We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Syok at Chulia

Save Saved
You added Syok at Chulia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Syok at Chulia
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   458 Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hostel and I can recommend it to anyone. The service is great. The rooms are very clean. The shared bathroom facilities are great and there is a lot of space. Breakfast is basic but with fresh milk and cereals.
They do there best to give you a good time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Ivo400,

Thank you very much for the positive review about Syok@Chulia. Glad to hear we made it right and that you had a great time with us.
It is always a great feeling to know that our guests leave us with great memories.
We all look forward to see you soon in Penang.
I wish you a lovely time ahead.
Very sincerely,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    44
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
21
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Syok and were really impressed with the set up and friendly staff, Ash, Shelia, Chris and Elai. Nothing was a problem and they went out of their way to help us find our way around Georgetown. We stayed in the second floor queen room. The facilities were always clean and the commonroom a quiet haven in which to meet other travellers. Great space

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spices M, General Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jules068

Thank you for the kind review. We strive to give our guests the best value for money stays here at SYOK and am glad you appreciate our hard work.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After spending hours, visiting most of the backpacker hostel around chulia and muntri street, I finally decided to come to the SYOK.... I can guarantee you it is the BEST..

It is secured and safe, you will get 5 star backpacking experiencing by investing only RM 58.... the value you will get is much more than the money you invest.... to me a star experience counts.....

Their bed / mattress is really comfortable and of high quality... the bed sheet is super clean, so do towel and blanket........ their service exceeded my expectation ...........

The washroom is clean ...... and well maintained

The staffs are GREAT ....Ash,Elia, Sheila and Chris deserve A+ for their superb customer service, help and support....

I really want you experience the BEST backpacking experience @ SYOK

Their breakfast is basic and they provide FREE tea or coffee 24/7 ...

Above all, it is a GREAT place to stay and get the best Penang experience, all the great tourist spots are nearby .....

feel free to check their website... no need to hesitate for their extra price compare to other backpacker hostels .... ( most of the other hostels are not professionally managed and not up to the standard)

you will get 5x better service and value @ SYOK than any hostel in Penang

It is combine of two 3 storied heritage building and really spacious... they invested millions to make it a STAR hostel, you will experience it during your stay ...........

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Take ROOM in 3rd FLOOR as the LOUNGE is in 3rd FLOOR and more calm compare to 2nd floor.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Tajul_Ghani,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experiences with us and we are delighted to know that we have succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable one.
It is always a great feeling to know that our guests left us with great memories.
Hoping to see you back at Syok soon.

Have a real lovely day ahead.

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

if you are visiting Penang you should definitely stay here... I would probably even go so far as to say it is worth visiting Penang just to stay here!!
Cleanest place, friendliest staff, lovely bathrooms, dorms and lounge area with decent wifi. good location, free breakfast, free tea and coffee and biscuits. felt so at home. sad to leave.. highly recommended. Yes it is a little more expensive than other hostels but it is money well spent if you appreciate your creature comforts, peace, quiet and cleanliness.

Room Tip: i stayed in the female only dorm with aircon and had the dorm to myself for 3 nights :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Chez_lucas2,

We are so pleased to read your message and it is really nice to see that the Team at Syok@Chulia managed to create memorable hotel experiences for you. It's great to see that you enjoyed all our amenities and thank you so much for the kind recommendation.
Indeed the prices are not the same as the other hostels but we want to set up a new standard for them where cleanliness, service, amenities and comfort are the most important.
Glad to see you enjoyed a whole dorm to yourself but we can assure you that sharing could also be interesting, you never know when you can meet your next best friend.

Looking forward to have you as our guest again in the future.

Until then we wish you a fantastic time ahead,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hostel is clean, nice and most importantly the staff are really attentive, friendly and always wear a smile. they are willing to go to great lengths to help and made our stay there feel like home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Thailandamazesus,

Thank you for the kind review. Here at Syok , we put the guest's comfort above everything and we are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to have you with us again soon.
Until then have a fantastic time ahead,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were the first guests and were treated like superstars. We celebrated the opening with the lovely staff and the whole management which was interesting and fun. Unfortunately we couldn´t stay the night but we would definitely recommend this place. Maybe Georgetown offers a few cheaper options but they are not comparable to this nice, new and clean place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Franne13,

Thank you so much for the kind review. It's true a hotel will never forget its first guests. We had a great time while celebrating our opening with you.

