We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully exciting and fun experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China House

China House
153-155 Lebuh Pantai, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 4-263 7299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 511 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Asian, Asian fusion, Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightfully exciting and fun experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The interiors of this unassuming cafe is fabulously exciting to explore - it seems to go on & on. The key attraction is definitely the cake buffet table - a long table laid out with a wonderfully varied selection of cakes & pastries & homemade ice-cream. There are multiple rooms and spaces to sit and enjoy a long & lazy afternoon with friends. There's a room with wines & whisky bottles adorning one wall (can be ordered) like a quaint library/den, then there's suddenly an open courtyard with fun illustrations and nyonya-drawings, a pond, and at the back there's a bar and meeting room. A fabulous example of how one can preserve and enhance an old peranakan building instead of building a skyscraper. Definitely a must visit when one is in Penang! As for food-wise, we only had cakes & ice-cream, they were all right, nothing particularly spectacular. Service - it was packed out the afternoon we went but service was still friendly and earnest although a bit haphazard.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    195
    77
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“journey to the past with present and future on the way.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

-when entering the restaurant....it just like a normal cake shop down the street....BUT...if u were to walk from one section thru another.....it is like a journey to the past with food and beverage... 3 different section with different theme.....(my personal favourite is the pond).

-Cakes......are AWESOME.....(try Tiramisu cake...2 thumbs up)

-Ice Cream....all are good...but we just tried 3 different ice cream which is strawberry,condensed milk and margarita....(strawberry ice cream is better than haagen dasz..)

-Beverage...I'm a coffee fan....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A place for tea time and cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went there after the heritage trail. The place was converted from one of the old peranakan houses in the preserved world heritage area.
The selection of cakes is awesome, a thumb up for the salted caramel chocolate brownie. We ordered pineapple + lime juice with mint, it's the best drink I had ever!
I will definitely go back there again on my next trip as I want to explore the historical area again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“choices are varied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

i went with my hubby and my friends on several occasions. i tried the fine dining area with my hubby, it was fantastic at night and the menu was good. food and wine were good. i went to the coffeeshop alone and with friends - on all occasions, it was full and service was a bit slow. one time, we waited for coffee for a good 30 minutes, we already finished the cakes! don't go at night as staff really look tired and some of them can be "grumpy" already. for smokers, it is best to be in the open spaces, the only disadvantage is when it rains. their wine room is nice and cozy. i went to the bar on several occasions with different sets of friends as well. it can be crowded when there are shows. their mexican dishes are decent. i wish the piano will be played for the place to have a different feel to it. but the bar's second floor is too crowded with chairs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“My favourite place in Penang.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

China house has an extremely unique design. The ambiance changes as you go from one room to another. On Friday & Saturday nights there's live music at the bar. They have a wide selection of wine & the sommelier is always friendly and helpful. Food is good & the cakes are delicious. The staff are often busy but some are extremely friendly as you get to know them.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.