We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sentral Georgetown to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 12, Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The room is clean & the service is good but what annoys me is the view. It faces directly to another wall. Made me feel a little claustrophobic but closing the curtain fixed it. It is strategic located to some of the attractions & there's many good food around within walking distance. The breakfast buffet is so-so. Not many parking bays in front of the hotel but they have an empty land opposite for you to park. It is dark but they have 24 hours security guard looking over the place. My hubby doesn't want to park at the empty land opposite & the guard was kind enough to 'book' the parking bay in front of the hotel when one of the car left & quickly asked my hubby to park there. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is glad to know that you are satisfied with clean, comfortable room and satisfied with the hotel location. Hotel Sentral is conveniently located next to Jalan Macalister, where you can easily access to all the famous local foods and the major shopping malls.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    108
    92
    14
    11
See reviews for
66
65
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

It's supposedly "new" but it's really more like a renovated place in an old building. We stayed on the fifth floor in the room closest to the elevator and the road outside. This made it difficult to sleep due to the noise of the elevator and the karaoke across the road. Thankfully they stopped singing by midnight. Make sure you get a room as far back from the road and elevator as possible.

The room itself was very small. The bathroom was especially cramped and poorly designed with the door getting in the way of the sink and toilet. Despite the odd bit of mold, it was generally quite clean. The beds were a bit hard as well. All in all though, everything worked.

Service could be better. It took almost 15 minutes just to get a taxi organised to go out. On the contrary, they allowed an extra 30 minutes to check out on request despite the place being full.

Location wise, it's not too bad with 1st Avenue mall less than 10 min walk away. Other malls such as Gurney Plaza and Queensbay Mall require a short taxi ride. The latter takes 20 minutes and costs about RM35 one way. Taxi ride from the airport costs RM45. Turn right once you exit the arrivals hall to get a prepaid taxi coupon.

It's a decent budget hotel that does the trick, albeit a little cramped and noisy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

Hotel Sentral Georgetown is located in the heart of Penang and getting around is convenient.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, it was our pleasure to be of service to you.

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and am looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a new hotel with cozy rooms in that category, close to Penang Time Square, KOMTAR and Prangin Mall. Rooms were clean, adequately spacious and well designed with modern equipment. During our reservation I have asked for 2 adjacent rooms, however that was not arranged. When I brought the matter to the attention, Reception was kind enough to arrange two rooms in the same level. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Restaurant is small however there is a hostess to manage the queue during the breakfast time. I hope management will consider expanding the area. Breakfast is OK but not many varieties. There is a night club near by that may disturb you if you are a light sleeper. Staff are attentive and friendly. Overall I am satisfied with my stay in the hotel and it deserves a appreciation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and it is glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. It is definitely a great pleasure to have the opportunity to be of service to you and your family.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and best regards
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Room size was good. Cleanliness is fine. Good service. Vegetarian options are lacking in breakfast. Good for quick stay. All basic things of a hotel in a good shape. However, Penang city it self is a different experience. U can visualize two types of life. Enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. It is definitely a great pleasure to have the opportunity to be of service to you.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is smacked in front of the famous Mcallister road with lots of good and famous food. Just a minute walk down. I book a double bed room and a queen size bed room for my parents. The single room is much smaller than the queen size bedroom. If you don't mind sharing with your friend, choose the queen size room.

The single room have a dressing table with good lightning and a nice and comfort chair. Room is generally clean with 1 or 2 minor crack. The air con is fine. The toilet is fine except that the shower area does not have a holder to hold toiletries and it is troublesome to get toiletries from the sink area. However, the other plus point is there is free wifi that you can use in the room

I was suppose to be in the non-smoking level but my room smell of smoke at a certain time, at night and early morning. As I am sensitive to smoke, this was a pretty unpleasant experience.

The last thing I wanted to mention is that to remember to keep the latch lock in place as by mistake, I put on the "make up room" sign instead of the "do not disturb" sign. The house keeper saw the sign and knock the door once and immediately tab to enter the door. I was shock but the latch was on so he could not come in. It wasn't he fault but I thought that he should wait alittle longer or knock at least 3 times. So, just latch your room at all times :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is glad to know that you are satisfied with clean, comfortable room and satisfied with the hotel location. Hotel Sentral is conveniently located next to Jalan Macalister, where you can easily access to all the famous local foods and the major shopping malls.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Rooms are clean and big ....free wifi in the room ...there's a convinience store at the lobby ....in the night there's a hawker stall just across the street(less than 1 min walking distnce) .... parking bay very limited...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is glad to know that you are satisfied with clean, comfortable room and satisfied with the hotel location. Hotel Sentral is conveniently located next to Jalan Macalister, where you can easily access to all the famous local foods and the major shopping malls.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I got a very clean & comfortable room although room didn't hv a good view. Gonna stay there again.Near to town bus station,New Lane & Lorong Selamat .Going to Kimberley Street is not difficult either.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and it is glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. It is definitely a great pleasure to have the opportunity to be of service to you.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sentral Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Address: No 12, Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sentral Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.