We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My lovliest stay in Malaysia !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Inn Muntri

Save Saved
You added Guest Inn Muntri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guest Inn Muntri
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   17 Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 102 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My lovliest stay in Malaysia !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I traveled to cities in Malaysia and we stayed at five different hostels in total. Guest Inn Muntri is absolutely my favourite. When I walked to the place at the first time I thought it's quite far but just spent couple hours in the city , I found out that the location is very good. There are many buses to get to the hostel as well as buses to other tourist attractions. The room that I stayed has no window but clean. The staff are awesome. They are very friendly and helpful Especially Mr. Ooi :) He always approaches to guests to offer helps and information. Breakfast is nice. Common area is great because it has a very high ceiling and a pond. Totally love it !!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
1
42
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Me and my partner stated here over Christmas and loved it. When you arrive the owner shows you to your room and then sits you down with a coffee and a map and shows you the points of interest and how to get around on the island. We had a shared bathroom room but the bathrooms were spotless every day and new and the rooms were also really clean and comfortable. The air con was great and the wifi was good. You get free wifi, tea and coffee and breakfast. Breakfast was bread and jam and butter or porridge. The location is really good.... There is nothing negative to say about this guest house. It is relaxing, clean, comfortable and really friendly one of the best we have stayed in. Anything the owner can help you with he will. He will arrange taxis, lend you an umbrella, give bus routes and directions and if you ask a question he doesn't know he will find out for you. The laundry service is fast and really good. a lovely little place with a great atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked a stay at this hotel through Agoda and it was alright, just alright. The only good things are the unlimited tea and the reception staff - they were very kind and helpful with the Penang map and bus transit.

Otherwise, everything else was terrible. The room (on the bottom floor) had a musty smell and basement-like dampness and the hotel was infested with mosquitoes because the bathrooms were a breeding ground. On our last night, we had to move to a dormitory, we didn't book the double room (our fault). There were cocoons of house moths all around the beds - especially on the wall the bed was against and hanging down from the upper bunk over the bottom bunk.

Still this was one of the better hotels in the area for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor as it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed in the four bed dorm and although it was spotlessly clean and had air conditioning it was still a little bit too cramped for my liking. The whole place is really clean and the breakfast good. The staff were really friendly and helpful. A nice place in a good location in a quiet side street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I spent 3 days in Georgtown and had a room at this place. The room was ok. No window. As I did a lot of outdoor activity it was ok. The bathroom could have been more clean as I found some old cigarette on the basin. Sheets and towels were clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipolog City, Dipolog, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Rooms and toilets are clean. Staff are provides excellent service and they're so friendly. I had a very nice stay, i was in a dormitory room unfortunately i dont have any room mates but thats just another silly idea. hahaha

www.wanderfulasia.blogspot.com

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in Guest Inn Muntri on 10 Nov 2013, for a day trip and 1-night stay in Georgetown. We booked the whole room of the Dorm bed room and also a Standard double room.
The Dorm room have 2 double deckers bed inside. My four male friends all stay in this dorm room, and they find the dorm room's condition is good, but just the space is small ( and imagine if you're shared this dorm room with other Strangers, how hard it could be...?), and one of the safety deposit box inside the dorm room are no functioning ( The receptionist said no key for the safety deposit box, so we assumed the safety deposit box is for Decoration purpose only? Hmm...
My lady friend and I was staying in Standard double room, becoz I have requested for twin beds, so we got this twin bed room in upstairs. The twin room is very good, air-conditioning is very strong enough & comfortable, and the cleanliness is very good in the room.
This Guest inn does not have attached bathroom, all must use the Shared bathrooms, luckily they have around 12 bathrooms/toilets, and all of them have hot shower. All of the toilet/bathroom have maintained very clean.
One thing made me feeling surprise about this guest inn is- They paid very good attention on those small & details things, such as their decorations, the breakfast bar, and even the small stuff like the Coffee Mugs. The inn coffee mugs are all in one same categories, and all in nice colors, they make me feel they have been chosen to matched with the inn' theme decorations. ( Not that kind of plastic cups simply can buy from supermarket) I wonders the owner must be very keen & paying attention on those small details in the inn. I would said i like their coffee mugs so much ( even thinking that request one to take home ha~).
We will coming back for this inn again, for the location wise, they are near to many local famous eateries & street foods too.

Overall the guest inn is very good to stay, However there are a lots of mosquitoes around the guest inn, even inside the rooms. We have requested the mosquitoes spray with the receptionist, however the reception does not response to us on this. The bathrooms/toilets even worsen, just stay inside for 5 minutes, hands and legs already got full of mosquitoes bites. We have no choice, got to go out and buy the mosquitoes spray back to the guest inn and spray it inside the room ( Otherwise I am sure than we will not have a good night sleep in the inn.) We just curious that such a clean hotel like this, how come have so many mosquitoes?? Where have these mosquitoes come from?

Room Tip: Just remember to bring your own Mosquitoes Spray or anything that works in kill mosquitoes! So it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest Inn Muntri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Muntri

Address: 17 Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest Inn Muntri 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Georgetown, Guest Inn Muntri provides both dormitory and private air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. It . Free parking and a 24-hour front desk are available. In the common area, guests can play billiards, watch TV and get drinking water from the water dispenser.Simply furnished, all rooms come with a desk. Bathroom facilities are shared, and are equipped with cold and hot-water showers. There is a shared computer in the common area which guests can use.Guest Inn Muntri is a 10-minute walk from KOMTAR, 1st Avenue and Prangin Mall. It is a 15-minute walk from Penang Jetty and a 30-minute walk from Gurney Drive. Penang International Airport is a 30-minute drive away.Bicycle rentals and day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides luggage storage and laundry services.Guest Inn Cafe serves Western dishes, snacks and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Guest Inn Muntri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Inn Muntri Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest Inn Muntri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.