We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous and Unique! Must not miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China House

China House
153-155 Lebuh Pantai, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 4-263 7299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 464 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Asian, Asian fusion, Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Marvelous and Unique! Must not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is definitely something new. China House has a unique concept and you'll be able to have different experience sitting at different places in the restaurant. The place is sectioned to many different areas but all in all connected. You can opt for the western refined dining, an outdoor setting near the fountain, in a bar or even along the hallway with cupboards of books. Peculiar? You'll have to experience it to know it. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    195
    77
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Great cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

From the outside, the China House looks a bit horrible - the signage is more redolent of a mid-range realtor than a restaurant - and when we arrived at the back entrance we thought it was shut, but a neighbour gestured for us to go in. The interior is lovely - a lot of different, interconnected spaces including a walled garden - and stretches across the entire width of a block.

We had lunch and wished we could have stayed for more. The cake in particular is a highlight - as well as a list longer than your arm of home made ice creams there's a wonderful sticky ginger pudding, a great passionfruit cheesecake and many others that we wished we'd had space to try.

It also looks like an interesting place to spend the evening - plenty of concerts and art showings are scheduled (although none on the days we were in Penang, alas)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tiramisu and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After many recommendations we tried China House. It was pretty good though our coffee did not arrive with the cake. The place is buzzing but the art was very disappointing. Worth a trip but you may need to be patient if they are busy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Cool and Chic Bar at Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our Good friends from Penang treated us for dinner in this fusion resto-bar. It has a very simple facade but upon entering, a nice and artsy interior. What strikes me most that it is a two-in-one restaurant and you can actually order from both I was told. We stayed at the bar side with a live band. The crowd was a mixed of local and expats. Be sure to get the private room if you want to enjoy a smoke-free environment.

Food was western and somewhat mexican. The food was delicious and service was impecable. The waiters were very professional and is very fast! As a tourist, this restaurant gave a very nice impression on me! :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great desserts and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

So glad when we found China House on our first super hot day walking around Penang. The Condensed Milk ice cream was something else! Man it was so good I came back that night for something else there and the next day too for dessert. Great space, service is friendly enough. Obviously one of the driving force venues of the arty movement in penang. They need more of them.. But check this place out!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.