We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel with Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Terraces

Save Saved
You added Seven Terraces to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Terraces
2-16 Stewart Lane, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel with Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

7 Terraces is a great and very unique experience, standing out among the up an coming heritage hotel scene in Penang. I liked the space - from the open courtyards to the huge rooms on Argus lane. It is luxurious but not in an overstated way. The staff are top knotch and the location at the Stewart lane/Pitt Street intersection is easy walking distance to al the major sites in the old town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Argus lanes rooms have a loft and balcony. Warning - the steps up to the bed can be a bit steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
130
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just returned from a weekend stay at Seven Terraces and found it very difficult to leave. Our loft room was absolutely gorgeous, filled with unique Peranakan antiques,furnishings and original architectural features. The staff were warm, friendly and attentive without being intrusive, and seemed to appear at just the right moment, delivering ice water to you by the pool, turning on the fans, opening doors, all with a gracious smile. The food in the restaurant, Kebaya, was delicious and plentiful. We chose to head out for other breakfast options, so can't comment there. Our suite overlooked the laneway, and this provided some very interesting views into life on the streets of Georgetown. The suites opposite, overlooking the pool, would probably be a quieter option for light sleepers, however we didn't find the distant noise of the occasional motorbike a problem. Loved the bathroom, with the shower rose directly over the middle of the room, and towels and robes were thick and fluffy. Beds and pillows were very comfy, and turndown service extended to opening and closing of the doors and shutters to allow for light/cooling. Manager Ewan was extremely helpful with all our needs,and the delightful MaeLee in the shop went above and beyond in assisting us with purchasing and wrapping goods.
I disagree with previous reviewers statements about limited bathroom amenities. My partner and I had plenty, and they were replenished daily.
I cannot speak highly enough of this gorgeous establishment, and wish I could have stayed much longer. It is an oasis of calm and tranquility in the middle of bustling Georgetown, doesn't have the stuffy feeling of some 5 star hotels, and the attention to detail and welcoming personal service, without trying too hard, makes it feel like you're staying with friends. I'll be recommending this place for many years to come. Do yourself a favour, you won't regret it for a second.

Room Tip: Ask for a single story if you have mobility issues, (they have an elevator to first floor) or hate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Seven Terraces is truly a unique hotel. The hotel is situated in a housing block that previously was completely derelict. A photo book in the reception area shows the original condition. It is amazing to see how the hotel turned out. I have the utmost respect for the fact that the owners decided to invest in the city by restoring this housing block. The photo’s of the hotel (both on tripadvisor and the website of the hotel) can by no means convey the unique atmosphere of the hotel. This is not the fault of any of the photographers but the atmosphere is truly unique and beyond the means of any photo. The hotel is a oasis of tranquility amidst the very busy historical town of Penang.
The Staff is so friendly and welcoming and the rooms are beautiful with all the antique objects. We loved the two-story Argus room with the beautiful rain shower. The food in the restaurant is great and the barman makes great cocktails. The wine list has some great “new world” wines at a reasonable price.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody who loves boutique-like, unique hotels. This is a truly magnificent place to be a guest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having been to Penang many times it had been a while since I had returned. Having read the early reviews upon opening and the pictures I decided to give it a try. From the moment I entered the beautiful entrance I knew I had made the right choice. The Argus Suite with 2 floors, beautiful shutters, and some period piece antiques gave me the feeling of actually being part of the Georgetowns Unesco status. Having separate and powerful a/c units on 2 floors also meant you could come back to a refreshing and cool space to relax after the hot streets outside in the daytime. The pool was beautiful and blended in well with the lower floor design with antique store, restaurant , and open courtyard. I look forward to my next trip to Penang and another enchanting stay at 7 Terraces.

Room Tip: Argus suites have balconies and historical view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I’m not one to throw around “Excellent” grades on Tripadvisor: up until today, only 1 out of 25+ of my hotel reviews to date has garnered such a grade. I thought long and hard about whether Seven Terraces deserved a similar grading, and have gone ahead and done so. The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms large and unorthodox, the staff team friendly and (generally) efficient without being obtrusive, the Kebaya restaurant excellent, the breakfast pancakes fluffy and with just the right hint of charcoal, and of course the location in the middle of gentrifying, gritty Georgetown is fascinating.

