We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pssst, don't tell anybody ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Terraces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Terraces to your Saves list
Seven Terraces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16 Stewart Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pssst, don't tell anybody ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Well, promise me you won't tell anyone else ... this is my secret tip for Penang. I always love to stay in the historic center of a city, so I choose this hotel, and did not go to Batu Ferringhi. And I like boutique hotels which usually give you the personal touch.

All my expectations were exceeded. Nice hotel, 18 suites only, nice woodwork, nice courtyard, spacious open loggias where you can hide reading or relaxing even when the rain is pouring, a library, a good bar with an outstanding bar keeper, and a nice antique shop in case you are looking for the next special present.

Nice breakfast - the best cappuccino and espresso ever! Wonderful restaurant, the Kebaya. Not for the purists, because it is Peranakan cuisine developped further and modernised - but so delicious.

I will be back soon ;-)

Room Tip: Choose the Argus Suite - that gives you a small private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    40
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
215
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I often use trip advisor but only to check on others opinions about the hotels I'm interested in staying at , however , the Seven Terraces Hotel changed my mind as I want others to experience the joy of this little boutique hotel.
The hotel is new and the airport taxi driver had not heard of it , however , the map that the hotel supplied me with when I had my booking confirmed , led us straight to the Hotel.
12 foot high antique doors swung open leading us into the entrance lobby , spanning over 3 shophouses, we were stunned, the antiques and craftsmanship are outstanding.
Ewan the manager came over to us full of vigour and led us to the reception desk, a very swift and professional check in procedure ! Armed with a hotel map , Ewan's very helpful "what to do with 3 days in Penang " printout and porters with our luggage we made our way past the pool lounge and up a spiral staircase connecting the floors. What a first impression!
The double storey Argus Suite no 1 was our home for 3 nights, it had a huge bathroom with great power shower, writing desk, mini bar fridge, safe, tea and coffee making facilities ( and milo !!! ) , comfy sofa and an antique Chinese day bed ! Upstairs the 4 poster bed had soft linen and comfy pillows, my other half asked for a hard pillow and 2 immediately were brought up. There is also a balcony that over looks the church.
This is not a swanky 6 star soulless , buffet serving , super wifi hotspot, all singing and dancing hotel, if thats what you want then look elsewhere . This is a chance to experience living in a wealthy Chinese house adorned with antiques and treasures with great food and a prime location to set about the Georgetown. Everything seems to be on the hotels doorstep.
Ewan , the GM , is a breath of fresh air, he is always at guests beck and call , he is there at breakfast to guide guests through their day and then at night to assist with any queries , he doesn't seem to stop! He has trained his young team to understand a boutique hotels guests every need .
Tea , coffee and a small treat in the pool lounge at 4 pm every day was a great way to meet other guests.
Thanks to Faizal , Prakaash and Yunn too for great service. Restaurant staff were top notch without being stuffy and the chef does a good job !

Will we be back,,,,hell yeah!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

7 Terraces made all the difference to our rain soaked stay in Penang. Attentive staff, charismatic GM, amazing food and drinks in the hotel restaurant and bar..all set in a charming and subtly sophiscated inn ebbing with old world decor with modern amenities. We can even say the best thing about Penang was 7 terraces itself..

Simply wonderful and a 7 star hotel in its own right.

Room Tip: Argus suite is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhengzhou, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in an Angus room costing 750RM per night.

The place took some finding, maybe 15 minutes walk from the ferry,no signs anywhere nearby, fortunately google maps came to the rescue. Target the St Georges Church and then behind on the right side of the Chinese building your there.

The place is a haven of both architecture and furnishings.

Downstairs reception is a within a large open room nearing an outdoor small swimming pool and adjacent is the outdoor breakfast area.

Opposite and across the courtyard is the restaurant which we can 100% recommend for a 4 course meal costing 116RM inc tax etc. It was an excellent service and food. However some stated the air conditioning system spoiled their evening as it did get cold in some areas of the large room. The menu was good and staff were excellent.

From the downstairs lobby etc you go upstairs by stairs or a lift is available. The rooms are split in 2 across the courtyard, the Stewart rooms (on the Stewart road) and Angus rooms, yes Angus road.

You enter the Angus into a large roofed room, all wooden flooring, that has at the end a bathroom with lovely high overhead shower. The living room has a safe, free coffees etc and wall mounted TV, furnishing are very nice but has this strange sparseness feeling.

Be careful but our room (No6) had quite steep stairs to the again bare 4 bedroomed poster bed- with a hanging rail for clothes. There is a toilet in the bedroom which has a very noisy doort if you want to keep the doors closed and free from mosquitos.

There is an outdoor balcony that you can see the church and overlooks the swimming pool. There is not much of anything else you can see as your not that high. However sitting outside at night is a plus.There is no TV in the bedroom. WIFI is available

I was surprised to be woken at 7-45am with school children shouting, after all the reports I had read about the Stewart rooms being noisy due to be overlooking the road, the school was outside the Angus rooms and children I had not read about before so the extra cost of paying for Angus was not as quiet as expected.

Breakfast food was OK - not a buffet - you get what you ask for - but rather limited choices

In the afternoon there is free tea and nice cakes in the same area where you can also enjoy the swimming pool.

