We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, comfortable, convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sentral Georgetown to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 12, Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great stay, comfortable, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stay is great at this hotel, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was great too, but being in Penang make sure u take another local breakfast because that's what Penang is known for.

I personally like to walk to One Corner Cafe located at Jalan Bawasah, about a 10-15min stroll from the hotel. Try the famous Super hokkien mee (my favvvvvv), char kway teow and lor mee. For dinner if u turn left after u exit the hotel, walk towards Jalan Mcallister and u will reach a great hawker area too. Pretty much right outside the hotel.

Hotel is not too far from First Avenue Mall as well, 15min stroll.

Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and it is glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. It is definitely a great pleasure to have the opportunity to be of service to you.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and best regards,
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    123
    107
    16
    13
See reviews for
84
69
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were there on Oct 6 - service was a bit cold but no major complaints. The location is great - just a couple minutes from KOMTAR and chulia street. It's a bit of a hike to Little India but for that I'd say RENT A SCOOTER* and have a ball!

*if you haven't ridden motorcycles or scooters in large, busy cities before then do NOT take that advice and stick to taxis/buses/rental cars!

The included breakfast is serviceable, no major complaints with that. The room was comfortable, relatively clean, and decent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is glad to know that you are satisfied with clean, comfortable room and satisfied with the hotel location. Hotel Sentral is conveniently located next to Jalan Macalister, where you can easily access to all the famous local foods and the major shopping malls.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night with the family. Room was clean. Beds were comfy, but wear & tear setting in. Broken shower head holder not repaired.

Parking bays for cars very limited. Breakfast although included was bad. Omelet smelled 'funny', cornflakes were soft, sausages were like plastics. Thank goodness for the hawker stalls nearby.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We sincerely apologized for the broken shower head holder in your room. We had informed our housekeeping Supervisor to be more detail when checking the room before the next guest were to occupied.

As for the breakfast served at the coffee house, we had highlighted this issue to the Food and Beverage Manager.

Once again, we apologized on the short falls and hope that this will not mar your future stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back on the next trip to Penang.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had really bad experience with them, we are a group and one of the room has a broken lock and also there is several blood stink on the bed cover, it's really disgusting. I went to complain and they only offer to change a room other than any other kind of compensation, it's really not considerate service and we are really shocked about the blood stink. Really recommend not to stay here.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It was very disturbing to learn that your stay was unpleasant and would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience that you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.

Please rest assured that your feedback is taken seriously and steps to address the issue has been discussed at length with the team.

We hope this have not marred your future stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Check in on first week October 2013, handled by a nice 20plus specky fair chubby Eurasian Penang boy ( unfortunately forgotten his name). Went there around 11am even though knowing from website ( Expedia.com) that official check in time was 2pm; was politely told the room was not ready. Instead of waiting, placed my luggage with the hotel which was cheerfully handled by the bell boy, Mr Rizal. When I was asking for a plastic bag to hold my iPad from Rizal, another staff came from behind to quickly assist in getting a bag for me. ( did not get his name but he is a bit matured a bit bald carrying a walking talkie - could be the security mgr).

Bedroom Room was clean, shower room was clean, bed linens were clean too. WIFI was free and room came with two bottles of complimentary mineral water. Met a few housekeeping staff on the way in/out they were all very courteous greeting you a lot - thus left some tips on top of the pillows for them upon check-out.

The Room was a bit warm, but we found the culprit ! You need to switch off the bath room light as it is connected to the exhaust fan. With the exhaust fan on - it suck out the cold air. With that off - the room gets colder/ comfortable. Maybe their engineer should check the air-con - room was either 703 or 704 - forgotten again, hai !

One evening, out side the lobby area, met two staff there, they greeted you warmly introducing their mouth watery locally fried char kueh teow. Had a plate of char kueh teow plus teh Tarik. The teh Tarik was very nice, and I ordered for a 2nd round. After a while, I saw the matured bald guy superbly frying noodles for other guests, that's make me wonder he is the security mgr or is he a chef too. Well, Credit to the hotel for employing multipurpose staff .

SAD feeling... when I wanted to extend two more days, there is no more rooms available as this hotel was always full as was told by the taxi people.

The hotel is centrally located... 2 minutes walk from the hotel, there is a bah kut teh shop. Opposite the road, there is a cornered coffee shop selling delicious hawker food...all very yummy ,

Lobby toilet room, would appreciate if hotel could fix a few hooks there. There is no hook for you to hold your handbags, trousers, etc .

Finally, the hotel is well kept , all staff are friendly , will recommend people to try this hotel .
Was told by front office that the hotel had undergone a total refurbishment one year ago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have been overall impressed with the service quality and also the cleanliness of our hotel. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us and your positive comments will certainly be shared among the team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Sentral Georgetown in the very near future.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

All went well for our stay here from Sunday (6/10)-- 9/10. A Good check in , good concierge and good location but the poor service staff ( Irene)at check out was bad . Suggest the company train her on good customer service skills or if she is having a bad hair day, she should have stayed at home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral Georgetown. As for the staff concern, we will definitely will look into the area for us to improve on her customer service skills. We sincerely apologized for the incident upon check out.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Our room was ok but just average. The bathroom is ridiculously small and our air con was loud. The room has little in terms of design or warmth. The breakfast was poor and too busy, not well managed. The trip agent in reception was really handy and she was friendly, the trip we went on was quite good. It's in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral Georgetown!

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know that our rooms are clean and comfortable throughout your stay with us. As for the breakfast at coffee house, we are mostly very busy in the morning and we tried very hard to accommodate all guests that is in the rush for the morning. We are also pleased to hear that one of our receptionist that assist you in your trip booking.

We look forward in welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#23 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#29 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#19 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Munlustay 88 Hotel
Munlustay 88 Hotel
#38 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Address: No 12, Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Sentral Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.