Nevertheless, there are several areas for improvement:

• The soundproofing in the Stewart Lane suites can be improved: it can be pretty noisy out back, even in the middle of the night if a motorcycle goes past, and will be an issue for light sleepers.

• Likewise, the prioritisation of aesthetics/authenticity over comfort/practicality means that the rooms are not fully lightproof. If you haven’t already been woken up by the street noise in the morning, you’ll be woken up by the light.

• On the second day we were there, the hotel had run out of fruit at breakfast! One would think that a hotel would know exactly how many guests there are, and provision accordingly, but no. In addition, the hotel has missed an opportunity to differentiate its breakfast offering and the whole Penang experience. We were half-expecting some unique local fruits such as ciku, mangosteen or rambutan etc, but instead had good but run-of-the-mill bananas, watermelon, etc.

• There’s no evening turndown service, a problem compounded by the small size of the bathroom amenities. Given that guests may well shower several times a day in the humid tropical heat, especially from walking around Georgetown – these should be checked on and replenished twice a day rather than just once. Once again there was a wasted opportunity to enhance the unique Peranakan flavour of the hotel: a couple of pieces of nyonya kueh (in some form of antproof cover) on traditional / mock-traditional nyonyaware would be an excellent treat for guests in future.

Note also that the rainforest showers are aesthetically delightful, but do pose logistical challenges in terms of the wet floor… woe betide your partner if he/she decides to use the loo whilst you’re having a shower.

We were part of a large gaggle of friends so managed to see a broad variety of rooms between us. I would say that the Argus suites are definitely worth the little bit extra: having a balcony, and not having to stumble down the stairs in the middle of the night to pop to the loo are both advantages. If you’re still intent on a Stewart Lane suite, then the single-storey ones do in fact have a better layout to the two-storey suites.

Thanks again to Yunn for the booking, to Sattar for the welcome, to Ewan for all the help and oversight, and to all the staff in the breakfast area, Bababar, Kebaya and the chamber staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel the moment we stepped through the huge doorway into the welcoming lobby. Marvel at the antiques, discover the food delights of the restaurant but mostly relax as this little haven from the noisy streets of Georgetown , will allow you.

Antiques and great food don't generally make a hotel stand out above other hotels but at Seven Terraces it is the STAFF that bring this well managed little gem to the top, they make this a destination hotel. It doesnt have the perfection of an Aman resort
nor the experience of a shangri-La but doesnt try to be either . It is rather an original , well renovated truley unique boutique hotel .

My suite overlooking the church was on two levels and had all the mod cons needed but also had an antique mirror and babir bench and blue porcelain . Huge bathroom with rain shower and cleverly hidden basin in a cabinet.

I had great in-room massage and my partner a foot massage in the tranquil pool lounge.

Special shout out to Ewen the GM and Yun at the reservations desk. You guys are a great team !



  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our two boys (8 and 10 years old) at the Stewart Suite. We fell in love with our room as soon as we went in not only because of its space but also the creativity involved in creating the space. Our room is huge with very high ceiling. The bath room is a long rectangular room behind 10 sets of wooden shutter windows that you can see from the street. It is separated from the living space with wooden doors. It has a rain show right in the middle of the bathroom. It is totally unusual but works beautifully. The kids' room is separated from ours by white cotton curtains and is in a lower elevation. Although it is not strictly a separate room, it feels sufficiently private. They have their own bathroom and rain shower as well.

The staff are most friendly and appropriate. What really strike me is that they all look very happy and look like they really enjoy doing what they do and being at where they are. Even time when we come back from outside, the door man opened the door for us and made us feel like we've just arrived home. They hotel is at the centre of Georgetown, which means that the heritage sites are just outside your doorsteps. For us with young children, it can't be more convenient. We can come back whenever the kids are tired, let them rest in the hotel for an hour or two before we drag them out again. We were even able to explore Little India at 7 o'clock in the evening which is when it became alive. We had dinner there and walked back leisurely, as it is that close by.

If you are interested in architecture, history or preservation, ask the hotel staff to show you the picture album of how the building looked like before the renovation. They did an unbelievable job!

The only draw back is that the room on the Stewart lane side could be a bit noisy because of the motor bikes. But we were told that they will change the windows to double glazing in order to cut off the noise. We can see that the management really wants to make improvement to make this boutique hotel as best as it could be. We love it!

Room Tip: Angus lane is a quieter lane than Stewart lane rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Address: 2-16 Stewart Lane, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Family Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.