We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and comfortable "heritage" guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cintra Heritage House

Save Saved
You added Cintra Heritage House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cintra Heritage House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   no: 1, 3, 5, 7 Lebuh Cintra, Georgetown, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 102 Georgetown B&B and Inns
lewiston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stylish and comfortable "heritage" guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I enjoyed a three-night stay in one of Cintra's standard rooms at the back of the guesthouse. Although there was little natural light, the room was spacious and furnished with lovely solid wood furniture. The room, the bathroom, and all the public area were very comfortable and clean. In the airy upstairs sitting room, there's a computer with free internet access.

Cintra's kitchen turns out some delicious food. I would encourage the guesthouse to always offer the "local breakfast"--nasi lemak--as one of the options for guests who have breakfast included in the price of their stay.

The staff did not provide much "tourist" information, but everyone was very friendly and I learned a lot about local issues from my conversations with them.

This is a thoroughly delightful place to stay with the ferry, shops, restaurants, art galleries, and so on within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
18
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at Cintra Heritage House for four nights during a visit to Penang in late December. I found out about this hotel from TripAdvisor, and though it is still pretty new, the reviews so far seemed to indicate that it's a good place to stay among many selections in Georgetown area.

We had six travelers. Initially I booked the room for only two travelers. When a third one was coming, we found out that the hotel did not have any more room available (given it's essentially a guest house/ B&B, they don't have that many rooms available in the first place). We were able to get an extra bed for the room, so three of us could stay there. The other three travelers who joined us very late before the trip ended up staying at a large hotel called Cititel nearby.

The location of the hotel is great as it is close to a major road called Lebuh Chulia w/ public buses passing through there. We used public buses and the CAT shuttle bus to travel around Georgetown and to some areas on the island, and KOMTAR bus station is within 10-15 minute walk from Cintra Heritage House. In the morning, there is a street market at nearby Lebuh Campbell that you can visit for authentic look on how the locals shop. At night, you can find many street food vendors within walking distance (at Lebuh Kimberley, Lebuh Chulia). Upper Penang Road where many of the western tourists go for nightlife (should you prefer that) is also within 15 minute walk.

Coming from Indonesia where we had experience with old Chinese 'Peranakan' style homes owned by our relatives, we could say that they had done great job restoring the building and converting it into a B&B. The architecture and decoration felt authentic, thought there were some quirky setups that may cause western visitors used to more modern lodging choices to be uncomfortable. The bathroom is quite small, and there is no clear separation between the shower area and the toilet area. We also stayed in a room that was facing the street, with wooden window and door that when opened literally would take you to the street. That might be a bit weird or uncomfortable for some people, though in our case it wasn't a problem since we only spent time in our room to rest and freshen up and spending most of our time out and about.

The room is equipped with air conditioner and also a ceiling fan. Much appreciated especially after long days out in the heat.

Breakfast was wonderful; you have a choice of either a traditional Chinese/Malaysian breakfast (we had rice porridge one day, and mee goreng on another) or western style breakfast (eggs cooked to order, toast, and fruits). The coffee was also great.

Staff was very courteous. One of my travel partners had some good chat w/ a staff member who was very friendly and helpful even though he didn't speak Malay and his English was so so.

Overall, I think it was great value for the money, and I would stay at Cintra Heritage House again if I were to visit Penang in the future. Just remember to book well in advance given the limited number of rooms available.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. You can do so online via Agoda, or by calling/emailing the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Cintra Heritage House is a reasonable walk from the ferry and bus station, making it an excellent location for exploring Georgetown. And, the essential buses to getting around Penang can be caught just around the corner on Lubah Chulia. Cintra has a very charming appearance making it very inviting. Someone has a good eye for design and has managed to display a terrific collection of antiques in the lobby and the adjoining cafe'. Imran, and the rest of the staff are very kind, helpful and attentive. WiFi is free of charge and works well throughout the entire hotel. The coffee served in the cafe' is deep, rich and excellent. It is worth pointing out that we were awakened in the wee hours of the morning by the call to prayer from the nearby mosque. Since a loudspeaker is used, we are guessing that it is heard for long distances making it unavoidable from most hotels in the area. The only real negative we found was a lack of attention to detail in the cleanliness of our room. A dirty glass from the previous guest was left in the bathroom from the day we arrived until we left. The chrome sink fixtures and walls around the sink were quite dirty and needed to be cleaned. Otherwise, the bedroom area was very clean, and the linens on the bed were lovely. Once you begin researching hotels in Georgetown, and then actually arrive in Penang, you will realize why this hotel and just a few of the others stand out as better than the rest. If you like Indian food, walk a few blocks up Lubah Chulia in the direction of the ferry to Restoran Kapitan for some of the best Indian food you will ever eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in Cintra Heritage House for 4 nights in November and would probably say this is the nicest hotel I stayed in in Malaysia during my 2 week visit.

