We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sentral by name and Central by location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sentral Georgetown to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 12, Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in George Town
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sentral by name and Central by location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A modern, clean, and functional hotel to a high standard without pretence and a good base for exploring the Island and centre of Penang.
Centrally located near to the Penang State Museum, this hotel is very clean and modern. We had a central facing room on the 4th floor, which was ok being quiet, but unfortunately devoid of view with all frosted glass. Opening the window revealed a 4 meter square shaft to provide natural light for the inside rooms and the reason for the frosted glass.
Modern furniture, Kettle, Tea and Coffee and soaps, air con and TV made the room comfortable and Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice in a small cafe area at the front of the Hotel.
There is parking under cover at the side of the hotel or in an off road FOC for Hotel members parking area across the road.
It was good to be able to walk out of the hotel on the edge of the World Heritage area and the modern area of Georgetown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Sentral Georgetown is strategically located in the town of the bustling historical city of Pearl of the Orient.
Once again thank you for kind review which is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    113
    101
    15
    11
See reviews for
73
68
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Hotel Room was really good . Bit Small to occupy a Double Bed But was Clean.

We wanted a Window Room to view the Penang City .Yes We were given Second Floor . and when We opened the Window - We found a Wall just 2 meters Away.

Very Centrally located near KOMTAR. A Tourist can easily travel around the Georgetown area and can also travel to other places by taking the "RapidKL Bus" from KOMTAR.

Just oppostite to Lorong Kinta - Chinese Food is available from evening 6pm and Never Miss to try the Peking Duck Roasted and Oyster Fry.

One can have a evening walk in the Jalan Maclister to spend time.

Few Hindu Temples are near by to this area. ( Nagarathar Sivan Temple and An Amman Temple ). While walking to the Square Times Building can see the Temples.

WIFI is Good.

Room Service was really GOOD. We asked for an Iron Box and Power Plug Charger- they were sent immediately to us.

Hotel asks for RM100 as a Deposit which they remind to collect when we check-out.

Really a wonderful Service .

The Buffet Breakfast was really GOOD.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th or 6th Floor to see Penang in the Evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

Hotel Sentral is located in the heart of Penang and getting around is convenient. It is a pleasure to know that our service was up to your expectation and glad to know that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable room. We are glad to receive your positive feedback on our service and this will definitely be shared with our team for us to further strive to better ourselves.

We certainly look forward to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Noisy due to construction next building. Photos shown on website looks alot larger. I booked a deluxe room but the room given looks more of superior room. Basically, there's no clear definition of the room types. Otherwise, the room is clean.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to hear about the sound disruption from the neighboring building. Please be informed that their renovation work will be completed soon.

Notwithstanding, the above we certainly look forward in welcoming you back again.

Thank you and Best Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stay 3 nights early April, booked via booking.com. Requested for non-smoking room on higher floor with double bed.

Friendly staff , was given smoking floor on 4th with twin bedded, returned back to front counter for a change, staff changed to a non-smoking room for me on 6th floor but there wasn't any king size bed left, so he got housekeeping to join the twin bed together so it as good as double bedded.

Room wasn't big, but was clean. I think the different between the standard and deluxe is only the window. Bed sheet and one one of the pillow case there were stains on it. Towel was clean. Big flat TV. Breakfast enough of choices of dishes. Good Wifi. loud music noise every night until about 1 am.

Location wise it's about 10 mins walk from Komtar Bus Station, nearest Free CAT bus is at Komtar. Many eateries around the hotels so you won't get hungry at all anytime of the day.

Overall satisfied, will i return back to this hotel, only if the price is right and my 1st choice of hotel along Penang Road cannot offer the price i wish to pay,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We have taken note of your comments on the bedsheet and pillow case, please rest assured that steps to address the issue have been discussed at length with my team to prevent reoccurrence.

Nevertheless, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel location and your stay with us. Indeed, it was our pleasure to be of service to you.

We hope you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

i booked a room on 6th march 2013 for the dates 7-8-9 april 2013. The hotel immediately verified my debit card with 100rm on 6th march upon bookung even when it was booked under free cancellation terms.
Upon asking the hotel, they replied that this amount will be unblocked within a week. After several emails, i reached the hotel on 7th april. Talked to two different receptionists and finally Mr Hong (operations executive) faced me and gave me another 1-2 weeks time. He was cooperative so I trusted him.
Today is 19th april, i am back in my home country and Mr Hong is not replying. So the issue is still there after 45days of amount blocked.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We are perturbed in receiving your feedback and would like to express our profound apologies for the inconvenience you had been through.

In regards to the credit card verification as stated in Booking.com policies, Hotel may pre-authorise guest credit card prior to arrival. The blocked amount will be automatically released by the issuance bank in due course after your departure.

Please rest assured that the situation you experienced is definitely not our standards that we would like to protrude. In the interim, should you be visiting Penang again, please do not hesitate to contact me personally to make it up to you.

Thank you and besr regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Location is good and just a walking distance to the Penang street.
The service and breakfast was just an average.

As per my request, I was given a double room of the window side.
But, it was located just next to the elevator and therefore so noisy even in the mid night, which was really annoying me during my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you found the hotel location is convenient. However, we are perturbed in receiving your comments pertaining to the unpleasant disturbance that you encountered during your stay with us and we would like to offer our profound apology.

Notwithstanding the above, I sincerely hope that this has not marred your future stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Sentral Georgetown in the not too distant future.

Thank you and best regards,
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Sentral shares a wall with a building under construction, so go elsewhere unless you like being shakened and deafened by random reverberations. For me, it sounds like furniture being dragged across the wooden floor in the room above.

The front desk folks are very pleasant, and have offered me a new room though that one is too close to the elevator. We'll see what tomorrow holds.

Elsewhere, breakfast was better than expected - though my expectations have been stripped bare on my Asian trip. Decent location, walkable to/from the landmark Komtar, the tallest building on the island.

My room is OK, but the hotel will need a good makeover in the next few years. My bathroom needs a good cleaning, and hot water in the shower would be nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We are glad to receive your positive feedback on our service and this will definitely be shared with our team for us to further strive to better ourselves.

On the construction work carried out by our neighbouring development, the work will be completed very soon as not to cause any disturbances to our guests.

Notwithstanding the above, we hope that you otherwise had a memorable stay with us.
In the interim, should you be visiting Penang again, we look forward to be of service to you.

Thank you and best regards,
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sentral Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Address: No 12, Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sentral Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.