We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Save Saved
You added The Northam All Suite Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and l chose this hotel after reading all the good comments. We took the junior suite room for 2 nights.
The hotel was great in responding to my early request for Seaview room. When we arrive, check in was slow and we did not feel the warmth in welcoming us, ie. neither friendly nor unfriendly, unlike other hotels which we stayed in.
The room was big and was divided into three sections, the living area, bedroom and bathroom. We were impressed with the spaciousness of the room, but not the furniture.
The settee and the executive chair is old and moldy, so we don't feel like sitting in the living area, even to watch the tv. Tv image was blurry, so we gave up the idea of even trying to spend our time in the living. In the end, we spent most of our time in the bedroom when we want to watch the tv.
We requested for a king sized bed but found that the bed is actually combined from two single beds. It made sleeping difficult when one was sleeping at the center of the bed because of the gap.The comforter is also combined from two separate comforters, so, in the middle of the night, the comforter splits into two sections while the sleeper is only covered by the thin sheet of comforter protector, which left us freezing cold. on the second night, we turned off the aircond and switched on the fan to sleep instead.
It was also very uncomfortable to hear noises like growling sound, I presume, from the bathroom piping system. Also, the toilet flush is always filing up with water, and you will always hear the sound of water flowing into the water tank. Flushing the toilet is a problem too, because we have to hold down the lever for about 30 seconds before everything is flushed clean. We saw the toilet seats are stained and don't feel comfortable using the toilet seats.
My wife tried the mini jacuzzi in the bathroom and commented that the tub don't feel very clean, like it was not scrubbed since the last person used it.
Toiletteries provided in the bathroom were standard stuff, comprising a bath gel, shampoo, cotton bud, a comb, toothbrush and shower cap. Bedroom slippers were also provided in the cupboard in the bathroom.
Daily breakfast seems to be the same variety. The nasi lemak tastes plain and I think that should be the worst tasting coconut rice I have ever tried in a hotel.
Waiters who greeted us during breakfast was not friendly but we did not really mind. I would recommend that the waiters go around serving tea and coffee to guests during breakfast instead of standing around, chatting with each other. However, one particular waitress looked hardworking enough to bring omelettes to the guests.
We did not try the swimming pool at 9th floor.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the sea. It is very nice, expecially in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    112
    62
    21
    23
See reviews for
72
69
20
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

im here for honeymoon.choose d hotel because of the great rate before heading to ferringhi.situated at gurney. easy transportation..bus was walking distance..near malls.the staff is very friendly.i need to check in early and they really treat us good and take note on the request.by the time i came d room was ready and upgraded to deluxe with seaview.the room n bed was large and clean.the room is sound proof.we are so tired thus we have good night sleep here.the bathroom is clean and comfy with jacuzi and we request for extra toiletries and they send it to the room whn we were out.which was awesome means they take our request seriously.we went o the gym.some if the exercise equipment are not working-the bicycle but the rest is fine.the pool was very privacy and i love it..recommend this for couple as it was quiet and romantic hotel..services was awesome..always come here nd will keep on coming for sure..keep up northam.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, in a Deluxe Suite. The room was huge. A living / dining room, two toilets, jacuzzi, extra large bathroom with two basins and a super sized king bed in a separate bedroom. The bed is a little hard, but that is the way in Asia.
Hotel has a small gym, a large swimming pool and free unlimited internet. Internet speed and connectivity is quite good.
Breakfast is plentiful with a chef making omelettes each day.
The hotel is older, but there is nothing wrong with it. Of all the places we went in Penang I believe this hotel is well situated and an easy walk to the centre of Georgetown and in the other direction to two shopping centers.
The Northam beach cafe hawker food market is right across the street and is an excellent option for dinner.
The Rapid bus service is easy to use and get around. Buy a 7 day pass for 30RM for unlimited travel. We bought ours t the bus information centre at the ferry terminal, however you should be able to find a place at the KOMTAR bus terminal as well.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room and watch the freight and cruise ships come into port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Please make sure to check the room before you unpacking , Floor is cracking everywhere, The room service staff sure need a training before they start working for serving. Twice changing the room at the same day, well guess we didnt really have an option. @ Northam, u need a refurbish !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

what makes the hotel look good is their staff and service.The hotel might look abit old but the service and standard maintained well.
I think his name was Firdaus Manager on duty was superb in handling us when it was very hectic at the lobby area with a lot of people checking in on the same time,great service and also the concierge was helpful.stayed there for 4 nights and Firdaus Manager on duty was around most of the time assisting us.we would thank him and the rest of the lobby staff for their excellent service..
The hotel needs to look into this where i think for a 4 star hotel it is really impressing with the service provided.all the best to northam hotel penang

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Friendly front desk Chinese look manager (dint get his name) and cashier, Devi. Helpful bellman, fast service. The room was designed 30 years ago maybe... really need some refurbishment. there was a personal Jacuzzi in my room. Bad news, there was no any lift to car park.. I was told only office tower had the direct access lift. I suggest to hire valet and jockey, its very helpful and a good money too.

Room Tip: Get deluxe room for connecting.. Other category was built for single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Came to yur hotel on school holiday,can be say hotel minus point is the parking without elevator and room a bit old although big enough for the money paid,the service of front desk is mesmerizing,bell boys is very helpful,kind enough to give us information about penang that really matters...5 star for bell boys and front desk girls

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northam All Suite Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.