We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noordin Mews

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Noordin Mews to your Saves list
Noordin Mews
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 147 George Town B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“The perfect oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This beautiful hotel with warm fantastic staff is a gem to behold. I had accidentally booked the "Family" room (two poster queen size beds!) so was happily surprised when I entered to see this beautiful huge room in classy peranakan styled settings. Everything was flawless, from the huge rooms, to the fantastic service provided by the super warm and friend staff (I love Bhaby!) and a perfect turqouise lap pool to cool down at the end of exploring the area. It was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had! From the warm and thoughtful people who greet you the moment you walk into the door (they serve you refreshing cold water and towel each time you come in all hot and bothered) to the fantastically clean and beautiful rooms, quiet serenity that makes all guests feel immediately calm as they lounge by the pool. Even the few kids that were there during my stay seem to have adopted this calm and were playing happily and quietly by the pool.
It was also conveniently located in Georgetown where you are able to walk to all the famous food places. Although shopping and food is not right smack at the door step, but there are a few choice treasures like The Nyonya restaurant (just down the street) that offers good Peranakan cuisine with some culture thrown in.

We stayed for 4 days and each day we feel blessed that we made the righht choice in choosing this perfect little oasis.

Room Tip: The large suites are perfect for a family of 4 (or friends) with plenty of room to spare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    134
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
188
275
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel. We spent 3 nights there and had such a great time. The hotel is modern but has a really old, colonial, boutique feel to it. It is all the little touches we loved.... The welcome pack, toiletries, tea on arrival as we arrived v late, cold water throughout the day, bed turn down service, the pool. The staff are amazing, the breakfast delicious. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Its kind of magical returning to this hotel at the end of a day out in Georgetown. On arrival, The street entrance makes you think - Hang on!! But then you enter and wow!! My taxi driver also told me it was a bad hotel - but I had read the reviews - and rightly, paid no attention to his negative comments.
Things you need to know: Wifi is not great in rooms. But great in the pool lounges close to the entrance. I did find spot in my room that worked here or there, but generally expect to head outside. See it as a way to meet fellow travellers :)
Brekky is sufficient. Try the Asian Options. You can have scrambled eggs at home.
No fridge or safe in rooms. But convenience store at end of street and 7/11 just around corner.
Free city circle bus a 3 minute walk away. Komtar tower (60th floor for views) 5 mins away. 1st Avenue shopping mall even closer, and a great landmark to find your way home.
Staff friendly and helpful with information. Make sure you ask if you need to.
Little touches like cold water brought to my room when I arrived back from a 'hot' day out - made me feel special. And same when you are sitting by the pool.
I loved this place!! Will go back.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms are good. If you do not want to be near pool, try room A or But apart from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Noordin Mews is perfect for a short stay in Penang. We stayed 2 nights and it ticked every box and more. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and comfortable. As our taxi pulled up we were greeted at the door, as we checked in we were given plenty of helpful info and a map of Georgetown, whenever we returned from the hustle and heat of the city we were greeted with a glass of water. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, there's free wifi, the breakfast is good and the pool and patio area is a real plus when you need to relax after bearing the heat of the city viewing the sites. We stayed in 4 different hotels in a 2 week visit to Malaysia and ringgit for ringgit Noordin Mews was the best

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Travelled solo and stayed in Noordin Mews for a night. Had a pleasant stay there and enjoyed every minute of it. Quiet and cosy atmosphere...and staffs are ever helpful and cheerful. Plus points - it has a lap pool, chairs along the corridor and common areas for guests to chill out / read a book.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back end are probably less noisy, recommended for light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Noordin Mews was the perfect place to stay in Georgetown, Penang. Once you set foot through the doors, you leave the bustle of the city behind and are met with a lush tropical setting where you can unwind.

The service was outstanding. The staff were most attentive and made sure that all the guests were well looked after. Whether we were swimming in the pool or checking emails in the patio, they always brought us a refreshing beverage without us even asking.

Breakfast was delicious and they had everything from French toast and Muesli, to Asian options which were changed daily.

The room was bright, spacious, and thoughtfully decorated with retro posters and photographs. It had everything you would need for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Chona and her team run a wonderful establishment and I highly recommend them for your holiday in Georgetown, Penang. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Noordin Mews has left us captivated right from the first time. We had the chaotic Penang traffic and then suddenly everything just drops as soon as we step into the hotel.Chora and her team were very helpful, accommodating and cheerful. It really made us feel very special till the day we left. We actually missing the place already as we are writing this review now. Coming from a Penangite this should carry lots of weight and is well comparable to the other bigger hotels in the island.
The lobby was beautifully decorated, the courtyard was very relaxing and the room was just nice. If you are out of water, there is a filtered water cooler downstairs next to the kitchen to fill up with cold or hot water for your convenience. The swimming pool was so inviting and it was dreadful for us for not remembering to bring our swimmers.
With the Nyonya theme of the place, it fitted us well as because we were taking some pictures.
The room was very nice and comfortable. It was so cosy and soon enough we fell asleep with the encouragement of the rain. It was really nice and thoughtful of the staff to come in before dinner to make up the room and turn on the insect repellent so that we did not bitten by mosquitoes and closed the window outside for more privacy.
I think the only challenge they have is their limited parking. Reason being they are right in the middle of town where are lots of traders and home to many as well. But having to enter a sanctuary were everything just calms down and with the company of the staff, parking will just have to sort themselves out.
I am definitely recommending this to everyone.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms away from the poolside. We had some over excited guests in the pool so those who ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Noordin Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordin Mews

Address: 53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noordin Mews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noordin Mews is a private boutique hotel in the historical Georgetown Penang with the added advantage of a lovely swimming pool. The hotel located just one street away from good shopping (Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue) and Penang Bus Terminal (Komtar). We are just minutes walk away to all the heritage attractions of historical Georgetown and the various eclectic dining options that Penang is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Noordin Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordin Mews Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noordin Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.