Upon arriving, the hotel was fairly easy to find. It is in a great location for exploring the city on foot, in a street just off Chulia street (the main artery running through Georgetown). There are many good food options nearby, including a tiny restaurant on the same street frequented by locals and serving delicious chicken & rice. I had no problems with noise from the road, though I guess this was due to being fortunate enough to have been allocated a room at the back of the building with a courtyard window. There was daily moderate noise from a nearby mosque, though this was brief and didn't disturb me at all.

I stayed in a single room, which was a decent size with en suite attached. I love how the hotel has been restored in the traditional colonial style. The rooms are located on the top level around the central courtyard area, which too is beautiful, especially at night with the candles lighting the area. The air con in the room was excellent and quiet and the room was cleaned and the bed made each day.

The reception staff made me feel very welcome and went out of their way to greet me each time I returned to the hotel. I felt as though they genuinely cared how my day had been, which is rare in hotels these days. They also arranged my Thai visa which was appreciated, as I didn't have to waste time visiting the embassy in person. The only minor point to note was that if you want to leave before around 8am, you will need to find a member of staff to open the front door as it will still be locked and reception will be unattended. Not a problem though.

All in all, a fantastic place to stay in a great, vibrant city.

Room Tip: If possible request a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed one night in the family ensuite with 1 queen + 1 single bed. Room is equipped with a/c & fan. Bathroom is clean. Room is pretty spacious. However, the room we were in (room 201) faces the street. It was very noisy even at night with cars & motorcycles passing. There isn't glass windows to block out the noise, windows are made of wood panel. We can hear clearly the sounds of vehicles passing. The wooden window may block the light but definitely not the noise. Suggest the property owner do something to block the noise. I find the room rates are over priced. There are other better accommodation available. The Internet too keeps disconnecting and we were unable to re-connect it back. Nevertheless, the location is pretty good to explore the area on foot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights when we visited Penang in December 2012.

I'm putting the downside first because there is currently only one review here even mentioning it: The rooms do not have glass windows but only wooden shades separating them from the outside. While this might not present a problem for backwards facing rooms (again, there is only one review on Trip Advisor mentioning noise), it is a disaster for rooms facing towards the road. Imagine motorcycles and trucks driving directly by your bed, honking from very early morning till late - It is virtually impossible to get a good nights sleep without decent ear plugs.

This was a major problem for us. The earplugs we had brought were too large for my girlfriend's ears and she could barely sleep for three nights. We tried to change rooms but unfortunately the place was fully booked. The noise level is the reason we give only two points. If you can live with this or want to try a room not facing the road, you might be quite satisfied with this hotel.

The hotel is located in Lebuh Cintra in the middle of Georgetown and it's very easy to walk the city from there. Plenty of restaurants are nearby and two supermarkets within 5 minutes walk. A laundry service is just around the corner. ATMs are somewhat far so stock up on Cash at the Airport or expect a 15-20 minutes walk.

Staff was friendly, efficient and always ready to help with every question we had.

Rooms were air-conditioned, reasonably spacious with large bed, not too hard mattress. Water pressure in the shower was way better than what you would expect from most mid-range places in South East Asia, just the temperature was somewhat random on one day. There was no TV in the room.

Room Tip: By all means, insist on a room not facing towards the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Cintra and it was very nice, you have a lovely court inside where you take your breakfast.
There is no TV in the room but we weren't in Penang for the TV....
Staff very helpfull, very good location also.
Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cintra Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cintra Heritage House

Address: no: 1, 3, 5, 7 Lebuh Cintra, Georgetown, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cintra Heritage House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CINTRA HERITAGE HOUSE- The building are shop houses featuring the Southern Chinese Eclectic style and which was built around 1840 -1900’s and once served as a Hair Dressing Saloon for the Japanese Officers and local administrators of Penang during the Post period from 1940’s – 1960's. Building style features Chinese influences on the carved Timber Doors, Air vents, Air wells, Gable end. European and Indian influence on the Louvered shutters, U or V –shaped terracotta tiles. The Cintra Heritage House occupies 4 link-shop houses that have been beautifully restored by master craftsmen mostly done by hand to what it looks like as of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Cintra Heritage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cintra Heritage House Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cintra Heritage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.