We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in Penang.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China House Restaurant

China House Restaurant
153-155 Lebuh Pantai | Georgetown, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 4-263 7299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 413 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Alternate Name BTB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“My favourite place in Penang.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

China house has an extremely unique design. The ambiance changes as you go from one room to another. On Friday & Saturday nights there's live music at the bar. They have a wide selection of wine & the sommelier is always friendly and helpful. Food is good & the cakes are delicious. The staff are often busy but some are extremely friendly as you get to know them.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    76
    111
    42
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“cakes cakes cakes !!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is cake heaven . Set in a quirky restaurant this dining experience is fantastic. Very confusing to distinguish who is waiting staff and who is a guest though as no staff are in uniform or have name badge .
A must for cake and tea.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great food, but the real focus is a huge selection of delicious desserts. We ordered just apps so we could share a bunch of desserts. Then head back to the back room bar and listen to love music while you enjoy a cocktail. Great night out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good for gatherings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've finally gone to China House after hearing so many reviews from the others.

We didn't have any meal there, as recommended by cousins that the meal wasn't fantastic. However, coffee and desserts are nice. And we did order, yes, the coffee was good. As for the desserts, I think they can be better, it's just average (at least the one we ordered).

It's nice place to hang out. There are a lot of tables and seats, even so, it's still full house! You can draw some art, play board games, or even take a look at the art gallery at 2nd level.

It's a bit pricey, but it's a really nice place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had two slices of cakes. One cake costs around rm15 and we didn't expect the portion was big. If you are dinning alone, one slice of cake could be enough for you. The milkshake was yummy. Other than that, u could actually draw something with the provided paper using different colours of crayons. Definitely will come back again for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House Restaurant also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 

Been to China House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.