We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puts Aman and Four Seasons to shame” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Terraces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Seven Terraces to your Saves list
Seven Terraces
2-16 Stewart Lane, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Puts Aman and Four Seasons to shame”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I want to first say that I have never been moved (positively or negatively) to write a review on Trip Advisor, but our wonderful stay at Seven Terraces moved me to do so. Had there been a rating of "six stars," I would have given this!

If the impeccable Peranukan reproductions in the architecture and furnishings don't impress you, the service, definitely will. Manager, Ewan, was extremely attentive to all guests, remembering personal preferences and making sure his team was responding adequately to every need and whim. The meal staff was very accommodating to food preferences, and our Sri Lankan bartender (who has worked with the owner for over 10 years!) even remembered our favorite wine choice! Also, you can always rely on Faisal at the front desk to make a delicious dinner recommendation, provide shopping advice, or simply have an umbrella ready to take out on a rainy day. We have been to other highly-rated boutique and large hotels/ and resorts around the world and this one definitely ranks at the the top.

There are really only two main hotels in town as far as we're concerned: The Eastern and Oriental - which is a large, colonial, sterile hotel on the water and the Seven Terraces which is a small, Peranukan, cozy, beautiful sanctuary, perfectly situated in the middle of Georgetown. Go to the E&O for high tea, but always come back at night to the Seven Terraces and you will truly enjoy your experience in Penang!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - Argus rooms front a school so if you plan to sleep late and don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
157
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

love this place,staffs are all extremely friendly,too friendly and kind,creeping me out too at some point,they are everywhere,by the time you walking towards the hotel main door,the guy behind the door already there opening the door from far awaiting you.and there's always someone outside the room corridor waiting to be call,i won't be surprise if they are always outside your room all night long hahah..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Seven Terraces is a haven in the midst of Georgetown. Tucked down a lane, it is quiet and within minutes of where you want to be. The staff are simply delightful, nothing can be too much trouble. The hotel was created from seven shopfronts and is stylishly understated. Kebaya Restaurant deserves the praise it receives: a must eat at least one day of your stay. Opposite is a great coffee cafe (former Kafe Cine) and down the road is Tek Sen, a fantastic Chinese restaurant; To the left is Little India and to the right is Red Garden, a terrific hawker's market. The Argus suites are generous and we loved the huge bathroom. We did not check the Stewart Suites out but suspect they were equally wonderful. Great spot.

Room Tip: Argus Suites look over school and St George's Church; Stewart Suites look over houses and Stewar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner had the pleasure to stay for three nights at this wonderful gem.
The staff and especially the manager Ewan are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed every second.
The hotel is in a quiet side street of the old Georgtown. The rooms are really spaceous and decorated with great attention to detail in a straits chinese style.
I can fully recommend this hotel for a city trip or romantic get-away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A rare and idyllic pearl in the middle of bustling Georgetown!
We spent a weekend in Georgetown and found the Seven Terraces because of its excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.
Our first night, we spent at the Kebaya Restaurant which is inside the hotel but also open for non-hotel guests. They serve excellent and modern Nonya cuisine and we warmly recommend to eat there.
The rooms are on two floors and furnished and decorated with a lot of care and an eye for the detail.
The breakfast is very nice, although the choice is a bit limited.
The service is very attentive and friendly and we felt very welcome from the fist minute. It felt like home away from home.
As we only flew out of Georgetown in the evening, they offered us a late check-out and the possibility to use their pool and common areas for the whole day.

Highly recommended for a couple weekend with lots of culture already in the hotel and further on in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel was originally 7 individual units which were bought and then renovated into 1 large "building". The renovation is done very nicely with a number of old fashioned features such as the tiling and balustrade. For this alone it's worth the visit. The hotel position is inside the old town so there are a number of little cafes and other places of interest nearby as well as being able to see the old town streets and houses if you are into that sort of thing.

Getting to the hotel using Google maps was pretty easy but it stops you at the front of the building, to get to the carpark at the back you needs to go a bit further. Fortunately I got one of the staff to drive me around the back (Thanks for that!) if you're getting a taxi should be no issue finding it. When we arrived the bloke at the desk also gave us a map with a number of suggested walking trails around Penang (I was there for a meeting so I didn't try them)

I cannot speak for the other units but the one I was in was a 2 story with the beds on the bottom floor and the lounge room on top. I thought the rooms were great, well kept and there was enough room for the 4 of us (2 adults & 2 kids) and we hardly spent any time in the upstairs section. The highlight of the room is the bathroom which is huge and has a rainwater head on it which makes taking long showers a must.

During the night we dined at the restaurant which had a small menu of a Anglo-Asian mix food. Mostly this was pretty good but I found the lamb to be rather fatty considering the prices. In saying that, we were also given some extra food for nothing and the servings themselves we of a good size.

The sleep quality was no issue, I found it comfortable and quiet thorough out the night. The next morning breakfast was fantastic. Because the hotel is a boutique the breakfast is to order, we got down at around 7:30am and found we were the only ones there. We ordered a couple of big breakfast's with some fresh coffee as well as some fruit. The hotel is not halal so if you have a bacon thing you will do well here.

Overall we only had a short 1 night stay but I found the staff to be very helpful and did go out of their way to make us feel accommodated as well as interacting with the kids during breakfast.

The hotel is not cheap though (we racked up RM1000 for the room + 1 dinner), so if you're looking to get a high level of service but needing to pay the price to go along with it I would say 7 Terraces is a good spot, if your looking for bargain hotel with good service I wouldn't suggest this is the place.

Room Tip: Not alot for kids here but there is a small pool for them to kill some time with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

When you are in the heart of heritage Georgetown, you cannot avoid the noise, smoke, scent, crowd and bustle of a lively heritage city, yet Seven Terraces offers just the opposite, calm, quiet, charming and relaxingly cosy. And if you think Nonya heritage is only good food, Seven Terraces will take you back to the golden age of the Peranakans. First and foremost traders, what is better than to experience Peranakan living than in a row of luxuriously converted strait settlement shophouses where you can step out to see cylists in shorts, smell smoke from a Chinese temple and hear school children singing, Yet when you step inside, you are in an oppulent oasis, decorated with antiques and ornaments revealing the wonderfully rich and ornate refinements a wealthy Peranakan would have enjoyed a century back, The rooms are huge and indivually decorated (some even have antique day beds), service is discrete yet excellent and, somehow, the 4pm tea just adds to the assurance that your are being looked after, very well. A truely enjoyable place to get away from it all, even though you right in the heart of old Georgtown. Amazing.

Room Tip: The Argus apartments have beautiful balcony to look out from. And for a truely stylish approach to S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Address: 2-16 Stewart Lane, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Family Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.