We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, family room is spacious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sentral Georgetown to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 12, Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Petaling Jaya
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location, family room is spacious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Smack in the middle if town, a stone's throw from New Lane, famous for its hawker fare. walking distance to other eateries around Georgetown; very convenient! We booked the family room for 2 adults and a 12-year old tween. The room had 1 king bed AND a single n room size was decent. Bathroom was small, though. Room had mini fridge, kettle and safe. Hotel is new and everything was clean and nice. Paid RM230++ per night with breakfast during peak period smack in the middle of Chinese New Year. Parking is limited, though. Free wi-fi. Overall, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    108
    92
    14
    11
See reviews for
66
65
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location is good BUT we were given a VERY small room with two twins, not at all what we expected. No space to open two suitcases We did see larger rooms so be sure to request the larger room. It is 3:00pm and there is a banging that does not stop so a relaxing moment in the room is not possible. Breakfast was wonderful-restaurant staff very pleasant-hotel staff ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and we are also deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant.

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will be resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is strategically located near the center of Georgetown, where most of the tourist attractions nearby is within walking distance.

During day time, you can walk to places like Komtar or Chowrasta market to get some local products. At night, you can dine at one of the famous hawker stalls in Penang, located just at the junction of the hotel. All sorts of choices from the famous Penang Char Kway Teow, Assam Laksa, Satay, or even Wan Tan Mee.

Room is clean but the toilet is a little bit cramped, perhaps due to the structure of the toilet itself.

The room rate is inclusive of breakfast, with limited choices for e.g. Fried Kway Teow, bread, bake beans, chicken sausage, and porridge. The thing is food are not covered properly, and there are flies around the dishes.

Thought of trying of on the local dessert which is wrapped in a banana leaf, but the first thing I see is a dead mosquito, stucked on the surface of the piece. Perhaps I should inform the management, but I'm not sure what can they do about it other than saying sorry. Hopefully they will get to see this and do something about it.

Will still recommend to stay here, but perhaps skip the breakfast if you have the choice :)

Room Tip: Choose non-smoking level, I'm not sure what floor am I in, but can smell the smoke everytime I e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

We are also deeply regretted to know you had experienced our poor serving breakfast during your stay with us. I have taken note of your comments and our team have been briefed accordingly to improve the quality of the breakfast/

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will be resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We sincerely request you to return as our esteemed guest on your next trip so as to evaluate us once more.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable, and the location of the hotel was really nice. The staff was friendly, though there were quite a few miscommunications with housekeeping due to language barriers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is clean and neat. The staffs are generally friendly. The hotel is within walking distance to the Komtar interchange, some night street food stalls, and the famous Ghee Hiang shop. Had a pleasant stay and would recommend anyone traveling on a budget. Some minor points to note: noticed a strand of hair on the hair dryer (the very first time I entered the toilet) and some brown stains on the bedsheets. Would recommend the hotel to check and action on these minor details to further improve the quality of service of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice and new hotel. The rooms were modern and clean, but a bit small. The staff were friendly, but they were bad at recomandations and info about restaurants etc. It was also something wrong with our shower head, that they "fixed", but it got broken two seconds after they had fixed it. My friend also got some dirty towels. The breakfast was okey, be early if you want a good selection. And the juices were terrible, and the water seemed like spring water,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

However I would like to extend to you my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.

I have taken note of your comments and please be assured that your feedback is taken seriously and steps to address our shortcomings have been discussed at length with the team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A bit at the outskirts of centre, but if you like walking easy to go to e.g. Little India. Rooms are rather small, but relatively new. Good airco. Building activities adjacent to the hotel; some disturbance in the morning.
The only downside is breakfast; try to avoid this canteen-like activity as much as possible. Being setup for the Asians, but not for Western travellers.

Room Tip: As far away as possible from the building activties
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It’s glad to know that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable room at Hotel Sentral. Most importantly you did enjoy the location though the location is much debated.

Besides, thank you for pointing to us the issue in regards of the breakfast foods. We had addressed the issue and hopefully on your next visit, you’ll be able to notice the positive improvements.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sentral Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Address: No 12, Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sentral Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.