We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Precious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noordin Mews

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Noordin Mews to your Saves list
Noordin Mews
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Post New Year Retreat…
Ranked #3 of 106 George Town B&B and Inns
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Precious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent a week at Noordin Mews, the room is very clean, nice pool, beautiful decoration, nice breakfast but too bad this holiday turned out to be an unplanned trip as my father fell sick, admitted to hospital on the second day in Penang and passed away.

Noordin Mews has become our home where we came back after hospital visit with all the pain and sadness and Ms. Chona, Baby and all the staffs always assist, support and help us, they never say no to anything that we asked during those difficult times.

We do not know too many peoples in Penang, when the blood bank needed blood donors, I asked the manager Ms. Chona if she knows someone who usually donate blood and surprisingly all staffs came up and willing to donate their blood, they have a kind and helpful hearts which we hardly found in this world right now.

We will never forget Noordin Mews, it is a beautiful place and honestly, what makes this place even more precious is because each and every single person who work there. No words can express our feelings but thank you sincerely, sure we will come back and see you all again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    108
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
158
228
32
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From you step in the front door you feel the warm welcome and the atmosphere of the place. Old shophouse lovely refurbished in stylish retro style. It enhances the colonial feeling Georgetown will give you. Rooms are spacious and clean with some old pictures and items that make it look like it's more than just a hotel room. Hotel have a pool and rooms surrounding it in 2 levels. There is some couches and chairs to rewind in after exploring Penang and a small restaurant for breakfast by the pool.

Breakfast is given by that you choose from different options given to you rather than a buffet. A solution I rather like as buffets always make me overeat. There is always an asian breakfast option each day. When we were there it was Dim Sum & Pau, Phanang Curry and last day my favourite Nasi Lemak. All very delicious.

Baby, Chona and the rest of the staff (sorry can't remember the rest of the names :) very friendly and will help you with almost everything, if not everything. Even went out of their way to help us with finding some shoes my girlfriend was looking for.

Location of hotel is also good. We were wondering if it was a bit out of the way, but actually we found it in walking distance to everything in the centre of Georgetown. Walking is a good way of getting the feel of the city And if you'd prefer not to walk there is possibility for free bus shuttle from nearby Komtar or even grab a taxi.

Room Tip: Think all rooms will be good, but we asked for a room on 1.lvl as not to have the pool right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We arrived at Noordin Mews in the afternoon, having driven several hours from Ipoh. We hadn't arranged parking prior to our stay but were surprised to find that the property had several bays right in front. The room we booked was located on the first floor at the back of the property and was very spacious for two people, with one toilet and a large shower. The room was exceptionally clean and well kept. Noordin Mews provides free wifi; however, we were unable to get reception in our room, and resorted to accessing the wifi downstairs next to the pool. The breakfast provided was simple. Neither of us are particularly large eaters, but we did find the amount provided a tad small. Beverages and snacks can be ordered at most hours from the cafe. The white coffee was great (i.e. strong and creamy). The pool was beautiful and kept at a comfortable temperature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We (3 adults + 1 kid + 2 hairy kids) had a pleasant stay during Chinese New Year. Noordin Mews is a very comfortable & relaxing hotel with Nyonya decoration. We were arranged to stay at ground floor as I brought my 2 dogs along. There's an small area just in front of our room for my dogs to relieve. This hotel comes with a big room - 1 double bed & 1 sofa bed, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, free usage of their laptop, friendly staffs and you may refill drinking water at all time. It also close to the shopping centre like "1st Avenue" which linked to "Prangin Mall". Really happy to stay here as it's not easy to find a dog friendly hotel in Malaysia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Need a quiet comfortable place to stay in Penang? Well Noodin Mews is the place.
It's not in the thick of things of George Town but only a ten minute walk away. It's actually a plus being on a quiet street away from the bustle of packer accommodations in town.
16 rooms on two levels around a comfortable lounging space and a pool, which comes in handy after a day out touring.
The staff is very attentive and friendly. They'll even bring you a cold glass of water when you return from a warm day of sightseeing.
Rooms are good sized with comfortable beds, some period furniture, and modern bathrooms.
There's a laundry place right across the street with same day service and hawker food stalls a half block away. There's even a modern shopping mall next to the Trader's Hotel a block away.
On top of all this, it's gay and straight friendly.
The Perfect place to stay in Penang and a reasonable price to boot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillan, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel beautifully decorated in Asian art deco style and very authentic. The rooms are big, comfortable, and a little bit funky. Staffs are really friendly and give great tips on where to eat and what to see. Breakfasts were good, and the public spaces were great for lounging.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just 15mins taxi from the Airport and near the centre of Georgetown, we had an excellent 1 night stay. It is small, unique, comfortable and friendly. It is affordable luxury and a fantastic alternative to the larger/chain hotels.
Positives:
Beautiful, boutique, unique mews room with King + single bed. Immaculately clean. Great value for 3 persons travelling together.
Amazing open air courtyard with table, chairs, sofas to sit and relax with a drink around the pool. Warn and comfortable evening lighting that all adds to the ambience for a stress free stay.
Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. arranged airport pickup which was hassle free.
Light meals and snacks available which tasted great. The spag bol was a particular hit.


Negatives:
The pool was a bit scummy, although they did look like they were about to start cleaning it as we were leaving.
The breakfast was lovely but a bit limited choice. Toast, fruit, juices, eggs of any kind and an Asian choice and choice of hot drinks. We did feel a little awkward asking for extra juice and toast but it was no problem. To be fair we are used to the large chain hotels mega buffet breakfast selections so it may be a bit unfair to mark them down on this. As long as you are prepared for a modest breakfast there will be no surprise.

It is just off Jalan Magazine which leads to the main Jalan Penang. There is a large shopping mall less than 5 mins walk on Jalan Magazine. There are pavements along these 2 main roads to walk safely but crossing these roads can be quite challenging. especially with a child's stroller. the traffic is busy and frantic.
We walked from one end of the town to the other, up the length of Jalan Penang and it took around 25mins. You can then branch off on to the heritage trails which take you past the historic landmarks and history of the town. A lovely place to spend a couple of days. Make sure to stop at the many food vendors and food courts along the side of the streets to try some of the local delights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Noordin Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordin Mews

Address: 53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noordin Mews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noordin Mews is a private boutique hotel in the historical Georgetown Penang with the added advantage of a lovely swimming pool. The hotel located just one street away from good shopping (Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue) and Penang Bus Terminal (Komtar). We are just minutes walk away to all the heritage attractions of historical Georgetown and the various eclectic dining options that Penang is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Noordin Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordin Mews Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noordin Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.