We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel..good service and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sentral Georgetown to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 12, Lorong Kinta, Georgetown, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
KL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good hotel..good service and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i decide to choose this hotel for our dunno how many time visit to penang. This hotel make me surprise on their interior design for their room even their external not looking that good. Modern and stylist. Clean and tidy, location is very convenience to tourist. Recommended for next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral Georgetown.

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

Firstly, we would like to say THANK YOU for you continuous support and and we are also glad to know that we had made your stay a pleasant one.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Penang.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    102
    85
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
59
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Paid for two deluxe rooms. One was spacious, the other tiny. Beds were fine and ok for comfort. There was a shower area instead of a bathtub. Lots of power sockets if you have plenty of electronic equipment.

Breakfast was fine with a limited but chaning choice of noodles, rice, eggs and bacon or ham made from processed chicken. Be careful with the toaster as it is very powerful and lots of people burned their toast. The Malay cakes were very good.

The sound proofing is a major issue. On one end of the hotel, you can hear terrible off-key karaoke singing through the night. If your room is on the other side then you will hear the early morning call to prayer.

Many of the room doors are slightly out of shape and a lot of force is needed to open and shut them, resulting in a lot of loud banging noises throughout the morning and evening as people move about.

The reception and other staff were polite but they did not respond to my request to sort out the drained battery in the mini safe. After over 1.5 hours of waiting, it took a trip downstairs to reception to ask for assistance before anything was done.

The biggest issue for us was the lack of Internet connectivity during the entire stay. Apparently there was some sort of issue with the cabling from the street which affected the guests' internet connection but obviously not the hotel's own Internet connection. The lack of internet basically made our holiday a lot more difficult as we always rely on a web connection to find our way around and to find out about places to go and places to eat.

Would I stay again? Yes if the Internet issue is sorted out and earplugs were provided.






  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We had taken note on your remarks with regards to the room doors and internet connection. We are glad to inform you that we had taken necessary steps to prevent this from happening again.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Penang.

Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarvar, Hungary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very good location ,walking distance of sightseeing places. It is also near eating places. Komtar bus terminal in 10 minutes walk. Fast check in/out and friendly staff .Clean room, breakfast is good . If you arrive by bus from Kuala Lumpur :Taxi fare is 25 RM from Busterminal to hotel ( fix price ) Value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
13 September 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

Hotel Sentral Georgetown is located in the heart of Penang and getting around is convenient. It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. It is definitely a great pleasure to have the opportunity to be of service to you and your friends.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and best regards,
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochiminh City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The room is clean, modern, fully -equipped and worth the money. Breakfast is ok.

The hotel is located right outside the heritage area. I don't say it is far, but you need to walk about 10-15 mins to go to the central area to visit some attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

Hotel Sentral Georgetown is located in the heart of Penang and getting around is convenient.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, it was our pleasure to be of service to you.

Thank you and best regards,
Operation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mataram
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Located on the Georgetown, this hotel is accessible. Walk a bit from the hotel and we could reach the station for rapid bus. Hotel itself is clean, I thought that they will not provide hairdryer but they have! That's good. I was there for 2 nights and it is worth for the money. Hotel staff also friendly, breakfast is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. It is definitely a great pleasure to have the opportunity to be of service to you and your family.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and best regards,
Operation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and had a pleasant stay. It was at a good location as it is walking distance to the shopping center and it is possible to walk to the old part of the city. The rooms were modern and clean. This is a good value for price hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was not good but there are plenty of restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and best regards,
Operation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was there for one night. Why I choose there it was the hotel is close to the airport comparison wise.
Before I book this hotel, I have checked the reviews from trip advisor. The reviews were positive, so I booked it.
The staffs were really nice. The location it was ok accept located in an alley, which it made not that comfortable. The room, from the review was spacious, honestly, my twin bed room wasn't, we were just fitted it. The bath room was really basic, not inviting at all.
All in all, the value for my room, no complain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to know that our service was up to your expectation and glad to know that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable room.

We certainly look forward to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you and best regards,
Operation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sentral Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Address: No 12, Lorong Kinta, Georgetown, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sentral Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.