We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moreish to say the least :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovelocks

Lovelocks
No.318, Chulia Street, 10200 Georgetown, Penang, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 459 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Moreish to say the least :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I love lovelocks! They do one staple, coconut icrcream, and they do it amazingly well. You can add as many toppings paying in groups of 3,5 or 7. You can be healthy and happy without even trying as the toppings are all fruit based or used sparingly... The best are the lychee balls, mixed fruit jellies and they basil seeds... Yum!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Good Try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

There is only one flavour of the ice-cream sold. The ice-cream flavour is coconut. The toppings are limited but the whole taste is very good. There are magazines and newspaper and free sky juice for customers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Refreshing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The only ice cream they sell here is coconut with a range of topping. There are 3 packages to choose from depending on the number of shops and the range of toppings. Being alone, I tried the smallest which included 4 scoops and chose coconut, palm and peach jelles as my toppings. The ice cream was delicious. I am amazed that this shop only sells the one flavour. The server said this was homemade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
“bright and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We walked by this place dozens of times and didn't know it was an ice cream shop until we went in to capture some free wifi. They need to lower the lighting levels a bit and put some signage up about what they sell! The product is fine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“YUMMY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A cool little haven on a busy street ......perfect for a sweet treat after the savoury delights of the nearby hawker stalls. Yummy coconut ice cream with great choices of toppings .....and my top tip to you, if you visit Lovelocks with a friend, get your own as you won't want to share :-)

Lovely man who knew his stuff and very friendly served us.

Nicki, UK

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovelocks also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Lovelocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovelocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.