museum Hotel offers. I will be staying here next time in Penang regardless of price rises.

Room Tip: I was in a double on the second floor which was great. I did get a look at the family room opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We transferred to the Museum Hotel for 2 nights and were delighted with the room (except the lighting was very low). Great location for all the sights but the very best part was the excellent, friendly service, I would have to mention Fatima and Tiffany as being the most helpful young women - they went out of their way to show us places to eat and booked tickets for a play. The hotel is a work in progress with plans to build a cafe and pool. Currently we found the breakfast to be a little lacking, so we went around the corner to a hawker stall instead. I am sure in the future the food will improve

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was in Penang for work and decided to try out Museum hotel for one night based on the positive reviews of the others. As soon as booking was done, I received an email providing more information and also I was asked if there was any further requirement needed to make my stay more pleasant. Check in was quick, and the hotel added a nice touch by offering a glass of cold lemongrass drink to the guest while waiting to be checked in. Mine was a single-occupancy room. The room was therefore smaller but the bathroom was well sized.There was a small window, but without a view as it was facing inward. The room was furnished in a normal way minus a closet and safe. The bed (double bed) can be a little bit short for tall people (I am 168cm). Additional towel comes with extra charges. I parked at the allocated lot, and there was a guard employed to keep the area and the open car park safe even at night. So that was a plus point for female drivers.The hotel area was a bit quiet, but it was not too far from the main areas famous for street food and sight seeing. Breakfast (basic) was provided (needs to be pre-booked) but since I had to checkout before 8am, they have prepared a takeaway sandwich and drink for me. The main attraction was the layout and decoration -the corridor and the hall was decorated with antiques, and each piece was accompanied with a little bit of history and information. There were some tables and settees at the veranda area for guests to have breakfast in morning, or lounge around. Also the fittings of old fashioned telephone, fan, window panes and switches were done in a retro style, which reminded myself of the bygone days. Apparently there is a free tour around the place from 4-5pm. Overall, I am happy with the choice I made, and I would recommend this to the people who would like a twist to the normal hotel settings and enjoy a peek into the local heritage and culture. Oh may I add, there was also a piece of local cookie offered after checking into the room. Nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: No 72 Jalan A.S. Mansor | off Transfer Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
#8 Family Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and savour the opulence of a bygone era at the Museum Hotel. Located in a restored historic building in the heart of George Town, this gem of a boutique hotel offers a unique glimpse into the golden past of this world heritage listed city. Each spacious, luxuriously appointed themed suite is one-of-a-kind, and a guests-only museum within the hotel features a remarkable private antique collection. Immerse yourself in the rich history and culture of Penang while you indulge your senses in luxury at the Museum Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.