We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience and cakes dont make up for the poor service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China House

China House
153-155 Lebuh Pantai, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 4-263 7299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 460 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Pontorson, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ambience and cakes dont make up for the poor service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Unfortunately no matter how nice the cakes are and pretty the place is, nothing is more disappointing then walking into a classy looking joint and not being treated with class. I went with a couple of gal pals one night just looking for a place to have a drink and a chat, and it took us walking several times back and forth along the narrow walkway without a single person including the expat co-owner even smiling or offering to assist. In the end we had to find ourselves a table, waiting for a group to leave near the door, like being in a coffee shop. It took ages for someone to pay attention, take our order and then another half an hour to come back with our drinks when we were seated right next to the bar. And even then, the waiters looked like they were doing their jobs bedgrudgingly. There are plenty of new little cafes springing up around Penang which make you feel much more welcome and make just as delicious treats. Otherwise, go for the real Penang experience and go to a coffeeshop instead!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    169
    67
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“two in one!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The China House restaurant is one half of it and the china house cafe so don't get confused about the different reviews, they are the same place!!
We went to the restaurant and were very pleased. Food and service was excellent and the other reviewers are right about the cakes Um Um!!
Difficult to find so get a cheap taxi. The China House will arrange a return

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm going to echo most of the other reviews but it is the truth, in my opinion at least. The cakes in this place are delicious. I had a wonderfully moist and fragrant orange semolina cake. You also get great atmosphere here too. But the service can be a little hit and miss. They're very busy and sometimes you feel like they just want to get it all over and done with.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dessert Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Breakfast,lunch or dinner this place does all of them well,but lunch is the time to go and eat after a morning sightseeing in George Town. Leave room for a dessert as they are superb!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Funky cafe with great dessert selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

China House is a great funky cafe/restaurant with a vast selection of cakes. The cafe is very popular and with good reason. The cakes served were delicious, and the atmosphere of the cafe was very chilled. On the night that we visited, there was even an open mic night.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.