We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Terraces Penang superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Terraces

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Terraces to your Saves list
Seven Terraces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16 Stewart Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“7 Terraces Penang superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and myself stayed three nights at 7 Terraces in fascinating Georgetown in July 2014. Our flight arrival and departure times were horrible, but the 7 Terraces staff were so accommodating in welcoming us and attending to us during our stay. The hotel is a true boutique hotel with every comfort and a stunning bathroom with rain shower. Location could not be better as we were in close walking distance to this world heritage town. Dined in first night and it was so good we dined in again. Service, food and ambience excellent. Breakfast in the open courtyard also excellent. This superbly renovated building mirrors the Chinese influence of Georgetown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    41
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
219
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After reading such rave reviews, I decided to book a night for a trip in June. We arrived in the early evening and was greeted by the manager himself and the staff. Check in was a breeze and the room was as beautiful as the pictures. The rain shower was great, the decor beautiful and so charming! We did not sample the food but had a good time taking snapshots in the stylish dining room. My husband was impressed! Definitely recommend for those interested in the authentic Baba Nyonya architecture.

Room Tip: Argus Lane suite is a double storey room. Great for couples but the straight up staircase might prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here, we had a evening meal and what a wonderful experience it was. It is pricey by Penang standards, but you can have a meal for two for the equivalent of UK£50. The service is superb, the cooking is excellent and the ambiance is wonderful. Anyone stay in George Town should have at least one meal here. You won't be disappointed, in fact you'll probably want to have a second and more. Fantastic place (do visit the loos!)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful few days in Georgetown where we stayed at the excellent Seven Terraces. Not sure how to eloquently describe this beautiful, boutigue, hotel in the limited 200 characters here but suffice it to say Seven Terraces provides some of the most interesting and beautiful accommodation we've stayed in during our time in Asia. The staff are fabulous and can't do enough to help you. We will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: The Argus Suites cost a little more but have a roof top terrace and cool little 'outdoor' ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is everything other reviewers claim. Its quiet charm, unique elegance and the quiet competence of its team are second to none. I could not recommend it more highly. Its restaurant is exceptional, not least in its client-orientation and the stylish dining-room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

At Seven Terraces, it was like going back in time.

In particular, I liked the high red doors.

Loved the toilet! Black & White 1" tiled floor, spacious, bright, airy with high ceiling & aromatic toiletries. High ceiling meant the rain shower was high up too.

Not only was the check in, fast & efficient but our room had already been 'cooled down' for us. We didn't have to wait for the AC to take effect.


Our welcome drink (hot tea) in a lovely tea set arrived shortly.

Other thoughtful gesture: they shut the windows in the toilet in the evening so that you can sleep in or else the morning sun will greet you early.

The Manager came round personally during breakfast to assist in planning your day.

Breakfast deserves a mention too. Although you choose breakfast from a menu, you may try the whole list if you can finish it all.

Along the street outside the hotels are shops where bicycles are available for hire.
Walk to the wharf for lovely sunrise & sunset.
Little India alongside Chinese Temples provide stark contrast.

If you are driving, "Waze" takes you to the front entrance but you'd have to get round the back to park your car. The staff happily guide you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7TManager, General Manager at Seven Terraces, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Travelfeet
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It means the world to us when guests write about their experience's at the Seven Terraces Hotel. I note you made mention of the high ceilings and in particular the rain shower, it is a popular feature and is over 12 ft high so the cascade of water is rather like a waterfall. The breakfast in the library lounge includes Malay, Indian , Chinese and Western items and I am delighted that you enjoyed the fact that you can eat your way through the menu.
I really hope we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future.
Regards
Ewan Taylor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great restoration of ruined Georgetown terraces. Room superb but in ours we needed to be able to climb quite steep stairs to mezzanine bedroom - worth the climb! Beautifully furnished with antique furniture and amazing attention to detail - a designers delight! Bed very comfortable, downstairs living area spacious and relaxing. Fantastic restaurant on site - dine here even if not staying. Breakfasts to suit taste - very nice indeed. Pool lovely and refreshing. Staff extremely helpful - easily organised a walking tour of Georgetown for us. Lovely little shop on site where we were able to purchase some quality mementos of the area.Staying in this hotel was definitely a highlight of our stay in Penang.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful but inspect when you get there to make sure it suits you physically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Address: 2-16 Stewart Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#1 Family Hotel in George Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.