The hotel staff are very polite and helpful. The hotel restaurant and lobby rooms etc are well decorated with beautiful furnishings -the place has I believe only been open for around 10 months.

I thought the cost was that we the public seem to be paying for the furnishings and not the quality of room that was missing.

However saying that, it is a boutique hotel so we knew what this was before we went there, it is nice and worthy of visiting, however I do believe it is over priced.

Penang itself, not a lot to do - perfect place as a stop over - 2 nights was long for us, but we are all different. If heritage and antiques etc is your thing then Seven Terraces is a perfect place for you, especially the 4 course meal

The Penang sea front has some nice malls to visit but not a lot else to see.

Room Tip: I thought the Angus rooms were meant to be quiet, the school noise spoilt this - I paid about an ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandvika, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing and unique place to stay. We were 28 guests all there for my husband's 60th birthday celebration ranging in age from 25-70 years. We travelled from Singapore, Johor, UK, South Africa and Norway to be there for the weekend. From the minute I started to organise this event six months ago the Management went the extra mile to make the event a success. Impressively every guest was welcomed on arrival by their name and nothing was too much trouble. Service is discreet and immediate (not always found in Asia). All the rooms are stunning. The food is to die for - be it breakfast, complimentary afternoon tea or restaurant. Our private dinner was just perfect!! Thank you so very much. We will return very soon!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gentaylorPenang, General Manager at Seven Terraces, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear dnsdahl
Thank you so much for your kind words of praise for the hotel, our food and the staff.
We thoroughly enjoyed your event held here and hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned home to the U.S. after three amazing weeks in Malaysia. While we covered the country from Cherating Beach to the Cameron Highlands,our thoughts rest comfortably back to the Seven Terraces and 6 Stewart Lane.
Karl and Chris have curated a staff that has translated their vision of what life in a gracious home would have been like in Penang's glory days. With always a kind word, the staff would anticipate my every move and knew before i did what it was that i needed. We were not only treated like Royatly, but more importantly like family members returning home after a day of exploring the back streets and lanes of Old Penang.
It brought back fond memories of Galle Fort to see familiar faces like Aruna & Podi, his eyes so excited to know that we had both seen the most wondrous of places, but to meet new faces like Maxime, (who knew that a Botique Property would have it's own resident Poet) Dinesh, Gyan, and of course Praakesh.
It is with the guidence of Praakesh in that stunning dining room, that we had a better understanding of Peranaken cuisine. Of all the great movies, one of my favorites is the Painted Veil. Sitting in the Kebaya restaurant with that beautifully haunting piano music playing in the backround, I feel as if we have stepped back in time as we celebrate our way through a Modern Nyonya multi-coures feast that will stay with me forever.
We want you to know how special Gerry felt on his Birthday when after he requested that we all have foot massages by the pool one afternoon, the entire staff came with a bottle champagne to wish him well on his special day.
We want to thank Yuun for her recommendation on Jonathan Yun on 88 Armenian St. When we asked where we might find some unique jewerly, she gave us Jonathan's atelier, and the pieces that we purchased we know will will be the most treasured presents under the Christmas tree.
We would also want to thank Clara not only for her insight on crusing, but aslo not to be afaid of spices in the kicthen. We spent a lazy afternoon with her in the Baba bar after a day of shopping, and she related to us how her mother-in-law told her concering cooking, smell the spice, if it is pleasing to you, then by all means, use it. We will think of Clara when we brave new recipes in our own kitchen.
As I continue to roam about 6 Stewart Lane in my mind, (those bathrooms are insane Karl!) and all the laughter we had up in the "Martini Loft" on Gerry's Birthday, we want to thank you both again for the hospitality and the joy you gave us in our most special stay at Seven Terraces. Please do let us know of future projects you have, as you have seen, we will travel to the ends of the earth to share your quest for beauty.

Room Tip: Choose a Stewart Lane suite and stay for as long as you can as you explore Georgetown in depth
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I want to first say that I have never been moved (positively or negatively) to write a review on Trip Advisor, but our wonderful stay at Seven Terraces moved me to do so. Had there been a rating of "six stars," I would have given this!

If the impeccable Peranukan reproductions in the architecture and furnishings don't impress you, the service, definitely will. Manager, Ewan, was extremely attentive to all guests, remembering personal preferences and making sure his team was responding adequately to every need and whim. The meal staff was very accommodating to food preferences, and our Sri Lankan bartender (who has worked with the owner for over 10 years!) even remembered our favorite wine choice! Also, you can always rely on Faisal at the front desk to make a delicious dinner recommendation, provide shopping advice, or simply have an umbrella ready to take out on a rainy day. We have been to other highly-rated boutique and large hotels/ and resorts around the world and this one definitely ranks at the the top.

There are really only two main hotels in town as far as we're concerned: The Eastern and Oriental - which is a large, colonial, sterile hotel on the water and the Seven Terraces which is a small, Peranukan, cozy, beautiful sanctuary, perfectly situated in the middle of Georgetown. Go to the E&O for high tea, but always come back at night to the Seven Terraces and you will truly enjoy your experience in Penang!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - Argus rooms front a school so if you plan to sleep late and don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Address: 2-16 Stewart Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#1 Family Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.