We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Noordin Mews

Save Saved
You added Noordin Mews to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Noordin Mews
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Lebuh Noordin, Georgetown, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 99 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just 15mins taxi from the Airport and near the centre of Georgetown, we had an excellent 1 night stay. It is small, unique, comfortable and friendly. It is affordable luxury and a fantastic alternative to the larger/chain hotels.
Positives:
Beautiful, boutique, unique mews room with King + single bed. Immaculately clean. Great value for 3 persons travelling together.
Amazing open air courtyard with table, chairs, sofas to sit and relax with a drink around the pool. Warn and comfortable evening lighting that all adds to the ambience for a stress free stay.
Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. arranged airport pickup which was hassle free.
Light meals and snacks available which tasted great. The spag bol was a particular hit.


Negatives:
The pool was a bit scummy, although they did look like they were about to start cleaning it as we were leaving.
The breakfast was lovely but a bit limited choice. Toast, fruit, juices, eggs of any kind and an Asian choice and choice of hot drinks. We did feel a little awkward asking for extra juice and toast but it was no problem. To be fair we are used to the large chain hotels mega buffet breakfast selections so it may be a bit unfair to mark them down on this. As long as you are prepared for a modest breakfast there will be no surprise.

It is just off Jalan Magazine which leads to the main Jalan Penang. There is a large shopping mall less than 5 mins walk on Jalan Magazine. There are pavements along these 2 main roads to walk safely but crossing these roads can be quite challenging. especially with a child's stroller. the traffic is busy and frantic.
We walked from one end of the town to the other, up the length of Jalan Penang and it took around 25mins. You can then branch off on to the heritage trails which take you past the historic landmarks and history of the town. A lovely place to spend a couple of days. Make sure to stop at the many food vendors and food courts along the side of the streets to try some of the local delights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    88
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
113
187
25
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a great time last weekend staying at Noordin Mews. As we are from KL, we wanted to eat all the food Penang has to offer and we figured this time we'd stay in the city rather than at the beach (where traffic is horrendous!). We made a good choice by choosing Noordin (wanted to opt for Muntri but it doesn't have a pool - we'd like for our son to have a good time too) and we'd like to thank Baby for being such a good host and recommending us the awesome Nasi Padang restaurant nearby!

We were given room B on the ground floor and loved everything about it. Didn't have chairs outside our room (where one can smoke/read book/watch the world go by), unlike room C, D & E, but that wasn't an issue because there are many to choose from at the poolside. Like one reviewer commented, the door and hinges are a bit noisy but that's what makes Noordin Mews special; even after all the extensive renovation, the place still has its heritage charm.

We skipped breakfast on the first day (went for roti canai on Transfer Road) but had breakfast the day after and were given the option of juice/fresh fruits platter with either oats or eggs with toast or pancakes with maple syrup and tea/coffee/milk. They also have local flavours to choose from (1st day was Apom Balik and 2nd day was fried Loh Bak) and so I'd have to say for RM250/night, the breakfast is quite good! We have paid for rooms that cost 3 or 4 times that and their breakfast is even crappier! Love their plates, cutleries and breakfast area too as they add more charm to the already beautiful place.

Will definitely come back when we're in Penang! Kudos to all the happy bubbly friendly staff who made our stay an enjoyable and fun one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very authentic heritage environment with great service. It can be easily listed among main sight seeings in Penang and Georgetown. Service was great and price very competitive. Don't compare it with the rest of the street. It is absolutely outstanding and let us dive into old colonial Asia. It si also good for staying with kids.
Baby was great host. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was love at first sight with this hotel… the photos had us totally hooked and arriving in person only made us fall further. It truly is a handsome renovation, full of charm and bohemian appeal. The staff are also fantastic- friendly and yet as professional as any top notch hotel.

However, after the initial honeymoon period of seeing it all through rose coloured glasses, the realities of the various flaws became hard to ignore: the dysfunctional internet, the meager breakfast (orange juice or fruit- but both are not allowed?!); the poor sound insolation (we were in room in A, right by the street and air conditioning and pool… a bit unlucky, perhaps); the light that is impossible to block out in the morning- definitely not a place for light sleepers or anyone caring to sleep in!

Even the little details that are easily fixed were a bit of a nuisance and unfortunate oversights by the management: noisy, tricky doors to open, no safe in the rooms, no washcloths, no cup to keep your toothbrush (petty, I know, but it’s the little things that count!) It’s just enough to leave you slightly wanting…

It was also a shame that the kitchen cannot serve a light snack to those choosing to spend the afternoon by the pool. Even just a plate of fruit or cheese & crackers would have been a lovely option, given that the selection of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity is so terribly lacking.

In regards to the latter issue, for anything remotely pleasant, you have to either venture into the giant 1st Avenue Shopping Center or walk a good 15minutes into the heritage center. And as many of you might know, or will soon discover, the streets of Georgetown are not conducive to easy strolling- especially not at night!

As much as we love the design and look of Noordin Mews, and also appreciated the service and the refreshing pool, it just wasn’t enough to compensate its shortcomings… and should we return to Penang, we will probably select accommodations elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor, towards to back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Noordin Mews, mainly due to the young and friendly staff, who were all very helpful. The room was very unusual, but clean and amazingly quiet considering the layout of the property. Breakfast was a bit basic, but sufficient. Would stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Upon arrival, I have been welcomed in my room by the very kind staff. They offered me a welcome drink in a nice bottle. Everytime I was coming back or in the pool I was offered some fresh water, I loved that attention. The rooms were big and full of chinese retro items, its lovely. It still smelt like the wall painting was done not long ago, which I did not mind. The TV is however not in front of TV but there s a long couch to lay down on in case you feel like staying home for a night. The breakfast was yummy, served from 8.30 onwards. the pool is refreshing after a day of sightseeing. Location is near a shopping mall (3 min away) and walking distance to main touristy spots (20 min)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is fantastic with nice rooms, a good pool, extremely friendly and helpful staff and a good location. The breakfast is great with a choice of eggs, muesli or varied asian dishes as well as juices, fresh fruit, tea or coffee. The staff are all very welcoming and every time we arrived back in the hotel after a hot excursion we were treated to a glass of iced water and a smile . The hotel is located in a commercial street, 1 street south of Komtar. The location is great for buses, including the free CAT service, as it is very close to the Komtar bus station. It is about a 1 Km walk to the historic part of Georgetown but there is plenty to see on the way. Try the hawker stalls for an evening meal,1 block south (away from Komtar) or go about 4 blocks further to the large interesting markets and hawker stalls (for lunch) - corner McNair and Herriot streets - fantastic food.

Room Tip: We had room M which is upstares at the rear and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Noordin Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordin Mews

Address: 53 Lebuh Noordin, Georgetown, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noordin Mews 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noordin Mews is a private boutique hotel in the historical Georgetown Penang with the added advantage of a lovely swimming pool. The hotel located just one street away from good shopping (Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue) and Penang Bus Terminal (Komtar). We are just minutes walk away to all the heritage attractions of historical Georgetown and the various eclectic dining options that Penang is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Noordin Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordin Mews Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noordin Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.