We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Syok@Chulia has set a new standard in the hostel world ! Thanks Syok !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Syok at Chulia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Syok at Chulia to your Saves list
Syok at Chulia
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   458 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Syok@Chulia has set a new standard in the hostel world ! Thanks Syok !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

There is nothing bad to say about this fabulous place. I had booked 3 nights and ended up staying 5 and it's almost with tears in my eyes that I had to leave. The first thing that "stikes" you when you walk in is how friendly the staff is. You feel so welcomed. In no time, they all get to know you by your first name.

This newly opened hostel has so much to offer. The staff (Chris, Sheila, Elia, Mary and Lynn, just to name a few) is adorable and very attentive to your needs. They really recruit the cream of the cream !

The place is a little gem. Rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable. A/C works well, so as the wifi. The lounge is a good place to relax and breakfast is good (hostel type). This spotless hostel is located in a building that has just been renovated. Since it is in the historic district of Georgetown, they had to respect strict rules. The result is fantastic. Congrats !!!

I can't wait to go back to Georgetown because, before I die, I want to stay again at Syok@Chulia !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Claude,

Thank you so much for your kind and generous comments and feedbacks, sincerely greatly appreciated! The Crew grew a big smile while reading it.
It is absolutely great to read about your satisfaction about our staff and your great experiences while staying with us. Here at Syok we put the comfort of our guests above everything to make your stay in Penang a memorable one.
Hoping you arrived safely to your next destination and that we will have you with us soon,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    53
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
24
91
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great location, great atmosphere, excellent staff support. I had a very comfortable stay here and met some very nice fellow travelers, all of which who also seemed to be enjoying their stay. I'd recommend this hostel to anyone planning on staying in Georgetown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear GZCNbob,

Thank you very much for taking the time to compliment our services during your stay with us, greatly appreciated. We all look forward to welcome you back in Penang and wish you in meantime a fantastic week ahead.

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great hostel and very nice! This hostel was only a week old when I stayed here. This hostel was in a great location with lots of restaurants near by and only a ten minute walk to the local buses. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms and washrooms were clean with AC. Breakfast was included in the common area with free wifi which worked good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Lindsey7755,

Thank you for taking the time and write us the kind review.
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here and that everything was at your disposal.

Don't hesitate to come back at any time !

Until then, wishing you a great day ahead and a safe trip to your next destination,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love this place. The staff is super friendly and helpfull. All rooms have a/c, good wifi, rooms are clean, beds soft and comfortable.
Bathrooms clean, very nice decorated and comes with hot shower.
Breakfast is incl. And there is free water, tee and coffee all Day. There is a nice lounge area with tv, dvd and games.
Syok has a very nice atmosphere and I can only advice You to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Noodlehair,

Thank you for writing us the kind review.
We are veyr glad you could enjoy all the facilities and amenities provided by our Hostel. Our goal is to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for letting us know we are on the right path. Please feel free to drop by anytime.

Until next time, wishing you a great day ahead and a safe trip to your next destination,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I cannot recommend this place enough!
The very lovely Kati & her staff are ever so helpful & welcoming, which I thought was just because I was on my own but everyone I spoke to felt the same.
The staff knew everybody's name, I wish I didn't have to leave!
The large living room-ensue common room upstairs is so comfortable & relaxing & they offer free tea/coffee, biscuits & kicks all day. You can also buy beers & sock drinks if you want.
There is free wifi throughout the whole building.
The rooms are spacious, clean as a whistle & have large lockers.
The bathrooms, like the rooms are very clean & the showers are powerful!

Great place. Loved it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Rory C,

Thank you so much for such a nice review.
We are glad to see that in one night only you had time to enjoy us so much. Next time try to stay more :).
Since Syok is one big happy family, of course we all know each other. We are happy to hear that our facilities and amenities made your stay so comfortable.

Until next time, wishing you a great day ahead and a safe trip to your next destination,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilshofen, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Everything was "syok", what meas cool.
The staff, the location, the facilities, the dorms, the lounge...
You can say it is a "5-star-hostel".

What I liked very much, were the drawings and paintings made of artists.
The hostel is an historical building which is now very stylish with an open minded
spirit.
In the lounge there is a blackboard where is written: "Before I die, I want to..."

It is a place, where you feel you are welcome.
Brigitte

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Brigitte M,

Thank you for the nice review on our hostel.
We are so happy to see our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Indeed we are very fond of arts and therefore the Hostel has an artistic touch with all the drawings from the staircase and washroom areas. Glad you liked all our facilites!

We hope you will join us again soon.

Until then, wishing you a great day ahead and a safe trip to your next destination,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

An absolute gem of a place..spotlesly clean with wonderful staff.
Nothing was too much trouble.for them. Spacious lounge upstsirs with free coffe and biscuits.plus tv and games.
Made you feel like one of the family. The dorms were big with lockers and enough showers and washbasins for all. Very central for the sights and transport.

In a classof its own compared to others i have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at Syok at Chulia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Owenlabertawe,

Thank you for the very kind review. We are so glad to see we are doing the right thing.
Indeed our family is growing bigger with every new guest every day.
So welcome to our Syok Family!
Cleanliness and the comfort of our guests are our main goals and we are happy we can achieve them and that they are appreciated.

Wishing you a great day ahead a safe trip to your next destination,

The Syok Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Syok at Chulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syok at Chulia

Address: 458 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Syok at Chulia 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syok at Chulia has a capacity of 66 persons including separate dorm for females. Rates are inclusive of tax and breakfast, free wifi. They are air-conditioned, come with personal secured lockers,personal sockets and personal reading lights, super single size bunk beds with spring mattresses and bathrooms with rain head hot showers and all bathroom amenities. Syok at Chulia provides a Lounge area where guests can enjoy complimentary coffee/tea all day, watch TV, enjoy the collection of DVD's, magazines, dart board, foosball table, board games, free WiFi. Located at the heart of the city Georgetown, UNESCO heritage area, 458 Chulia Street, 10200 Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. Syok at Chulia is located at the junction of Leith street and Chulia Street. There are a number of restaurants nearby. RIght on Penang street, which is just across Syok at Chulia, there are many shops selling cloths, souvenirs. Trishaws, taxis and busses are easy available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Syok at Chulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Syok At Chulia Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Syok at Chulia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.