We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good backpacker place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Inn Muntri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Guest Inn Muntri to your Saves list
Guest Inn Muntri
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   17 Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 150 George Town B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good backpacker place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and were plesantly surprised. Our double room was basic and a bit small, with just a bed and desk, but the nice comunal area and clean shared bathrooms more then made up for it.The staff were very knowlegable and gave us pleanty of advice on where to visit and the best places to eat. The location was also good, close enough to reach most places easily, but on a nice quiet side street. Overall very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
6
54
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff very helpful and friendly. Free tea and coffee all day and great location. Breakfast starts at 8 but when i said i had to leave at 730 they said they would put it out at 7 for me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent three nights here as we explored Penang. The owner was very helpful in helping us navigate the island, showing us bus routes and different areas to explore. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The downstairs has a nice lounge area with free coffee and tea. The location is very good, steps away from bus routes and within walking distance of major areas in Georgetown. The hotel itself is quiet, located on a side street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My sister and I traveled to cities in Malaysia and we stayed at five different hostels in total. Guest Inn Muntri is absolutely my favourite. When I walked to the place at the first time I thought it's quite far but just spent couple hours in the city , I found out that the location is very good. There are many buses to get to the hostel as well as buses to other tourist attractions. The room that I stayed has no window but clean. The staff are awesome. They are very friendly and helpful Especially Mr. Ooi :) He always approaches to guests to offer helps and information. Breakfast is nice. Common area is great because it has a very high ceiling and a pond. Totally love it !!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Me and my partner stated here over Christmas and loved it. When you arrive the owner shows you to your room and then sits you down with a coffee and a map and shows you the points of interest and how to get around on the island. We had a shared bathroom room but the bathrooms were spotless every day and new and the rooms were also really clean and comfortable. The air con was great and the wifi was good. You get free wifi, tea and coffee and breakfast. Breakfast was bread and jam and butter or porridge. The location is really good.... There is nothing negative to say about this guest house. It is relaxing, clean, comfortable and really friendly one of the best we have stayed in. Anything the owner can help you with he will. He will arrange taxis, lend you an umbrella, give bus routes and directions and if you ask a question he doesn't know he will find out for you. The laundry service is fast and really good. a lovely little place with a great atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked a stay at this hotel through Agoda and it was alright, just alright. The only good things are the unlimited tea and the reception staff - they were very kind and helpful with the Penang map and bus transit.

Otherwise, everything else was terrible. The room (on the bottom floor) had a musty smell and basement-like dampness and the hotel was infested with mosquitoes because the bathrooms were a breeding ground. On our last night, we had to move to a dormitory, we didn't book the double room (our fault). There were cocoons of house moths all around the beds - especially on the wall the bed was against and hanging down from the upper bunk over the bottom bunk.

Still this was one of the better hotels in the area for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor as it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
561 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed in the four bed dorm and although it was spotlessly clean and had air conditioning it was still a little bit too cramped for my liking. The whole place is really clean and the breakfast good. The staff were really friendly and helpful. A nice place in a good location in a quiet side street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Inn Heritage
Red Inn Heritage
#79 of 150 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#57 of 150 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#49 of 150 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malabar Inn
Malabar Inn
#28 of 150 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#17 of 150 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocoa Mews
Cocoa Mews
#53 of 150 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn Muntri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Muntri

Address: 17 Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest Inn Muntri 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Georgetown, Guest Inn Muntri provides both dormitory and private air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. It . Free parking and a 24-hour front desk are available. In the common area, guests can play billiards, watch TV and get drinking water from the water dispenser.Simply furnished, all rooms come with a desk. Bathroom facilities are shared, and are equipped with cold and hot-water showers. There is a shared computer in the common area which guests can use.Guest Inn Muntri is a 10-minute walk from KOMTAR, 1st Avenue and Prangin Mall. It is a 15-minute walk from Penang Jetty and a 30-minute walk from Gurney Drive. Penang International Airport is a 30-minute drive away.Bicycle rentals and day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides luggage storage and laundry services.Guest Inn Cafe serves Western dishes, snacks and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guest Inn Muntri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Inn Muntri Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest Inn Muntri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.