Don't hesitate to stop by the next time you are in Georgetown.
We will be more than happy to accommodate you and your partner in our double rooms.

Until then, thank you again for taking the time to write the review and we wish you a wonderful time ahead.

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Overall this new "upscale" hostel is very nice. Highlights include great service, clean rooms, good location, and more.

Location wise, It is in a very convenient location right on the edge of Chinatown and close to Komtar. It is also right on the free shuttle bus line. There are lots of good restaurants and mini marts within a few blocks.

Service wise this place was amazing. When I first walked in I was very hungry and Chris actually walked with me for two blocks to escort me to his favorite nasi kandar eatery (which was good and cheap). Katy (the manager) was also very friendly and accommodating. All the staff speak excellent english and are extremely attentive. They also try to remember everyone's names, so every time I walked in I got a bright smile and, "Hello Shawn!"

The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and new. Strong and hot showers, comfortable beds, spacious rooms, cold A/C, etc. They also have very nice and stylish common areas both inside and outside.

It is also a great social scene. All the other guests I met were fellow travelers who were very friendly. The staff also make a point of trying to connect people and will go out of their way to introduce people.

I loved this place in almost every way. Unfortunately I ended up leaving for three reasons:

1) I don't really like dorms. This is the first time I have stayed in a dorm on my trip and it just isn't my thing. I wish they had some small and affordable single rooms because I may of never left if they did. Obviously this is my own issue, and nothing to do with Syok.

2) The prices are a bit high for dorm accommodation. Sure this place is really nice, but most people stay in dorms to save money. The cost of dorms here are roughly the same as getting a single room elsewhere (but not as nice of course). They are catering to a niche market of travelers who want to be in a dorm and don't mind paying more for nicer digs.

3) The location is mostly great, except that they are on a crossroads of two fairly busy streets. This resulted in loud traffic noise for much of the night (as well as beds on the first floor shaking slightly when a bus goes by). Even with earplugs it still kept me from getting solid sleep. I am a light sleeper, so perhaps it wouldn't be an issue for other folk. This was the primary reason I moved on because a good night's sleep is really important to me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Shawn_Storm,

Thank you for taking the time and writing the nice comment. We hope you realize that once you come at Syok you enter our Syok Family so it's normal to know each other's names.
I'm glad to see you enjoyed our service but sad to hear that wasn't for you.
Indeed our place is located in the heart of the Heritage Area and it tends to be animated in the evenings. We are sorry that the noise created any discomfort to you. It's true that the dorms are not for everyone but we are happy to say that we have two double rooms available now so our guests can enjoy more privacy.

Even if this place wasn't for you don't be shy to stop by and say hi the next time you come in Georgetown.

Until then best of luck,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Syok at Chulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syok at Chulia

Address: 458 Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty lodging in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Syok at Chulia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syok at Chulia has a capacity of 66 persons including separate dorm for females. Rates are inclusive of tax and breakfast, free wifi. They are air-conditioned, come with personal secured lockers,personal sockets and personal reading lights, super single size bunk beds with spring mattresses and bathrooms with rain head hot showers and all bathroom amenities. Syok at Chulia provides a Lounge area where guests can enjoy complimentary coffee/tea all day, watch TV, enjoy the collection of DVD's, magazines, dart board, foosball table, board games, free WiFi. Located at the heart of the city Georgetown, UNESCO heritage area, 458 Chulia Street, 10200 Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. Syok at Chulia is located at the junction of Leith street and Chulia Street. There are a number of restaurants nearby. RIght on Penang street, which is just across Syok at Chulia, there are many shops selling cloths, souvenirs. Trishaws, taxis and busses are easy available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Syok at Chulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Syok At Chulia Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Syok at Chulia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.