We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for gatherings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China House

China House
153-155 Lebuh Pantai, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 4-263 7299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 459 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for gatherings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've finally gone to China House after hearing so many reviews from the others.

We didn't have any meal there, as recommended by cousins that the meal wasn't fantastic. However, coffee and desserts are nice. And we did order, yes, the coffee was good. As for the desserts, I think they can be better, it's just average (at least the one we ordered).

It's nice place to hang out. There are a lot of tables and seats, even so, it's still full house! You can draw some art, play board games, or even take a look at the art gallery at 2nd level.

It's a bit pricey, but it's a really nice place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    165
    67
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had two slices of cakes. One cake costs around rm15 and we didn't expect the portion was big. If you are dinning alone, one slice of cake could be enough for you. The milkshake was yummy. Other than that, u could actually draw something with the provided paper using different colours of crayons. Definitely will come back again for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a heavenly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

i was there to try their cakes/ coffee after hearing from my friend how good it was. on the way to back of the cafe, you can see lots of cakes display. Heavenly!

we did order 2-3 slices of cakes. and one of my friend ask the staff is the cake contain any walnut in it. the staff confirmed no nuts in it.

everything its good and delicious till my friend bite some Walnut in it. Well, we quickly ask the girl manager for explanation and thank god my friend allergy did not occur. If it occur on the spot, my friend could die and cannot breathe.

we accept the manager apologise and she replace us with cookies cheese cake.

if you have some spare time, walk to the back of the cafe and there's the outdoor. Beware of mosquito, bring your spray if u have one. We brought the Taboo game from the cafe to the back. It amazing place to hangout.

something to enhance the cafe: please don't encourage smoker smoke inside the air-con room. ask them go outdoor. it's disgusting to see such view while the cakes/coffee is superb.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very cool; unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A series of shophouses linked together very cleverly to form a number of different areas, including a bar, cafe, private restaurant, comedy night/jazz night room. Really interesting place where there is always something happening. Wonderful cakes for tea and the best icecream anywhere: salted caramel. Worth a trip to Penang for that alone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“China House..Finally”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I first heard of this place a little more than a year ago but I was housebound due to knee injuries. So I finally made it to China House on Friday evening. It still has the "old house" feel and there's an informal feel as my friend and I sat on a long bench. The staff was ever so efficient in clearing the table when we're done with dinner although I must say that I think they are short-staffed. When we got there, there was a bit of wait before we know where we were suppose to go. The staff sitting at the cashier's desk didn't even look up at us and everyone seemed to have a "please wait" look on the face. The chicken shnitzel I ordered was somewhat dry. The carrot cake was allright.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.