We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malabar Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malabar Inn to your Saves list
Malabar Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   26 & 28, Jalan Cintra, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 106 George Town B&B and Inns
Derby
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for just two nights in November but was pleasantly surprised. Mr Yeoh waited for us to check in late and made sure we were provided with relevant information to make the best of our short time in GT, from transport to local food. The hotel is well located as GT can be walked around easily and the bus station is a mere ten minute stroll away. Although the room was small, we merely used it as a base from which to explore the quirky city, having a great time in the process so no real problem in that regard. Mr Yeoh also helped us book our onward journey to KL.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
38
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in a small, twin room.

Bathroom facilities are communal and basic, but absolutely fine for no-frills wt travellers.

Rooms are basic too, but do have clean sheets and working A\C which so all you really need here. Our room was overlooking the street though, which was really noisy early morning - if you want a lye in, try for a room set a little further back.

Owner was exceptionally friendly, gave us a small discount without us even requesting. He also held our bags all day, until we took our evening bus route.

Communal area is small, but has snacks and drinks available with honesty box.

Overall, small and basic accommodation - but did the job just fine. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

As a solo traveller who stayed for the first time in George Town I got a lot of help and advice from Malabar Inn's owner Mr. Yeoh. Tony Yeoh was very kind and helpful during my entire stay. The room I had, although a bit small was very comfortable. The location is strategic as it only takes 10 minutes to get to the Heritage town. So, if you are looking for a budget accomodation I certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor once they are ready for use are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Malabar in June, Yeoh and his wife are the friendliest most wonderful hosts you could ask for.
The day we arrived from the perhentians on the night bus, we arrived at 5 in the morning and where pretty dishevelled and sleep deprived called Yeoh around 5:30 and he came straight to the guesthouse and let us in. Yeoh let us check in early and let us use all the facilities even though we were not supposed to check in till 12. We were so grateful as we felt like we were about to die from lack of sleep.

He later took us out and showed us different restaurants we would have never of found on our own. (As we had been to Penang before and had not really enjoyed our stay) but yeoh showed us a whole different side to Penang now we cant wait to go back and eat all the yummy food all over again.

The guest house is very clean and well looked after.
Aircon is amazing.
service is great.
wonderful location.

We also stayed 8days longer as we enjoyed it so much.
can not express enough how much we loved our stay.

Thank you Mr Yeoh and pavinder.

All the luck in the future.

Tash and ed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The owner is a really nice friendly guy... when he's there. There's only one guy running the whole place, when we turned up at 7:30pm he wasn't there, he was off having his dinner, you need to know when you'll be arriving which can be difficult. The shop owner across the road saw us and called him for us when we were outside, confused. The smoke alarm went off at 2 in the morning and no one was there to solve it because he doesn't stay at the hostel. Other guests went downstairs and I assume called him so he could come and turn it off. He was apologetic about it the next morning though.

Rooms are small and basic but you get what you pay for. Really well located, near Chinatown and little India, beside the bus stop which can take you to the airport/jetty/around Penang but also the free shuttle bus which goes into the old town.

Hw showed us what we should do in the time that we had, where to go and how to get there cheaply. Honestly the best hostel owner we've met, he's really helpful, he just seems to appear and disappear without a trace though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The place caters mainly to younger backpackers, I had a very clean room with attached bathroom. There was just a mattress in the room, but it was o.k., it was comfortable and I had a very good sleep there. The room had no window. Rooms are separated by very this walls, so there may be some risk if somebody in the attached room is noisy.
Reception closes at evening, but this easy no problem, the owner called me before, to check at what time I arrive and waited for me. The very friendly owner gave me a tip for a popular breakfast stall, this was really worth to try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Malabar Inn was perfect for our stay Georgetown, it's in a great location and decently priced for this area which seems to be really expensive. The owner is fantastic - such a helpful guy, very friendly and welcoming and nothing we needed was a problem for him. As some other reviews have mentioned, the reception isn't open all the time but this wasn't an issue for us, the owner left his number and he can come back whenever you call him.
Our room was small without a window but really clean, good air con, comfortable bed and private bathroom (Room no.9) !
There' a small garden area for smoking / socializing although we never bumped into anyone there... Malabar Inn seems to be more of a place to relax and do your own thing than socialize with other travellers.
The cafe was being refurbed when we stayed so can't comment on that.
We borrowed towels for 3 ringets which was very handy!
All in all, well worth the money to stay here and definately recommended if you're wanting to stay somewhere fairly chilled.
Btw, alcohol is really expensive in Penang, cheapest we found locally was the Mona Liza bar round the corner from Malabar - 75 ringets for a small beer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malabar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Inn

Address: 26 & 28, Jalan Cintra, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Malabar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family room with Bathroom. ( One Queen size bed and One Single bed. 3 Adults and one child no charge ) at myr135.00 Room allocation ONE Double room with Bathroom. ( One Queen bed for two adults) at myr90.00 Room per day TWO Twin-bed room with Bathroom. ( Two Single bed for two adults ) at myr90.00 Room per day ONE Single room with bathroom. ( One Single bed for one adult ) at myr70.00 Room per day TWO Double room with SHARED Bathroom. ( One Double bed for two adults ) at myr70.00 Room per day ONE Twin-bed room with SHARED Bathroom. ( Two Single bed for two adults ) at myr70.00 Room per day ONE Single room with SHARED Bathroom. ( One Single bed for one adult ) at myr58.00 Room per day ONE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Malabar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar Inn Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malabar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.