We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muntri House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Muntri House to your Saves list
Muntri House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No.48,Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 115 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
moving
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Affordable but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Muntri House is located near Love Lane on the quieter Muntri Street and in a great location for anyone looking to explore Georgetown. An interesting old building, it has not been renovated to quite the standard of similar hotels in the area but for the price is well worth considering.

Beware the thin walls, spongy hallway 'carpet' and few shared bathrooms for many people. Enjoy the random assortment of old furniture and people!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
4
24
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The location is great part in the heritage trail and near to attractions so you can always come back and have a rest during the touring. The price is good , the staff is helpful, and they have tea and coffee for free and breakfast included. It's a nice place to stay.Nice atmosphere with chinese antiques and spacious common area to chill and relax .On top of the free WIFI,they also provide free usage of computer with internet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The double room was small with a bed and nothing else. We had to ask for a blanket, and towels. We booked the room online and no one mentioned the free breakfast at check in so we missed it the first morning and weren't even offered coffee. The toilets were ok but bugs everywhere, and wifi wasn't great. But the worst part was the man at the desk who demanded we pay for our next night before we could have fresh towels and then knocked on our door at 11am the day after and said we had to leave because they were fully booked. We'd planned to stay an extra day but had no choice. Found a much friendlier place across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Clean and comfy room, the vintage vibe interior upon entering the place makes you feel like going back in time. The room I stayed in was spacious, clean, and comfy as well. The toilets are clean and there's a free PC for you to use as well in the lounge area. The staff at the reception should have been more friendly. It's a nice place to stay and value for money as well. The place is also close to various attractions in Georgetown- there's Camera Museum next door as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upon reaching the guesthouse, we were at once delighted with the interiors and the cozy vintage vibe that the reception area gave us. We booked for 2 connecting double bed rooms (with air-conditioners but no adjacent bathroom). There were five of us. And since there were no extra beds to be added to the rooms, the staff proposed that one of us might just stay in the dormitory, which i found was extremely comfortable and air-conditioned as well (and at a extremely affordable price!)All 5 of us agreed the next morning that we all had a good slumber. The drawback is that, though clean, there are only 2 sharing bathrooms, so will need to queue for a while. Oh well, we may hang around at the common area (Wifi Zone) next to the bathrooms while waiting for our turns. Iron and hair dryers available at the common area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Budget,clean and comfy rooms.I stayed at the double room, it was spacious has a window and full wardobe set and high ceilings! Really like the art and antiques decoration of this place , has a very heritage feel and a very unique local culture experience . The price is good and include free simple breakfast with toast breads and some bananas and free flow of coffee and tea . Location is perfect in the centre of town and near to attractions and bus stop yet not at the main road therefore is quite and good to sleep at night. Highly recommend this place to those who like to explore georgetown !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely decorated arty chinese-y building. It would have been an acceptable ok place to stay, Unfortunately on the first night one of our friends was getting dripped on from the ceiling in her sleep.

Our opinion of the hostel swiftly changed when we were sitting in the nice computer room avoiding the monsoon and the horrible smell slowly crept across the room. We assumed it was a dodgy toilet until we saw the actual crap, LOTS of crap exploding from the floor. We were absolutely shocked. We left the hostel for a couple of hours and they had cleaned it up but the smell was still there and if we hadnt noticed the poo water would have hit us as it crept across the room.

Thankfully they were lovely enough to give us a full refund for the night we had left and we went to another hostel. But yeah if it wasnt for the poo would have been ok but, there was poo, a lot of poo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muntri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntri House

Address: No.48,Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Muntri House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
People tell us there’s no such thing as a budget boutique hotel and we know that superb service with heritage concepts rooms all come at a price but it doesn’t have to be at Muntri House. A stay at Muntri House is enhanced by the presence of fine art collections and antiques of the Chinese heritage along with modern comfort of air-conditioning, & Internet facilities. Located at the city centre and heritage trail with easy access to main attractions such as Penang Chinese Town Hall, Kuan Yin Teng Temple, St Georges Church, Prangin Mall shopping complex and many more impressive clan house and also night life entertainment within close reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Muntri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntri House Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muntri House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.